We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try the bakery also.”
Review of New Saigon

New Saigon
Ranked #213 of 3,039 Restaurants in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $35
Cuisines: Asian, Seafood, Vietnamese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Frisco, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Try the bakery also.”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We've been going to the New Saigon Restaurant almost since it was first opened. It has consistently been a delight. The food is delicious and led to our being hooked on Vietnamese eggrolls. Now, they have their wonderful bakery and deli next door and we're hooked on the Banh Mi sandwiches. Stop in for a full lunch or go next door for a Banh Mi and you'll be as hooked as we are.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FrednLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    39
    9
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“It's Alright”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Visited New Saigon for lunch upon hearing the high reviews and remarks from several friends and family members. The menu had a nice variety and the staff was friendly and good. I've eaten at many Vietnamese restaurants in the Denver area and I feel that the taste of the food was only average. However I have 2 complaints. The pork eggrolls were not cooked long enough and still uncooked in the middle. And the lettuce on the plate of sprouts, cucumbers and lettuce that they brought as a side to the eggrolls was unwashed. The backs of 3 of the large leaves of lettuce were clearly dirty and not washed off. These two things turned me and my wife off of the food there and we won't eat there again because if they can miss two little details like that, then who knows what else they arent doing correctly back there in the kitchen.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tinman2g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“the best”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

After a two year hiatus, we revisited New Saigon last evening. We visited these wonderful folks frequently when we lived in Denver, but now, don't get here often. We always look forward to our visits, and last evening was no different.

Our server, who has probably been here for most of the 25 years the restaurant has been open, greeted us, and said 'I haven't seen you for a long time'.

The noodle bowl is our favorite. If you have not visited this great place, order #11N, and you will not be disappointed. Of course, we have never had anything here that was even neutral, let alone a disappointment.

The service is outstanding. They had just seated a group of nearly 50, and still, our meals were served within 10 minutes of when we were seated! Can't find that kind of service most places.

All I can say, visit New Saigon for the best Vietnamese tastes you can find anywhere.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank our08jfsadifj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Huge menu -- so far it's all good”
Reviewed December 15, 2012

The neighborhood seems a little iffy but step inside to find a very pleasant restaurant with top quality food and service on Denver's near west side.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank miss_utility
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“You can't go wrong”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

I was fortunate to eat here with a group of high-level foodies who just start ordering the instant they sit down. We tried at least seven dishes as well as appetizers and everything is piping hot, all the freshest ingredients and interesting combinations. The shrimp actually taste like shrimp instead of something that simply feels like shrimp. The food is bursting with flavor. The staff "gets it" and obviously gets along with many regulars dining at other tables. This is my favorite place to eat in Denver - bar none.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Timmerbikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Saigon also viewed

 

Been to New Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing