We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best”
Review of New Saigon

New Saigon
Ranked #237 of 3,019 Restaurants in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $35
Cuisines: Asian, Seafood, Vietnamese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
california
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“the best”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

After a two year hiatus, we revisited New Saigon last evening. We visited these wonderful folks frequently when we lived in Denver, but now, don't get here often. We always look forward to our visits, and last evening was no different.

Our server, who has probably been here for most of the 25 years the restaurant has been open, greeted us, and said 'I haven't seen you for a long time'.

The noodle bowl is our favorite. If you have not visited this great place, order #11N, and you will not be disappointed. Of course, we have never had anything here that was even neutral, let alone a disappointment.

The service is outstanding. They had just seated a group of nearly 50, and still, our meals were served within 10 minutes of when we were seated! Can't find that kind of service most places.

All I can say, visit New Saigon for the best Vietnamese tastes you can find anywhere.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank our08jfsadifj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    39
    9
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
121 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Huge menu -- so far it's all good”
Reviewed December 15, 2012

The neighborhood seems a little iffy but step inside to find a very pleasant restaurant with top quality food and service on Denver's near west side.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank miss_utility
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Colorado
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“You can't go wrong”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

I was fortunate to eat here with a group of high-level foodies who just start ordering the instant they sit down. We tried at least seven dishes as well as appetizers and everything is piping hot, all the freshest ingredients and interesting combinations. The shrimp actually taste like shrimp instead of something that simply feels like shrimp. The food is bursting with flavor. The staff "gets it" and obviously gets along with many regulars dining at other tables. This is my favorite place to eat in Denver - bar none.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Timmerbikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kew Gardens, New York
Level Contributor
252 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Great food, marginal service”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

The menu here is great! The size of the menu is impressive. I ordered something that in other restaurants would have used lesser ingredients, but here the ingredients were perfect -seafood and mushrooms. It was early with only about half the tables occupied, but the waiters seemed to be preoccupied with each other. Service was not particularly attentive.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dnvpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Food is worth the trip”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Being Vietnamese I have eaten in hundreds of restaurants dozens in Denver and this ranks in the top 20 for sure. My family eats here more than I or my husband but we still recommend it
as much as they do. My husband who is not Vietnamese even likes their food but usually sticks to the noodles. The only reason he does not want to give it 5 out of 5 is that he says my recipe for fish sauce is the best he has ever had and beats theirs hands down :)

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Saigon also viewed

 

Been to New Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing