We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good cajun shrimp”
Review of Black-eyed Pea

Black-eyed Pea
Ranked #468 of 3,001 Restaurants in Denver
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Hartselle, Al
Level Contributor
72 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good cajun shrimp”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I had the Cajun catfish and cajun shrimp and it was pretty good. The catfish was a fillet, no bones. The shrimp came on a kabob skewer. My wife had the porkchops which were also pretty good. Always a good place to eat at least once if staying on Colorado Blvd for several days.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank HDSlowride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    30
    13
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Saint Cloud, Florida
Level Contributor
56 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent home style food”
Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Lots of choice on the menu and you are sure to find something to your taste, unless you want fine dining. This is mostly good wholesome food like chicken fried chicken/beef, meatloaf and more. I had the meatloaf which was excellent, my wife had the sample platter which had three large chicken tenders, three large potato skins with bacon & cheese and three cheese sticks. More than enough as an entree for one person or to share as an appetizer. We sat in the bar where they had a couple of big screens for the sports enthusiast. They only have bottled beer (as well as wines, spirits and the usual top shelf stuff) so not much choice on that front.
Don't be put off if the parking lot looks full when you arrive, it was when got there around 6.30pm but we were seated straight away.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steveg2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyoming
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Always great food”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

This is our old stand by, and they consistently come through with excellent food and service. Not your gourmet dishes, nor expected - just great food, "real" mashed potatoes, large and refreshing drinks and fast service. Try their authentic pot roast or the chicken fried chicken - never had a bad one yet. Lots of sides to chose from, and, as mentioned: excellent prices.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good food & lots of it”
Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

Very good food and huge portions. It has a lot of southern style foods. The mashed potatoe bowl was really good as was the rolls, shepards pie, catfish, and fried corn on the cob. Everyone at my table really enjoyed their food. Waiter was friendly and the place was clean. I would go again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rahorning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centennial
Level Contributor
293 reviews
213 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Bawk! Can you say Chicken fried Steak?”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

The Black Eyed Pea is what we call everyman's restaurant: food for all tastes. But if you're really hungry, get the large portion of the chicken fried chicken or steak. The mashers are great, lots of gravy and plenty of sides to choose from (we like the cinnamon apples). With a diverse menu, you will have no problem finding what you like.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black-eyed Pea also viewed

 

Been to Black-eyed Pea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing