We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dim Sum”
Review of Star Kitchen

Star Kitchen
Ranked #166 of 3,066 Restaurants in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 282 helpful votes
“Dim Sum”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

This is the best place we've found for Dim Sum in Denver. It is served in the traditional way on carts. There are too many choices so the more people you have in your group, the more dishes you can try. It is always crowded especially on weekends which is a testament to the good food. But as soon as a table is vacated, it is cleaned and new guests are seated. And almost immediately you are asked if you want a beverage and the ladies with the carts come in rapid succession. This place is not close to us but when we go into Denver, it is one of the places we like to go for lunch.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2skidivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    47
    6
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level 6 Contributor
272 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Reasonable price, but crowded”
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed the Tim sum here, but it is always crowded even at 2.30 pm!! Be prepared to wait a while. The prices are reasonable. The food is good. The service is OK, but they usually don't smile or greet the customers since they have so many customers and they don't mind if you don't come back again. Go for the food but no ambience.

Helpful?
Thank 5flower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good dim sum”
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

I enjoyed the dim sum here more than at another place I have been in Denver. The service was fast and very polite. The only things I didn't like were the live food tanks and how hard it was to find out what some of the dishes were (I don't eat meat).

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Isabela55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Reasonably authentic, crowded but fast service”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Went with 4 others and had only selections from the dim sum carts. I've lived in China for almost a decade so I feel comfortable making statements about Chinese food. The dim sum was reasonably authentic, it's not high-end but it is tasty and a very affordable place for larger groups, allows everyone to try a little of everything. Tables and decor are cheap and a bit run down, wait staff speak very little English, tons of kids running around etc. so not a good place for a date. Informal meal with a group of friends though...perfect!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mlalahoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Excellent Dim Sum”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We came here early for lunch today as they get busy early. They had a large variety of dim sum and also had tanks of fresh seafood available. Service was prompt although the lady with the dim sum cart passed by us a couple of times without slowing down or stopping. The atmosphere is average, typical strip mall ambiance. Lastly, one point of concern: there was an obviously dead fish upside down in one of the tanks. Who would want to eat that? We will return for the dim sum.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jumbonav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Star Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing