We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Put this one on your list!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Luca

Luca
Reserve with OpenTable
Luca is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #266 of 2,984 Restaurants in Denver
Price range: $25 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Capitol Hill
Cross street: 7th
Description: Opened in February 2003, Luca is where food marries art. Chef Frank Bonanno features house-made salumi, a variety of fresh breads, pastas and cheeses. The menu reflects authentic Italian dishes inspired by the Piedmont, Tuscan and Sicilian regions, all prepared with the season's finest ingredients.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Put this one on your list!”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We always eat here in February when our friends from Cortez visit us. The food is always very good, the service is always very good, and so is the ambiance. Give it a try, and I think you will put it on your list of go-to worthy dining spots in Denver.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank jbsarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    35
    9
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tyler, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious & wonderful!!!”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

My husband, and I recently visited Luca for the first time. We were very impressed! Even though my husband would have rather done the 6 course tasting menu, we stuck with the 4 course menu. Everything was wonderful. (The braised meatballs were my absolute favorite) The bread was wonderful, but the butter was even better! My husband had the chocolate torte, with the passion fruit puree...OH MY!!!! I would definitely recommend this place to anyone!
YUM... Well worth the money!

~ Texas

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Must go.”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

The food is great. Everything from the breadsticks to the entrees were very good. The wines are all Italian varietals and the waiter was very helpful selecting something to compliment our dinner.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
2 reviews
“Italian - No Better”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Great food, paired with great wine. The Chef & staff work in greay harmoy to give you an excellent dinning experience.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
600 reviews
372 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
“Classy and innovative use of Italian ingredients”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We've been to all of the other Denver-area Bonnano-owned restaurants, loved them, and were excited to finally try Luca d'Italia with 4 of our friends.

Our table was in the middle of the dining room by the wine station and the small hosting stand. Luca's is an intimate dining space, decorated simply, but possessed a warm, welcoming ambiance. Diners filled up the place by 7PM and the volume of noise was a pleasant, lively hum. Everyone was well-dressed for the most part, but it didn't make the place feel stuffy or formal. The waiting space is standing room only, unless you waited on the bench on the outside of the interior door where the well-trained staff had offered to hang up our coats.

After we all agreed to order the $75pp 7-course Chef's Tasting Menu, an oblong wooden bowl was laid before us. It contained housemade crazy-long, skinny breadsticks, a pile of rustic white bread, and several slices of to-die-for focaccia. I'm not sure what they put in that focaccia; it seemed to be infused with more than just rosemary- perhaps sea salt and brushed lightly with flavored oil? Whatever it was, but it was the best I've ever sunk my teeth into with its delightful springy texture.

All of the courses were utterly delicious and were presented in a thoughtfully artful display. Though each one looked tiny on the large white dishes, we all left very full after the 3 hour meal. I can't remember the exact details of each dish, but the standouts were the meaty baby octopus dish, the small bowl of farfalle sangue (a dark red pasta) in some sort of buttery sauce with shaved cheese, and the palate-cleansing apple-celery sorbet sprinkled with gorgonzola. Even the crispy piece of trotter (meat between a pig's hoof cleat, I believe) accompanying one of the dishes was cooked perfectly. *drool*

Service was excellent. The staff here was very personable and engaging, somehow more so than the employees at Mizuna. Not that Mizuna's people were bad, they just seemed more aloof and too quick (hence the 4* there I gave about a month ago). Here at Luca they didn't seem to mind stopping their bustling to carry on a conversation with you if you gave them a little lead, and our server made little appropriate jokes throughout the night. We even saw Bonnano's wife working the floor and bussing tables. The only hiccup was a long wait after the 1st course. We waited on the 2nd course for almost twice as long as any of the others. Thankfully, with our group of 5, our conversations dominated the wait.

We loved Luca and we know we'll be back!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aerofaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luca also viewed

 

Been to Luca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing