We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You have got to be kidding!”
Review of 16th Street Mall

16th Street Mall
Book on TripAdvisor
More Info
$15.00*
and up
Denver Scavenger Hunt Adventure
Ranked #23 of 252 things to do in Denver
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in the heart of Denver, this vibrant area offers a variety of shops and places to relax.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“You have got to be kidding!”
Reviewed August 31, 2011

This mall feels unsafe. No visible police presence. Few tourists and many folks who appear down on their luck. Stores are lackluster. Even the chain bookstore seems pathetic. The heart of the city seems downtrodden and mostly empty. This is not a vibrant location. There do not seem to be any city dwellers - just high rise office buildings, the mall and ??? Do not bother!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank barbarag8_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,859 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    869
    920
    651
    285
    134
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Eh.”
Reviewed August 28, 2011

Nice outdoor walking area but a lot of chain restaurants and stores - nothing new for us to explore. I did like the outside piano's, the flowers and chess tables. However nothing fabulous here.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank DaBernies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Amboy, New Jersey
Level Contributor
204 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Beautiful outdoor mall!”
Reviewed August 25, 2011

We strolled the length of the 16th Street Mall on a beautifully sunny day. There were many chain eateries and name brand stores, but there were plenty of original cafes, in addition to many souvenir shops. On this day, there were many people dining outside. The "keys to the city" program has colorfully decorated pianos placed along the street and anyone can play it. It was wonderful seeing people take part. I also enjoyed looking at the creatively painted cows! I love how the street is closed to traffic, but there is the free shuttle that runs along it should you get tired of walking!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank everfair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
89 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed August 24, 2011

This street seems like it's trying really hard to be the great street that big cities have, but it just falls flat. In terms of businesses on the street, there's nothing interesting or unique.
There is a median down the center of the mall with trees, benches, some cows on parade, and some pianos. It has potential, but right now, there are just mediocre piano players messing around and the odd street performer, at least when we were there.
There are also a LOT of people asking for money on the mall. I suspect not all of them are homeless, but many are. I was surprised, coming from a big city, at how many people asked us for money on the street here.
My main gripe with this mall is the restaurants. We were staying at the Sheraton at the end of the mall, and at about 8:30pm-9pm, we went out looking for food. Everything was closed, except for a few big, packed, pricy restaurants. What kind of city has no food after 8:30?!?! We've been back to the 16th street mall on a Sunday afternoon looking for a pizza place that had a good review -- it was closed!! What kind of restaurant is closed on a Sunday afternoon on the main drag in a city?! So disappointing.
One positive thing I can say about this street is the free bus that takes people from one end to the other. It's clean and runs regularly -- unless, of course, you expect to be out after 8pm or so. I'm not sure what the schedule is, but it did not run often on a Saturday evening. Not that you would be, there's not that much to do.
Another positive thing - street parking is not bad.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank merrytina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice During Day but Changes at Night”
Reviewed August 19, 2011

Went to 16th Street Mall for dinner our first day in Denver. Thought it was nice when we went into a restaurant to eat but it was dark after we were done and the whole area changed. The center of the mall was filled with the strangest looking people, punk teenagers, homeless people, and very loud, argumentative groups. It was like we were in a totally different place. To be honest, I was frightened but was told later that although the street people might look scary they are harmless and it is very safe there. I still had my doubts and made sure we left before dark for the rest of the trip. I have been to a lot of cities and have never seen anything like this.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank travelmom519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 16th Street Mall also viewed

 

Been to 16th Street Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing