We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a waste of $$$”

Cuba Cuba cafe & bar
Ranked #141 of 3,021 Restaurants in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown
Denver
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a waste of $$$”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

My husband and I wanted to try Cuba Cuba and were so upset with the food. The service and location were fine, just the food was so salty we couldn't eat it. When we complained the bartender came over and said "you don't like it?" and walked away! No offer for a free drink or dessert or even an apology! We will NEVER go back! VERY dissappointing!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank SheilaC972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    63
    25
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
172 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Mojito & So Much More in Denver”
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Met a client of mine at Cuba Cuba at his suggestion. Boy, I'm sure glad he recommended this charming spot in Downtown Denver. This restaurant serves up a great mojito and has a very good wine list. My client ordered the fried grouper and I had slow cooked pork with black beans, white rice, fried yucca and it was delicious. The pork was super tender and delicious. This place is excellent and I will definitely go back on my next visit. Check it out, you will be happy with the quality and professional service and recommendations.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SeanKStewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
328 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Glad I gave this gem another try!”
Reviewed June 20, 2012

The first time I went to Cuba Cuba was when it opened many years ago. I thought the food was bland and boring. I recently received a gift certificate for Cuba Cuba from my students, so you can imagine that I wasn't thrilled. But what a surprise!!! I went last weekend- it was packed with an interesting crowd, all of the staff (hostesses, bartender, server) were friendly and welcoming,..and the food was great! We had both of the types of empanaditas- excellent (didn't enjoy one of the dipping sauces- it was kind of like a Cuban Thousand Island dressing), the ceviche (perfect) the shrimp entree (amazing) and the tres leche cake for dessert (also amazing). We drank mojitos, which were prepared perfectly. My only criticism this time is that they recently changed the menu and got rid of the plantain mash and substituted plain old mashed potatoes. I don't think that mashed potatoes stand up to the robust flavors of the shrimp dish. BUT- this is Denver, and many mid-westerners probably don't like the heaviness of the plantains. All in all, a great experience and I will definitely go back. And the patio would be a great place to throw a party!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rubybouvier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good for groups”
Reviewed June 8, 2012

I took a group of 20 to Cuba Cuba recently for dinner. Service was great. Food terrific. I thoroughly enjoyed the paella and cerviche. Don't forget the Blackberry mojito. The whole team was friendly and helpful. The restaurant is near the Mint and an easy wlak from 16th Street Mall.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1LkyCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best mojitos!”
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Best mojitos! Adorable little building. Totally worth the price.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank L K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cuba Cuba cafe & bar also viewed

 

Been to Cuba Cuba cafe & bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing