We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
TownePlace Suites Denver Downtown
Ranked #72 of 157 Hotels in Denver
Lincoln, Nebraska
2 reviews
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Great older building with great amenities and the most helpful staff. Friendly people that would answer any question even if they had to go out of their way to find it elsewhere. Rooms are comfotable and nicely appointed. This was second time staying here since of the locarion being near downtown art museum and other places we like to visit. Might be a few dollars more than other places but, the location, staff, and rooms are the value I look to find.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dalek155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    132
    62
    16
    9
See reviews for
71
77
28
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
102 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Just what we needed while visiting our daughter and her family.Short ride from the hotel to her home, just west of I 25 on Speer... The hotel is comfortable and friendly, but the smallish lobby made breakfast difficult. We took ours back to the room. No complaints!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank senyor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2012

Sleeping rooms had lots of space and were very comfortable. Staff was nice and management was extremely helpful.

Hotel location is not exactly "Downtown", we had to take the bus or rent bikes to get to "Downtown" (16th Street Mall, Larimer Square, etc). At one point we did rent a car and took full advantage of the free parking at this hotel (Downtown hotels charge upward of $16 per day for parking).

Our room was on the first floor (on the way to the Breakfast Room and across from the Exercise Room) so it tended to be loud at times. I would recommend requesting top floor (only 3 floors).

Room Tip: request a higher floor to get away from first floor guest traffic and surrounding parking lot traffi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaliPel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2012

We stayed there for a week just because my husband's mom was in the hospital across the hotel, you get a lil discount with the hospital and everything which is like couple bucks off lol but it was worth it nice breakfast friendly staff and etc

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liltraveller987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montague, NJ
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2012

I usually write off any hotel below a 3 because of past bad experiences, but this hotel is fantastic! The rooms are clean and well appointed; the staff was friendly, helpful and corteous. I booked this hotel because a sale on a travel website left it too deeply discounted to ignore; I'm so glad I did. Free WiFi, free breakfast, free parking and an in-suite kitchenette are just a few of the features of this hotel that make it stand out. The rooms were immaculate. It's a bit off the main drag in downtown Denver, but nothing we wanted to do dowtown was more then a 15 minute drive; it also made the hotel a little more quiet as traffic and trains weren't heard once inside. Overall an excellent choice you should consider!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peacenik18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pueblo, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2012

I was initially happy and relieved to find a two bedroom suite in downtown Denver for $189 a night, $215 w/tax when traveling for an event at the Pepsi Center with two teenage girls and my husband; however, when I noticed the dated and dirty hall carpeting that was leading to our room (the drywall and a paint was also stained with soda and desperately needed painting) I could only wonder what to expect of our room. Unfortunately, our room was on the first floor so we were forced to call the front desk three times to complain about the jumping and partying above our room (no fault of the hotel, obviously), after midnight. We also called the guest room; it was apparent the hotel management either had no control or ignored our complaint.
The room on the surface appeared decent, but it's hard to overlook the following: sticky kitchenette floor; sticky and dusty bathroom floor; torn couch skirt (more like shredded, it looked as though the maids continuously catch it in their vacuum); a bathroom curtain which smelled like mildew; no tv in the second bedroom; no extra blankets or pillows; and towels with marker stains on them.
For $189 a night and owned by Marriott, I really expected more.
Here are some positive aspects: the hotel is animal friendly, provides doggie poop bags for their customers, does include free breakfast and free Wi-Fi; and is easy to find on a map. The beds were comfortable and having a refrigerator in the room was nice.
Although only a $12 taxi ride to the Pepsi Center there were only three restaurants within walking distance from the hotel. Two closed at 10:00 pm on a Friday night, and it appeared one only stayed open because we caught them while the kitchen was finishing up previous orders (Moe's Original BBQ - different review).

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KitteeKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenwood Springs, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 5, 2012

We showed up at 7:00 P.M. with my wife and 2 kids (3 & 5) and our friend and her 2 kids (3 & 5). We reserved a 2 bedroom suite so we could put kids to bed and hang out in the living space. Chris at the front desk told us we could not have the room we reserved because they "found a bunch of drugs in our room and he wouldn't feel safe putting a family in it". I asked if I could go see the room and determine for myself whether it would be safe or not (I didn't believe his story) and he said "no, it wasn't safe for our cleaning staff so they didn't clean it" and he refused to tell what the room number was. After much discussion he told us the best he could do was give us a 1 bedroom suite and a room next door. We asked if they were connected and he said no. This wasn't ideal but we took it. It turns out the rooms were connected and it worked out in the end. I told him they were connected and he said "it doesn't show that in my system" which only underlined the incompetency of the staff (Chris was the only one working). The room we had (115) had what looked like burn marks all over the bathroom floor and had a general feeling of being dirty and run down. And needless to say, we did not feel very safe after Chris' comments about a room so filled with drugs that it couldn't be cleaned. If you don't mind a dirty, drug infested hotel with incompetent staff, stay here. If you're looking to enjoy yourself, go somewhere else

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Denver hotels
Highland
Fairfield Inn by Marriott Denver Downtown
Central Business District
Crowne Plaza Denver
Crowne Plaza Denver
#55 of 157 in Denver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,514 reviews
Central Business District
Residence Inn Denver City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Highland
Hampton Inn & Suites Denver-Speer Boulevard
Highland
Residence Inn Denver Downtown
Capitol Hill
11th Avenue Hotel & Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownePlace Suites Denver Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Denver Downtown

Property: TownePlace Suites Denver Downtown
Address: 685 Speer Blvd, Denver, CO 80204-4513
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Denver
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 157 Hotels in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites Denver Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our newly renovated extended stay hotel in downtown Denver is the perfect choice for corporate housing, temporary relocations and long stays. Our guests enjoy complimentary breakfast, internet and parking. We are conveniently located just minutes from the Denver Convention Center, the Pepsi Center, Coors Field, the Denver Art Museum, Cherry Creek and many other popular Denver attractions. The hotel is conveniently close to Denver Health and National Jewish Hospitals and other Denver businesses. Our 122 comfortable suites offer plenty of room for the whole family in apartment-style suites. Suite amenities include fully equipped kitchens, spacious living areas and well-lit work spaces, so you will always feel like you're right at home. Our hotel is within walking distance of a variety of shopping, dining and entertainment opportunities. Housed in the stately and historic A.B. Hirschfeld Press Building, we offer comfortable suites at an affordable price, making us one of the best Denver extended stay hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your TownePlace Suites Denver Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites Denver Downtown Hotel Denver
Denver Towneplace Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing