We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a hoot!”

Adams Mystery Playhouse
Ranked #56 of 255 things to do in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Welcome to Adams Mystery Playhouse! Colorado's ONLY full-time Interactive Murder Mystery Dinner Theatre. The best, longest running and most critically-acclaimed Murder Mystery Dinner Show in Denver! Adams Mystery Playhouse is Colorado's ONLY Mystery Dinner Theatre. Adams Mystery Playhouse in Denver CO on Denver's 7 's A-List. We're thrilled to be nominated for the Best Theater.No matter what age, guests can expect to enjoy several types of theatre during the night. Hints of melodrama, street performing, singing and flat-out-fun-interaction keep this evening moving. And, participation is as much, or as little, as you like. The five hilarious, professional actors weave together a story that youre sure never to forget. Costumes are welcomed for guests, but not required. Parking is free and the facility is handicapped accessible. Shows are Friday and Saturday nights, with Sundays, Thursdays and lunches for the public also available. Private group parties are welcomed any night or weekday, but may be at a higher price. The food consists of a yummy one-entree buffet, catered by Bella Basil, a partner company with the Cuellars for the last 14 years. Upgraded menu items are available for private groups. The cash bar is full-service and bar tabs may be run for larger parties. For corporate team-building events, birthday parties, school field trips, holiday parties, date nights any reason to bring a group together and have fun, Adams Mystery Playhouse is the place for you. Get ready to have the crime-of-your-life!
Pardeeville, WI
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“What a hoot!”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We got all dressed up for the 20's speakeasy theme and had a blast. The scavenger hunt was a fun way to spend the time prior to the show starting. Not many others were in costume but we were happy to have an excuse to do so!

The main detective (Cookie in our mystery) was awesome! He kept us all laughing our heads off. The jokes were mostly clean and we loved it!

We got to participate a little more than some, as we had brought props that they worked into the telling of the tale.

If you dress up you get to parade across the stage. That was fun too!

The food was okay, nothing to write home about, but it was very edible. We enjoyed the cash bar, but you don't have to drink to excess to enjoy the show.

We would be glad to go back for another night of fun.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank schrades
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    19
    6
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Westminster, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great time had again.”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We went last year right around this time and decided to go again.
I'm glad that we did, we had a great evening full of laughs and more laughs.
One thing I did notice was that the meal served (salad, fruit salad, chicken and rice) was the same meal as last year, even the deserts (brownies and cream puffs). You would think that they would have some variety in the meals served. Also, load up a decent amount of food your first time around because it's most likely your last opportunity. As soon as all tables were served, they removed the food very quickly, even though all parties hadn't shown up and the show hadn't even started. (Don't worry latecomers, they will still serve you :))
Overall, I would recommend visiting for a great night. Remember, crowd participation is what makes most of the show! Have Fun!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Venessa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
302 reviews
111 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“You are going to have a good time!”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We did not know what to expect at this inexpensive dinner theatre and we were SO surprised! When you enter they greet you and start you on a scavenger hunt to solve a puzzle. The full bar is open all during the performance and is very reasonable. The buffet is a very limited menu; however, it was fresh and interesting. Service was very good. The entertainment is amazing. It is definitely an interactive performance - everyone in the audience gets involved. You will laugh & have a wonderful fun evening. Even if you are someone who normally sits on the sideline and only watches, you will get involved and have a blast. I highly recommend this reasonably priced entertainment. There were children present and they also participated and had a good time.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank FreedomBus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denv
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What a fun night!”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We had a company outing to the Adams Mystery Playhouse. The entire night was full of laughter and fun. So much so that all of us left with our cheeks and sides hurting from laughing so hard. What a great crew they have there!!! They really know how to make a fun eveing for a large group. The food was nothing to write home about, but you arent going there for the food.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank mlebone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a Fun Party!”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

My friends and I came to the Pirate Murder Mystery dinner and had such a blast! The cast was so sweet and hilarious, we spent the entire evening laughing our butts off. The show was very interactive and fun and the cast's interaction with the audience was one of the funniest parts of the show (except for "Red Legs" the Pirate's dancing). In addition to a great show and great food, I left feeling like I had found one of Denver's biggest gems when I heard the lady owner (whose name I can't remember, sorry!) offer to give a few patrons a ride to the light rail so they didn't have to take the bus. I don't know of any other places that would treat their people with such kindness. Thank you Adam's Playhouse staff for a wonderful and memorable night!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank CNICHo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Adams Mystery Playhouse also viewed

 

Been to Adams Mystery Playhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing