We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most Original Sushi” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hapa Sushi

Hapa Sushi
Reserve with OpenTable
Hapa Sushi is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #343 of 2,977 Restaurants in Denver
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Cherry Creek
Cross street: 2nd & Detroit
Description: The name Hapa is derived from the Hawaiian term that describes a harmonious blend of Asian and American cultures. Like our name, our food reflects this dynamic combination. The menu is based on traditional Japanese cooking fundamentals which are then amplified, muted, or mixed with influences from many different styles of cooking until they are something completely new: they're Hapa. We have stretched the boundaries of creativity to develop dishes that defy all the rules while holding true to our roots. We hope you will find our menu innovative, uninhibited, and distinctly fun! Incomplete parties will not be sat until complete.
Oak Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
66 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Most Original Sushi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

This place is known for its weird sushi creations. You think that some of the dishes are unconventional but they just work. Try any of the hapa appetizers as well as the orgasm roll or the statue of liberty role! AMAZING!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Frischstcks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    66
    23
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
64 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Best place for Sushi!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Whenever I come to Denver my boyfriend and I always go here!!!! We can never come to Denver without going here. I have probley been here over ten times. And each time i am neverrr disapointed. Its has a really nice atmosphere very relaxing. They have a sushi bar and tables and outdoor seating in summer. Good location on the corner. Definitely a must!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jnich93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
76 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Nice atmosphere and fun vibe. The sushi didn't knock my socks off, but it was quite good. Close to convention center. I'd definitely go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brevardrox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Hilarious and tasty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

The sushi was yummy, names of rolls hilarious, transformer art weird and service great. Recommend the multiple orgasm roll or the surf and turf roll

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chantal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not great sushi”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

If you want sushi and you're at Cherry Creek, okay. But this is not great sushi. It's a limited menu and most lack flavor. I'm also not a fan of "crab mix" in rolls, and they use it often. My son loved the PB and Jelly roll though. I have to give them credit on the kids meal, most sushi places don't offer one let alone one as good as theirs. And they gave little origami sheets and instructions, my three year old was too young for it, but the adults had a great time with it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Katie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hapa Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing