We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best of its kind”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of WaterCourse

WaterCourse
Ranked #67 of 2,986 Restaurants in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: WaterCourse has been a Denver staple since 1998, and has been fully vegan since April 2014. WaterCourse specializes in delicious and filling comfort food with many gluten-free and nut-free options. Our featured dishes include Banana Bread French Toast, Street Tacos, and Southern Fried Cauliflower "Chicken" served with Mashed Potatoes & Gravy or Mac & Cheese. Along with our seasonal menu, we offer amazing vegan and gluten-free desserts and milkshakes to top off your meal!
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The best of its kind”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

I remember going to the Watercourse when it was still a hole in the wall back in 2000. It immediately got the attention of the entire vegetarian community, and not long after it caught on with the meat-lovers, as well. It is that good! The atmosphere is lively and the service is good. It is great value for money. I highly recommend it to anyone - meat eater, vegetarian or vegan.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank renee b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    114
    26
    18
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level Contributor
130 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great for meat lovers a like”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

This is my favorite restaurant in Denver.
I've taken all meat lovers with the exception of one person and everyone loves it. The portions are big, the food tasty, the service is good to great, and the crowd eclectic.
The biscuits and gravy hands down are the best I've ever had. I get egg with mine and the yolk adds moisture to the biscuits. Yum.
Good beer selection and by far the best most in town buy one get one on Sundays.
A must go.
Get there early or a on a wait. After stuffing yourself walk to the park for a nap in the sun.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jcktvls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
220 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great variety of vegetarian dishes. Helpful staff as well.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

Three of us had a weekend lunch which started with the cheese board and some soup. Both were very good and surpassed our expectations. Our mains were a salad (custom made from a variety of ingredients to chose from) and tacos with veggie chorizo. Both were excellent though the taco ingredients were a bit too greasy/oily. The coffee was flavorful and bold. The server was very helpful and kept up with our needs despite being quite busy. Overall, a good value and wonderful dining experience. If I am back and looking for a vegetarian dining option they head the list.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WillMyWifeGetSick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
125 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Had a horrible experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

I visited in mid-September after reading very positive reviews. To be fair: this review is not about the quality of their food, and was only my experience with one individual.

I told the waitress that I had nut allergies, and she nodded. I ordered a dish and she said it didn't contain nuts. When the food arrived, I took two bites and realized something was really wrong.

I asked again if it contained nuts, she kept saying no... at this point, my lips were red and swelling, and my throat was getting scratchy. I asked for the wait staff to get benedryl, and they did, but I repeated again (because I wanted to know what I was in for) my question "what nuts were in that dish?" FINALLY the waitress said "It doesn't contain nuts, but it is made with cashew milk." Unbelievable. I left, then spent the next 3-4 hours vomiting and overheating and had to alert my hotel staff to keep an eye on me in case I needed to go to the ER.

Please be aware of this if you have food allergies.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tee610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
75 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Most amazing vegetarian dishes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

Best vegetarian chicken and waffles I have ever had (or may ever have). Food portions are large and prices are very reasonable. Drink selection was huge, from beer to teas. Cute atmosphere with excellent service. Do not miss if you are a veggie in Denver.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Quinn1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed WaterCourse also viewed

 

Been to WaterCourse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing