We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Typical chain”

Bubba Gump Shrimp Co.
Ranked #261 of 2,984 Restaurants in Denver
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
75 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Typical chain”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

The food was decent, but it is a typical chain restaurant. Our waitress was friendly...perhaps to the point of being annoying. I rather dislike being checked on every 10 minutes and my conversations interrupted!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ewados
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    143
    116
    37
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Parker, Colorado
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Perfect location, wonderful dinner”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

If you're doing something at the Denver Convention Center and come out looking for somewhere to eat, you're mostly out of luck for a couple blocks except for Bubba Gump. We parked right next to it and didn't see it until we had walked around for several blocks looking for somewhere to eat dinner. We had basically given up and headed back to the car only to realize where we had parked!

It's a wonderful place. Fun atmosphere, lively music playing, football on the screens behind the bar.

The manager heard we were Landry's members and came right over to offer us her service. I had the fish and chips, which was probably some of the nicest I've ever had. The fish was so moist and tender, like none I could recall.

If you're not familiar with BG's, there are two license plates hanging on your table (Run Forrest Run, and Stop Forrest Stop) so from a distance the servers know whether or not you are in need of their assistance.

And if you're a fan of the movie, you'll really love all the memorobilia as icing on the cake.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bsb75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn, Germany
Level Contributor
282 reviews
246 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“If a member of your party even thinks about this restaurant, Run Forrest Run”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

It's a mid-week evening and the restaurant is far less than half occupied. Nevertheless, our evening here, at the suggestion of a colleague, was one of the worst meals I've experienced in a very long time. Yes, it's a known that the restaurant is part of a chain which should, in theory, be held to some quality standard to insure that the patron has a similar experience anywhere in the country. And, granted, the theme depends on the patron wanting to believe that the protein is "fresh" rather than "fresh frozen" or, worse, just plain frozen. But, our meals not only took an inordinate amount of time between their first order and arrival at the table, but when they arrived, the food temperature didn't appear to have even been kept under a heat lamp because all of the fried food was cold. The fries were tepid; the fried fish was cold and greasy; and the coleslaw was so under-dressed and under-seasoned that eating raw cabbage and carrots would have been better than what was provided in the very small side cup of greens. One can't blame the waiter who tried his best to entertain us with the Bubba Gump trivia quiz, for which the "prize" was a "free" refill of our waters. There seems to be a major problem in the kitchen, being unable to handle an evening's orders in any semblance of what a decent restaurant should be capable. Behind our table were two families with small children who were kept waiting at least an hour for their meals; when we left, their food still had not arrived. The manager of the restaurant should be dismissed as this establishment is dysfunctional. If you even have the smallest inkling of spending your good, hard earned wages at Bubba Gump's in Denver, you should head the following advice: "Run, Forrest, Run."

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LopingianTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bubba Gump”
Reviewed October 23, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This restaurant is good for family's , there good is ok but they have good service and there very quick

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A wonderful surprise!”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised by Bubba Gumps. To be honest I didn't quite know what to expect as i feared it would be a but gimmicky but this place was great. The food was awesome and the waiter who looked after us was so helpful and friendly - he was a star! We are heading back to enjoy another meal before we leave Denver.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KiwiTraveller111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bubba Gump Shrimp Co. also viewed

 

Been to Bubba Gump Shrimp Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing