We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Free Parking and Breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
TownePlace Suites Denver Downtown
Ranked #70 of 157 Hotels in Denver
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
181 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Free Parking and Breakfast”
Reviewed July 21, 2010

A commercial or industrial building converted into a hotel. A bit of an odd setup/layout but clean, accomodating staff and quiet. About a mile plus walk to the restaurants or Downtown, I was lead to believe it was much closer.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimeTraveler0123_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    134
    62
    16
    9
See reviews for
72
79
28
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2010

We booked this hotel fairly late on and got it for less than £50 per night for four including breakfast. It is located opposite a hospital and a health centre.This means that you do hear the noise from ambulances coming and going. We also had the further inconvinience of the air conditioning unit being too noisy forcing us to switch it off and open the window instead. This meant we heard the noise from the trains that ran through the night. The hotel itself was adequate - we weren't complaining for the price we paid. There are a couple of nice resturants close by. We walked into the city centre. It is a reasonable walk and you will encounter some homeless people. Our kids got the short straw having to sleep on the sofa bed. They found it really uncomfortable. The breakfast was toasted items, fruit and coffee. The downside was the lack of space. It meant taking food back to the rooms which would have been okay if there had been trays provided as you needed a card to acess the corridors and rooms it wasn't an easy operation. I did ask if there were trays available and was told a curt no. There is a full cooker, dishwasher and full sized fridge in the rooms. There were enough utensils and crockery to enable you to cook in if required. A nice touch for the kids was that during the evening the staff put out some complimentary cookies and hot water was available to allow them to make hot chocolate.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cam405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Rancho, NM
Level Contributor
63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2010

Overall, this place is excellent value for money. If you are looking for a clean, basic place to stay close to Denver's attractions, this is an excellent choice. We got the room for $44 on Hotwire which was quite possibly the best deal I have ever gotten on a hotel room. We got the studio suite which is their smallest and cheapest room I believe but perfectly adequate for two people. We loved having a full kitchen and the living room area was nice when you wanted to relax and watch TV. Plenty of storage space. The staff was also super helpful and went out of their way to search for and print out directions for us once when we were looking for a specific restaurant nearby.

The free breakfast was a nice perk. We usually grabbed some coffee, a bagel, and yogurt and took it back to the room since there isn't a lot of seating room in the lobby.

The fact that the hotel is in a historic building (a lithography plant dating from the early 1900s) was an added bonus. The Art Deco facade of the building in the front is very attractive. I also enjoyed the fact that the spacious, sunny fitness room is the site of the former owner's office, and, before that, center field of Denver's first baseball field. The former owner apparently was a big baseball fan and the fitness room is decorated with vintage photos of the baseball teams he sponsored.

The fitness room has an elliptical trainer, a bike, two treadmills, free weights, and a yoga mat. Perfectly adequate and the elliptical trainer was a nice surprise since I hardly ever see those in hotel fitness rooms.

The only downsides to our stay were that the wireless Internet access in the room was painfully slow at times. That is not uncommon for many hotels though. Also, we weren't able to get about half the cable channels promised in the guide. We requested a room facing the parking lot since I had read the rooms facing Speer could get a lot of traffic noise. However, be aware that the parking lot faces the hospital and there can be a lot of sirens at night. We did hear a helicopter landing there just once also.

People have talked about the neighborhood being shady.... we saw a couple of homeless people at one point but at no point did we feel threatened. The hotel is very close to Broadway which has lots of colorful restaurants, bars, and antique stories. Kind of a funky downtown vibe.

We had dinner one night at Hoong Gate, a Chinese/Thai restaurant a 10-minute walk south of the hotel on Broadway. The service was very friendly and the food was excellent. Good value and huge portions as well.

One day we walked from the hotel to the Denver Art Museum (an interesting 15-minute walk up Broadway) and spent hours in the museum - it was incredible. Then headed through Civic Center Park past the capitol to the 16th Street Mall and spent the rest of the day exploring the mall and Larimer Square. The Mall is quite touristy but fun. We had lunch at Rock Bottom Brewery and enjoyed some of their microbrews and followed it up later with cheesecake at the Cheesecake Factory.

One night we drove to LoDo (about a 10 minute drive; metered parking is free on Sundays) and had dinner and drinks at the Wazee Supper Club. A historic building as well and a fun, friendly place. We really enjoyed the beers from the Wynkoop Brewing Company, especially the black beer YK3.

If you like urban hikes, an interesting walk from the hotel is to go south on Broadway. Exit the hotel and walk around it to the north so you can see the historical facade of the hotel that faces 7th Avenue. There are lots of funky shops and restaurants and the walk gets progressively more interesting the further south you go. When you've had enough you can take a right and go west to Acoma and walk back to the hotel through a beautiful leafy neighborhood with interesting homes.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ingrid T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 9, 2010

I'm Marriott Timeshare owner and the standards are not Marriott-quality...from the front desk staff, maid service, breakfast and the construction of rooms (walls and interior doors were paper thin) Marriott should not put their name on this hotel. But the biggest problem was the lack of description of the suite... most two bedroom suites usually have two bathrooms, this one only have one bathroom, try getting four adults ready for a wedding. I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpr53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, CO
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2010

Pretty comfy beds, full kitchen if you need it, friendly front desk staff--this hotel is a great bargain. The free parking is awesome--you won't find that at most downtown Denver hotels. The facilities are clean and comfortable. The breakfast grab-and-go method is fine with us, although the set-up and selection could use some improvement. Otherwise this is a steal if you're visiting Denver.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelinduos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2010

The hotel is okay for the price--important if you have little kids and want a kitchen and a little extra space, but a couple problems:
1. My children were making normal kid noise--I would never let them get totally wild in a hotel, I just woudn't--and the front desk starts calling telling us we have to be quiet becauuse the people below us are complaining. This is at 4 in the afternoon, not late at night! We get multiple calls while we are there and I insist that we are not making any noise other than simply "living." (Talking, walking, laughing, etc.) Kids end up getting all self-conscious for every little noise they make.
So if you want a quiet hotel, the walls may be too thin for you, and if you have kids,bring tape for their mouths and shackles for their feet so they can't move around too much!
2. FIRE ALARM went off at 2am. It was terrifying. Lights are flashing, sirens blaring, trying to get some shoes on the kids, trying to get myself dressed, hotel guests are confused and scared. Everybody ends up in the parking lot and it's like 35 degrees. We stand there like a bunch of lost sheep, babies are crying. So we stand there and stand there, no word from the manager or staff. No staff in sight. Fire engine shows up. Firemen wearing trudge inside. Inside for like 10 minutes. Firemen come out. In the movies the firemen say, "It's okay, folks, you can go inside now--just a false alarm!" Not in this case. They grumpily trudge back into the fireengine, drive out of sight.
Then we start filing back inside. It takes my 4 year old two hours to get back to sleep. Next day, no apology from the management--no discount off that night's stay. Very "hand off" managerial style. Manager may want to try to be more communicative with guests when this kind of thing happens in the future.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank professorBgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
164 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2010

I concur with the positive reviews. Indeed, the only negative note is lack of space for breakfast, but you are free to grab and go. The lobby also offers many items that may help: tylenols, free coffee 24/7, some grocery items to cook (rooms have a full kitchen). Very quiet sleep. Staff indeed is very friendly: they do their very best. No problem with cleanliness. I will go back whenever I go back to Denver, for sure.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 88puffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Denver hotels
Highland
Fairfield Inn by Marriott Denver Downtown
Highland
Hampton Inn & Suites Denver-Speer Boulevard
Central Business District
Crowne Plaza Denver
Crowne Plaza Denver
#57 of 157 in Denver
1,531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Residence Inn Denver City Center
Highland
Residence Inn Denver Downtown
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Express Denver Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownePlace Suites Denver Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Denver Downtown

Property: TownePlace Suites Denver Downtown
Address: 685 Speer Blvd, Denver, CO 80204-4513
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Denver
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 157 Hotels in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites Denver Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our newly renovated extended stay hotel in downtown Denver is the perfect choice for corporate housing, temporary relocations and long stays. Our guests enjoy complimentary breakfast, internet and parking. We are conveniently located just minutes from the Denver Convention Center, the Pepsi Center, Coors Field, the Denver Art Museum, Cherry Creek and many other popular Denver attractions. The hotel is conveniently close to Denver Health and National Jewish Hospitals and other Denver businesses. Our 122 comfortable suites offer plenty of room for the whole family in apartment-style suites. Suite amenities include fully equipped kitchens, spacious living areas and well-lit work spaces, so you will always feel like you're right at home. Our hotel is within walking distance of a variety of shopping, dining and entertainment opportunities. Housed in the stately and historic A.B. Hirschfeld Press Building, we offer comfortable suites at an affordable price, making us one of the best Denver extended stay hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Marriott, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your TownePlace Suites Denver Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites Denver Downtown Hotel Denver
Denver Towneplace Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing