We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as last time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Denver - Downtown / Convention Center
Ranked #19 of 157 Hotels in Denver
GreenLeadersGold level
Manitou Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not as good as last time”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

This was our third stay here within the last six months. The first two were perfect. This time was not quite up to the same level. On the first night there was a line out the door for the evening happy hour. Later we tried to have a drink in the bar. We waited 20 minutes at a table without being acknowledged before going to the bar. The bar shares the room with the restaurant. Only one bartender and one waitress on for the whole place. They were working hard, but they needed more help. The in room coffee pot did not work. I will say that the replacement came quickly. There was a lot of mildew around the top of the tub. That's not something I go looking for, especially in Colorado, but that doesn't speak well for deep cleaning. The first morning we couldn't get near the breakfast buffet. The second we did, but the food was not nearly as good as last time, and later in the day both of us felt that something we ate had not agreed with us. Lets leave it at that. Bottom line: beautiful hotel, friendly and accommodating staff, but not enough help.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Denver - Downtown / Convention Center, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
We appreciate you choosing to stay at our hotel again, however it is discouraging to hear that it was not as good as last time. As you know this is definitely not the standard at our hotel, and I can assure you that it will be addressed. Next time you are in the Denver area please feel free to contact me directly and I will make sure that you are well taken care of!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,627 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,706
    617
    190
    69
    45
See reviews for
667
390
48
1,091
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (465)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Black Hills
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Professional staff. Quiet suite. Clean. Convenient location. Parking valet exceptional but cost adds up on total bill with the 15% tax. A family of six can expect to be put on the top floor in a corner (based on two separate trips a full year apart) along with other families. Still very quiet. If you want to be downtown this is recommended. Enjoy.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank SkiBlackHills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Denver - Downtown / Convention Center, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for providing us with a great review from your recent stay! We appreciate the feedback and we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, NM
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Spent two nights here with wife and kids. The suite was perfect for us. Staff was very friendly and professional. Good location for hitting the 16th Street Mall. Great deal when you figure the free breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dharmabum100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Denver - Downtown / Convention Center, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for providing us with a great review about your recent stay. I hope you choose to visit us again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I really hate to rate this average, the location was great. Near shopping, plenty of Denver’s finest restaurants and close to something very near and dear to my heart, the Rockies stadium. But with competing hotels nearby, I won’t stay here again. I just can’t understand why they put so much effort in upgrades but let the rooms get so disgusting. I have stayed in some pretty seedy places however, not at this price. We could not get the water to turn off so we had to call maintenance when all we wanted to do was sleep. The coffee pots were so gross and stained with previous attendants coffee drippings, that I vetoed the morning coffee. I grabbed a face towel only to realize some form of sticky substance held it together..that one almost gave me nightmares..gross.. oh and the cleaning staff knocks on your door before 9am and asks if you are leaving soon..

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Denver - Downtown / Convention Center, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a review on TripAdvisor! I apologize about the quality of your suite as this is certainly not the standard at our hotel. I will be sure to share your comments with my entire team to use as a training tool moving forward. If you are ever in the area again please contact me directly and I will make sure that you are well taken care of!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest IL
Level Contributor
103 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel is located in a good spot if you are passing through and want access to various places in downtown. My wife and kids have stayed here several times and it has been perfect both times. The cocktail hour is great and with the breakfast included this can't be beat. Also, close to the mint and other attractions.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StephenP783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Denver - Downtown / Convention Center, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay again with us! Thank you for letting us know about your stay and I hope you come see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinston, North Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 7, 2013

I recently stayed in the Downtown Embassy Suites on my spring break in Denver - the room was perfect, the accommodations were awesome, and the staff was professional and courteous. The hotel is within walking distance of several downtown points of interest (including 16th Street Mall and several great bars/restaurants), and any questions you have about the area will be answered by the hotel staff. You will definitely be getting a hotel room and atmosphere that is worth the money! A special thanks to Josh Ventry for making my first trip to Denver even more special by being so helpful during my stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Denver - Downtown / Convention Center, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a great review on TripAdvisor! We value the feedback our guest's provide us and I hope that you will visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Went to a concert at the Pepsi Center and this hotel was a perfect place to stay. Within walking distance. The only downfall about this hotel is that it is Valet parking only. Ouch! Hotel staff was friendly and very helpful. Felt very secure the whole time we were there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Denver - Downtown / Convention Center, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
I hope that you had a great time at the concert you attended at the Pepsi Center! We are glad that you chose to stay with us during your trip and would love to have you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Denver hotels
Downtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton Denver Downtown-Convention Center
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Denver At Colorado Convention Center
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown-Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Denver Downtown
Downtown
Renaissance Denver Downtown City Center Hotel
Central Business District
Hyatt Place Denver/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Denver - Downtown / Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Denver - Downtown / Convention Center

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Denver - Downtown / Convention Center
Address: 1420 Stout Street, Denver, CO 80202-3201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Denver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Denver
#7 Romantic Hotel in Denver
#8 Business Hotel in Denver
#20 Family Hotel in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Denver - Downtown / Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 403
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly renovated and redesigned Embassy Suites Denver Downtown / Convention Center - the ideal destination hotel offering the perfect setting for business or pleasure and a gateway to the city's rejuvenated downtown scene. A contemporary convention property, our LEED Silver Certified hotel in Denver is a lively destination within walking distance of the best attractions in downtown. Your stay includes cooked to order breakfast each morning and a complimentary manager’s reception for two hours each evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hilton Hotels Direct, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Denver - Downtown / Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Denver - Downtown / Hotel Denver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing