We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location and room - great, service - not so much”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Denver - Downtown / Convention Center
Ranked #19 of 157 Hotels in Denver
GreenLeadersGold level
Toronto, ON
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Location and room - great, service - not so much”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Stayed at the Embassy Suites for a conference, and was very pleased with the room when I first arrived. Good size, good work space. The bed was wonderful - had great sleeps all 4 nights I was there. The property is a LEED one - which is good. There is a Starbucks right beside the hotel (and you can charge to your room). Both the bedroom and the living area have flat panel TVs, with appropriate quality for the channels you get on them.

Downside had a lot to do with the service received. The staff was very pleasant - no question on this. The first night I placed a wake up call for the next morning. My phone rang just as I was going to bed but did not think anything of it. Wake up call did not arrive the next morning - I figured out then that the call the night before had been it - they put in my room number (on the 11th floor) as the wake up time. Not good.

The largest issue was when the housekeeping staff decided that the business receipts on the side of the desk were not really needed .. and threw them out!! Never had this happen in likely over 1000 hotel nights in my life. Called and mentioned this - they checked but could not find them, So, likely out more than a few dollars on that. They also threw out earplugs I had on the side of the bed. Never heard from a manager or anything with more detailed follow up or apology.

Ordered room service a couple of nights - first night it was to take 30 minutes, called down after 45 and was told it would just be a minute - ended up being 10 more. Second time I ordered a medium well burger and it was medium rare - but it did show up promptly.

As others have mentioned the add on charges for internet and parking can really add up - I received complimentary internet but it would definitely not be cheap otherwise.,

Coffee service was not completely replenished one of the nights.

So - the location (right across from the convention center) is fabulous, the room is great, but the level of service and follow up is not anywhere near on par with the room and furnishings.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twokidsonecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Denver - Downtown / Convention Center, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for providing us with feedback from your recent stay at our hotel. We take great pride in being one of the top hotels in the Denver area. I wanted to apologize that your stay did not reflect this at all. I can assure you that I will be sharing your comments with our entire team, so they can use this as a training tool. Please feel free to contact me directly at Joe.Pilakowski@embassysuitesdenverdowntown.com and I would love to discuss this with you further. Again I'm sorry this took place and I look forward to hearing from you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,707
    618
    190
    69
    45
See reviews for
667
391
48
1,092
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (465)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

This hotel could not be in a better location. It is neighbors with the Denver Convention Center, only blocks from all the shopping on the 16th Street Mall, and within walking distance to Coors Field. We were in a huge hurry to walk to a nearby appointment when we arrived and were relieved when the valets were prompt and helpful in taking our car and getting us on our way. Yes, you have to pay over $30 for nightly parking but unfortunately you have to pay for parking anywhere you park so it may as well be in the garage. When I explained I was at the hotel celebrating a birthday, the staff upgraded my room to a mountain view which is worth it if you aren't from Colorado. The breakfast was very good considering it was complementary and included made to order omlets, muffins, cereals, juice, potatoes, scrambled eggs, sausage, etc. Room was equally as good though the pillows weren't terribly soft which some Empassy Suites have. My only complaint was the coffee both in our room and at breakfast was terrible. Not a big deal considering there is a Starbucks next door.

Room Tip: Go for the Mountain View- it faces directly west and you get an entire view of all the mountains as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rockiemtnlvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Denver - Downtown / Convention Center, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
I hope that you had a great birthday and we are thrilled that you chose to spend it with us! We appreciate the wonderful feedback you shared about your stay and we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel for three nights at the end of March. From the moment we arrived, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We met several members of the staff; all of which were incredibly friendly. When we saw the staff after our initial meeting, each one said hello to us by name and had a conversation with us. I've stayed at many hotels throughout the world and have rarely received that kind of customer service. The hotel itself is beautiful and clean. Our room was quite spacious and had a great view of the mountains. I loved that we could walk to virtually any place downtown from the hotel. We couldn't believe how great the breakfast and happy hour were that were included in our rate. There was a great assortment of food and beverage at both. I appreciated the fresh fruit and the made-to-order-omelette station at breakfast. The seating area was fantastic - plenty of tables, high ceilings, and several TVs placed around so that you could easily watch from any place or not watch as they were placed in a non-distracting manner. Really, you cannot beat the deal you receive at this hotel. I give special thanks to Ron Richards for making our stay so wonderful! Thank you!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank megs07305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Denver - Downtown / Convention Center, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
It's great to hear that you and your boyfriend had such a great stay at our hotel! We take great pride in our customer service here and I'm glad that my staff was able to take care of both of you! I will make sure to share you comments with Ron and our entire team! Next time you are in the area please stop by and say hello!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitou Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

This was our third stay here within the last six months. The first two were perfect. This time was not quite up to the same level. On the first night there was a line out the door for the evening happy hour. Later we tried to have a drink in the bar. We waited 20 minutes at a table without being acknowledged before going to the bar. The bar shares the room with the restaurant. Only one bartender and one waitress on for the whole place. They were working hard, but they needed more help. The in room coffee pot did not work. I will say that the replacement came quickly. There was a lot of mildew around the top of the tub. That's not something I go looking for, especially in Colorado, but that doesn't speak well for deep cleaning. The first morning we couldn't get near the breakfast buffet. The second we did, but the food was not nearly as good as last time, and later in the day both of us felt that something we ate had not agreed with us. Lets leave it at that. Bottom line: beautiful hotel, friendly and accommodating staff, but not enough help.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Denver - Downtown / Convention Center, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
We appreciate you choosing to stay at our hotel again, however it is discouraging to hear that it was not as good as last time. As you know this is definitely not the standard at our hotel, and I can assure you that it will be addressed. Next time you are in the Denver area please feel free to contact me directly and I will make sure that you are well taken care of!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Black Hills
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Professional staff. Quiet suite. Clean. Convenient location. Parking valet exceptional but cost adds up on total bill with the 15% tax. A family of six can expect to be put on the top floor in a corner (based on two separate trips a full year apart) along with other families. Still very quiet. If you want to be downtown this is recommended. Enjoy.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank SkiBlackHills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Denver - Downtown / Convention Center, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for providing us with a great review from your recent stay! We appreciate the feedback and we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, NM
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Spent two nights here with wife and kids. The suite was perfect for us. Staff was very friendly and professional. Good location for hitting the 16th Street Mall. Great deal when you figure the free breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dharmabum100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Denver - Downtown / Convention Center, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for providing us with a great review about your recent stay. I hope you choose to visit us again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I really hate to rate this average, the location was great. Near shopping, plenty of Denver’s finest restaurants and close to something very near and dear to my heart, the Rockies stadium. But with competing hotels nearby, I won’t stay here again. I just can’t understand why they put so much effort in upgrades but let the rooms get so disgusting. I have stayed in some pretty seedy places however, not at this price. We could not get the water to turn off so we had to call maintenance when all we wanted to do was sleep. The coffee pots were so gross and stained with previous attendants coffee drippings, that I vetoed the morning coffee. I grabbed a face towel only to realize some form of sticky substance held it together..that one almost gave me nightmares..gross.. oh and the cleaning staff knocks on your door before 9am and asks if you are leaving soon..

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Denver - Downtown / Convention Center, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a review on TripAdvisor! I apologize about the quality of your suite as this is certainly not the standard at our hotel. I will be sure to share your comments with my entire team to use as a training tool moving forward. If you are ever in the area again please contact me directly and I will make sure that you are well taken care of!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Denver hotels
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Denver At Colorado Convention Center
Downtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton Denver Downtown-Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Renaissance Denver Downtown City Center Hotel
Central Business District
Four Seasons Hotel Denver
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel Denver
Magnolia Hotel Denver
#36 of 157 in Denver
2,722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Denver - Downtown / Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Denver - Downtown / Convention Center

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Denver - Downtown / Convention Center
Address: 1420 Stout Street, Denver, CO 80202-3201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Denver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Denver
#7 Romantic Hotel in Denver
#8 Business Hotel in Denver
#20 Family Hotel in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Denver - Downtown / Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 403
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly renovated and redesigned Embassy Suites Denver Downtown / Convention Center - the ideal destination hotel offering the perfect setting for business or pleasure and a gateway to the city's rejuvenated downtown scene. A contemporary convention property, our LEED Silver Certified hotel in Denver is a lively destination within walking distance of the best attractions in downtown. Your stay includes cooked to order breakfast each morning and a complimentary manager’s reception for two hours each evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Denver - Downtown / Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Denver - Downtown / Hotel Denver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing