We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Truly an authentic Mexican food experience!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of LA Cocinita Mexican Restaurant

LA Cocinita Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #527 of 2,977 Restaurants in Denver
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Truly an authentic Mexican food experience!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

If you want great food at a low price and you don't care too much about atmosphere, go here! Truly an authentic Mexican food experience!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Shelbynoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    9
    0
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
58 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

I lived in Denver many years and had no idea this place even existed. A friend took me here and I'm hooked! The food is authentic and absolutely delicious, the prices are very reasonable, and the service is awesome. A must eat if your'e in NW Denver, Edgewater area.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jagsfan62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver CO USA
Level Contributor
345 reviews
253 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

Hidden on 29th Street in Sloan's Lake, this neighborhood Mexican restaurant is a gem. Family owned and run, the food is always hot and fresh, and affordable. My favorite? The chile rellenos of course, and for $5.50 you can't go wrong. I also love the tamale, chile relleno, taco platter. The food is always fresh, the coke is always bubbly, and the chips and salsa are the best I've ever had (always hot, always fresh), with great salsa. We compare all other mexican restaurants to thsi one, and this one always wins.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank JJBlondie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
215 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“Good / Inexpensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2011

Nothing fancy here, just good Mexican food at a low price. I had the combo platter (beef burrito, cheese enchilada and crispy relleno) for $6.25. First helping of chips and salsa are free. Salsa has some bite to it, but isn't overwhelming. On previous visits I've had their standard margarita - very tasty.

This place gets a lot of business - even at 1:30 on a Wednesday it was half full. Most weeknights you can find a table. Weekend nights are even busier.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LostInColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broomfield, Co
1 review
“Simply Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2008

No Frills but nice simple restaurant... Fantastic prices and GREAT food... This is truly my favorite Mexican food place.... for sure....

Helpful?
Thank Siranno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed LA Cocinita Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to LA Cocinita Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing