We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice But Not Up to Most Embassy Suites”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Denver - Downtown / Convention Center
Ranked #23 of 158 Hotels in Denver
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed December 20, 2012

I’m a Hilton Honors Gold tier member and enjoy Embassy Suites. I found this one to be an above average hotel, but not nearly as good as most Embassy Suites. It has two-room suites, nice beds and linens, flat screen TVs with HD feeds, managers reception (7 days a week which is a plus), and a truly remarkable breakfast (even for Embassy Suites) that includes cooked-to-order items. The location is excellent, right next to the Convention Center and 16th Street Mall. Like every hotel in the area, they charge for parking, but they include in/out privileges. And as is typical of all Hilton properties, the staff is wonderful. So far, so good, but lots of little things are disappointing, mostly due to the very obvious cost-saving measures. The in-room coffee maker is the most basic one made, and there’s no coffee in the lobby except during breakfast hours (desk clerk actually recommended I go to Starbucks next door when it opened). When the coffee was set up, there was no decaf or hot water for tea at the stand (you can get it, but have to ask). Coffee cups in the room are paper (not typical of Embassy Suites). Just two bath towels were stocked; they of course brought more when I asked, but three is typical for two guests. The CFL bulbs weren’t really bright enough or placed well to properly light the rooms. And the minimalist contemporary décor not only suggests “budget measure” but it contributes to an antiseptic environment rather than the warm, inviting atmosphere that is typical of most Embassy Suites. I might stay here again, but it probably won’t be my first choice.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheObjectiveCritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Denver - Downtown / Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2012

Thank you for providing us with feedback from your recent stay at our hotel. I will be sure to share all of your comments with our team. We hope you come visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,740)
There are newer reviews for Embassy Suites by Hilton Denver - Downtown / Convention Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,226 - 2,232 of 2,740 reviews

Reviewed December 16, 2012

We live in the Denver metro area but stay downtown when events require close lodging to the venue. This facility offers many wonderful services (excluding a shuttle service) and on weekend it appears the swimming pool, close proximity to DCPA/Convention Center, and high quanities of breakfast offerings brings out the families with noisy and hungry kids.

Even though the multitude of children can overwhelm the senses, the quality staff, good rooms, and location, this is a good hotel and we recommend it for couples,

As a lifelong resident of the metro area, I suggest that you must keep your wits about you while walking downtown. The 16th St Mall is loaded with teen Goth types and a large number of homeless. Sadly, many of the higher quality retail stores have moved to the burbs or Cherry Creek shopping area.

Room Tip: The higher in the building, the less loud activity from the poorly parented children.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Denver - Downtown / Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a great review about our hotel! I'm glad that you chose to stay with us even though you live in the Denver area. We look forward to having you come down and visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We stayed here when in town for a Rockies game. This is a good hotel for a family. The rooms are big, with the extra pullout couch for the extra kid. Breakfast is included daily. This was okay, but a bit of a madhouse in the mornings. Evening drinks are also included. Location is good for the convention center, ok for the 16th street mall. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Plainstravellors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Denver - Downtown / Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

I hope you and your family had a great time at the Rockies game, are are ready for another season! We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with some feedback and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Pros:
- Great location right next to convention center and DCPA.
- Great complementary full breakfast and happy hour.
- Excellent suite rooms.
- Comfortable bed.
- In room safe, secure elevators.
- Friendly and helpful staff.

Cons:
- Extra charge for Internet access, which is ridiculous these days.
- Very expensive parking, valet only.
- Room temperature difficult to control, vented directly onto bed.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColoradoJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Denver - Downtown / Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Thank you for your response! We take great pride in ensuring our guest safety as well as making a great experience for all guests from the point they check-in to the point they check-out. We hope to see you again at our property in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for a couples night out. Fantastic location for great downtown Denver restaurants and a two block walk to the Buell Theatre for a Christmas show! The room was modern, clean and comfortable, and very quiet. Our King suite was very spacious, and the bed was extremely comfortable. Everything was first class, from the valet service to the registration desk, to the dining room staff at breakfast the next morning. The hot breakfast is wonderful with made to order omeletes, french toast, pancakes, bacon,sausage, yogurt, fruits, coffee and juices. We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MillerSummit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Denver - Downtown / Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

I hope that you had a great couples night and that the Christmas show was perfect! We certainly do have a great location for visiting the Denver Performing Arts! I hope that you will come visit us more often!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

I stayed here for a couple nights while attending a conference at the convention center. The location was perfect - less than a minute walk from the convention center and just a couple blocks to the downtown area. A bike path along a small river for running was also very close by. The hotel was clean and seemed to be renovated recently.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank Bhaber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Denver - Downtown / Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2012

Thank you for providing us with feedback from your recent stay at our hotel! I will be sure to share your comments with our entire team and we look forward to having you stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Embassy Suites in Denver for eight nights, my chorus was singing at an International Sweet Adeline competion.

The suite we had was comfortable, private and clean. The bed was comfortable and clean. The hotel itself was quite unique as all of the suites opened to a balcony that overlooked the atrium downstairs. It was quite spectacular!

We had a hot, made to order breakfast every morning with fresh fruit, yogurt, cereal, bacon, eggs, sausage, freshly made omelets(to order) as well as hot coffee and chilled juices. There was a happy hour every day with drinks, snacks and welcoming staff.

We had dinner in the restaurant a number of times and while the service was a bit slow (there were lots of people mind you), the staff were friendly and the food was delicious.

We would stay there again in a heartbeat.

I would recommend this hotel and would choose it again. Oh yeah...very central and convenient!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank darsyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe P, Front Office Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Denver - Downtown / Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

We had a great time being one of the host hotels for the Sweet Adelines! I'm glad that you and your husband enjoyed your stay with us, and we certainly appreciate the feedback you provided us. I hope that you both will come visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Denver hotels
Downtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton Denver Downtown-Convention Center
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Denver At Colorado Convention Center
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown-Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Renaissance Denver Downtown City Center Hotel
Downtown
The Curtis Denver - a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Denver - Downtown / Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Denver - Downtown / Convention Center

Address: 1420 Stout Street, Denver, CO 80202-3201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Denver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Denver
#7 Romantic Hotel in Denver
#8 Business Hotel in Denver
#20 Family Hotel in Denver
Price Range: $174 - $401 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Denver - Downtown / Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 403
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly renovated and redesigned Embassy Suites Denver Downtown / Convention Center - the ideal destination hotel offering the perfect setting for business or pleasure and a gateway to the city's rejuvenated downtown scene. A contemporary convention property, our LEED Silver Certified hotel in Denver is a lively destination within walking distance of the best attractions in downtown. Your stay includes cooked to order breakfast each morning and a complimentary manager’s reception for two hours each evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Denver - Downtown / Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Denver - Downtown / Hotel Denver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing