We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thanksgiving dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Palm Denver

The Palm Denver
Reserve with OpenTable
The Palm Denver is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #501 of 2,984 Restaurants in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Cross street: 16th
Dayton, OH
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Thanksgiving dinner”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

I had thanksgiving dinner at The Palm with a friend. Service and staff was excellent, although we had to wait a bit for our reservation (no big deal, we had a seat at the bar). Wait staff was really great. The thanksgiving meal was a little different than advertised on the web site so that surprised us a little. The food was good, very traditional thanksgiving meal. We weren't huge fans of the turkey. I would eat here again, great service.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    58
    21
    19
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
165 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Great for a group”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

It's hard to stand apart as a steakhouse. There's enough competition that anything less than perfection is not enough. I am not sure this would have quite made it to a 5 if it had been as a small group, but as a large group in a private room, they handled us flawlessly. Really it's the great service that made this a great experience.

But the food was also excellent. The steak (a filet) was perfect, as it should be, and the sides were delicious. The cheesecake was great. There were no real surprises, food-wise, and that's kind of what you expect from a steakhouse.

I didn't love the casual look of the place overall, but our private room was perfect for us.

The prices on the wines felt a bit high to me. Some of that is to be expected, but it would be nice if they weren't quite so inflated.

Otherwise a great meal, and a good place to choose if you are dining as a small group, I think.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ScholarGentleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
115 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“It's not NYC, but then the air is cleaner!”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

As expected for a Palm restaurant, a completely appropriate place for a "high end" dinner with in-laws (and ex-laws). Not the posh, clubby atmosphere of the Manhattan original, nor is the food up to a NYC standard. This is the wild West, after all. There are no surprises, however. The martinis are good, the steaks cooked exactly, the vegetables bright and crunchy. A requested baked potato was found (enormous!), and a simple salad of iceberg with sliced tomatos and cucumbers was made; neither was on the menu but the waiter didn't bat an eye. The wine list was large and the choices broad - pleased to see an Owen Roe cab franc and at a reasonable price. I prefer American wines when good ones can be had, and the wine list reflected solid knowledge. Service was practiced, even if not polished, and friendly. Will be happy to return on another visit to town!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SeattleRoamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Laurel, New Jersey
Level Contributor
174 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Last minute walk-in; pleasantly surprised!”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

My business partner and I had never been to any of the Palms so we figured we'd give it a go since we were craving cow. My partner's filet was really tender and flavorful. I had a juicy, tasty burger and I ended up sharing up half of my steak fries with my partner because they were truly delicious! The burger was great too, which is good because it was $18! We also tried the sauteed spinach and three cheese au gratin potatoes which was good, though the au gratin was a little rich and lacked a stronger cheese.

Overall, we were pleasantly surprised with this steak chain, and the service was phenomenal! We would go back again!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsSmarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
Level Contributor
465 reviews
255 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Old School Steakhouse”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Part if the Westin, the menu is what you would expect at a steakhouse...with some Italian dishes. While the steaks are flavorful, they aren't anything to scream about. The mashed were okay, the asparagus was done right...the desserts were large. While not a creative menu, it's okay for a steak place...but just okay.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Palm Denver also viewed

 

Been to The Palm Denver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing