We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not My Papa”
Review of Big Papa's BBQ - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Big Papa's BBQ
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Lakewood, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Not My Papa”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Slab of ribs & two sides

fried okra--good taste-avg. qty
mac&cheese-avg. taste-avg qty

ribs: very dry & tough, small qty of meat on ribs
I knew there might be a problem when the ribs were served with an oversized
steak knife on the platter. We have had ribs all over the US and Denver; never had a
knife presented before-never needed a knife before

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank davontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    2
    0
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
559 reviews
313 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Very Good Barbecue”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Very good ribs and brisket. I read about this place in the Kansas City Star, and if any town knows good 'cue, it's Kansas City. The meats are well smoked and they finish the ribs over an open fire. They were slightly overcooked, but still tasted great.

I suggest you get the meat without sauce and, if you choose, add one of their 4 sauces.

They offer a number of delicious side dishes, from potatoes to cole slaw.

I will definitely go back the next time I get to Denver.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Max G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
1 review
“Still have one location in Denver”
Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

So sad the Ken Caryl and Federal stores Are closed.Only location still around is the Denver store. Worth the drive just to purchase bbq sauce. Carolina,Memphis and Kansas City are the best.

Helpful?
Thank klcorner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“BBQ that does NOT dissapoint!”
Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Entering this unassuming storefront restaurant, one might expect average food. Order ANYTHING and you will have a change of mind. The pulled pork - succulent and flavorful. The catfish moist and crispy. Order brisket for a well seasoned meat with a nice layer of bark from the 10 hours of smoking. And don't forget to try the ribs and chicken. They offer a choice of four distinctly different BBQ sauces . . . all are my favorite! All the sides, mac & cheese, fried okra, yam casserole, mashed potatoes, cole slaw, baked beans or potato salad are outstanding! If cobbler is on the menu, save a little room as its always tasty.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VictorVDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“This is the BBQ in Denver!”
Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

I travel a great deal for business and try to make a point of finding the BBQ in each city I visit. Big Papa's is one of the best I've found... Anywhere! The ribs are so perfectly smoked and the sauces.. If you decide to try them add a new level of taste, though the ribs certainly are delicious on their own. The beans are the best I've had. It's a little hole in the wall in a strip mall and its just right!

Helpful?
Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing