We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not The Same Fish”
Review of Japon - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Japon
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Washington Park
Cross street: Gaylord St. & Mississippi Ave.
Description: The success of a restaurant all depends on the cooperation of its staff. When people take pride in what they do and enjoy their work environment, it shines through to the customers and employees alike. Here at Japon, Owner Miki Hashimoto opened Japon with one thought in mind; He wanted to create an atmosphere where people could experience a mini vacation while dining in their own city. Miki-san adds to the intrigue of Japon by keeping it an exciting dining destination for people around the metro area. Just as Japon’s menu and decor changes, so does Miki-san, and always for Excellence.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not The Same Fish”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

All of you Japon Restaurant loyal followers who have seen the Groupon or the advertising for the "reopening" of the restaurant in Westminster; it isn't the same fish! This owner purchased the right to use the name from the long time former owner of Japon, and is trading on our ignorance of the deal. And this fish is definitely not the quality nor freshness- nor served in the same ambiance- of that we enjoyed at the Gaylord Street Japon.

Be of good cheer, we will not be in the wilderness much longer: it seems that the "true Japon" will be reopening downtown sometime this summer. Our long wait will be rewarded. But it obviously will not have the same name: perhaps it will be something like "A Fish of Another Name" or such, but will still be the same succulent sushi we came to enjoy.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jamesgoodridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    13
    2
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best sushi hands down!”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We had a last minute birthday party of 8 on a Saturday night and we seated extremely fast! The GM, Owen, made sure to check on us often and made sure the food, drinks, and service meet our expectations. The Montana roll is my new favorite and I'm sure I will have to teach my local sushi restaurant how to replicate it. We will be back next time we are in Denver!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ztraveler1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Best sushi place ever!!”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

My brother-in-law that lives in CO eats here all the time and got my kids hooked on sushi here when they were 6 and 12!!! We visited again, after almost a decade, and it had only gotten better!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Naomi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Used to be great, now pretentious and rude staff”
Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

At 642 pm, the host looked at his computer and said theyre booked for the night. He looked like he was trying not to laugh when told we had no reservations, didnt offer a seat at the bar or anything. He was totally rude.and arrogant. Yet there were open tables in the dining roomand in the bar. The restaurant has pretty good food but come on its not that good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pf4711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Stopped in for Happy Hour ended up eating a great meal!!”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Japon has a very cool interior and feel to it. There is a large sushi bar and lots of table seating. We stopped in for a quick drink and a snack but ended up having more as it was very delicious. The gold eye(?) toro special was awesome. This is a great place for a date or happy hour.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nfbV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Japon also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing