We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cuba Cuba cafe & bar

Cuba Cuba cafe & bar
Ranked #147 of 2,977 Restaurants in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Caribbean, Latin, Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Downtown
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Level Contributor
284 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

My friend and I went to Cuba Cuba for my birthday and were pleasantly surprised. We expected a good meal and it was really really good! We had empanaditas (manchego and spinach--two tiny dumplings), then saladas cubana (great avocado dressing with hearts of palm and tomatoes) and tropicana (mango,pineapple and standard salad items), plus grilled grouper. Desert was cholocata quatro leches. Wonderful meal! I would happily go back another time for some of the other entrees. No candle for my birthday (ut I'm past that age) Go go go!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Feistygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    62
    25
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
178 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“always good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

we have been numerous times to eat dinner here. it is a favorite for my daughter's birthday. we hadn't been for quite a while and were pleasantly surprised to find, that although some favorite items were gone, the ones on the menu were really very tasty. all the food, from tapas through chocolate quatro leche dessert were cooked to perfection, the sauces were wonderful and the mojitos powerful (according to the ladies). however, maybe the most impressive aspect of the restaurant was the exceptionally nice, polite and attentive wait staff. these young ladies worked very diligently, with humor and consideration. when one person wanted the vegetarian dish, our waitress suggested unless he was a vegetarian, he might enjoy something else more. another suggested an unknown beer for one of our party and said "if you don't like it, no problem, no charge" this is the kind of place that makes eating out enjoyable.
my only semi-negative: no reservations. we wanted to eat outside, but after an hour of waiting, we gave up. i wish places still took reservations, but they may be gone the way of the rotary phone (or all land lines) we'll be back sooner than later

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank denverchucko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
104 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Delicious and Filling”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

My family had already visited Cuba Cuba twice and had raved about it and tonight I finally go to join them. It is a cute little place in what looks like two remodeled 1950’s era homes joined together. Everyone’s food was excellent; I especially enjoyed the Vaca Frita and the spicy Coconut Shrimp. The only reason this place does not get a “5” is that it was loud (many patrons drinking mojitos) and the service was good but not quite as attentive or quick as I would have liked. Neither of those problems will keep me from going back to Cuba Cuba again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KTCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Buenaso!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

Very delicious gourmet renditions of Cuban staples. Many delicious cocktails. They seem to be known for their sangria and mojitos, but there are many delectable libations worth trying. Everytime I've been (which has always been around dinner or later, during the week), it's been quite busy, but my wait has never been longer than 45 min. I've even spent an entire evening with a friend at the bar, ordering drinks and food. Their ceviche is great, as it should be, and DEFINITELY have at least one kind of dish featuring plantains ... and of course, dessert.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank kaheaokekai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peripatetic: you name it
Level Contributor
49 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful atmosphere, great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

I've eaten here several times over the last few years and it is consistently excellent food, wonderful service, good drinks, and a fun but not overwhelming atmosphere. The meat is prepared well, seasoned to perfection and paired with interesting side dishes. The yuca fries were a bit disappointing in light of the other standouts on the plate--plantains, meat, a wonderful version of coleslaw. It is tough to make yuca interesting, I get it, but it can be done. The mojito is not too sweet, which was a lovely surprise. I recommend this place for a well prepared meal with an atmosphere where you can hear your dining companions and enjoy attentive but not overwhelming service.

Helpful?
Thank castironmaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cuba Cuba cafe & bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing