We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good but overpriced”

Afternoon Tea at The Brown Palace Hotel
Ranked #3 of 123 Coffee & Tea in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown
Connecticut, USA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“good but overpriced”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

An elegant setting with lovely service but way overpriced. Our group of four ordered the minimum required...tea and finger foods consisting of bite-sized sandwiches, sweetbread, and desserts. Tasty but not at all worth the $160.00 paid. Honestly, We thought it was ridiculous and had a hard time enjoying the time knowing the price we were paying.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank servins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    33
    17
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very 'English' afternoon tea in Denver, Colorado”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

I shared an afternoon tea with a friend during my stay in Denver. We went to tthe Brown Palace Hotel Tea Room. The room was stunning and the tables and sofas provided were comfortable. A pianist played, then a harpist, adding to the lovely atmosphere. The afternoon tea was very good with a good selection of interesting sandwiches (which were refilled for us). The scones and cakes were also delicious. The service was perfect - attentive but not overwhelmingly so.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BPManager, General Manager at Afternoon Tea at The Brown Palace Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Chris,

We were delighted to learn that you enjoyed your visit and we are very grateful to you for your kind words regarding our afternoon tea. Our goal is to exceed the expectations of our guests and one of the most important tools available to assist us is your feedback.

On behalf of all of us here at The Brown Palace Hotel and Spa, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littleton
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Mom's 85th Birthday”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Thank you staff of the Brown Palace. Our mother's birthday was especially memorable because of the attentive service given to us.
What yummy treats!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sailawayklm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
344 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Do you like tea?”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

They serve tea in the lobby of the Brown Palace. If you do know know about the Brown Palace, it's a part of Denver's history. If you know how the unsinkable Molly Brown is, that is the connection. The hotel decor is of the Victorian era and very posh.
I would advise anyone to make reservations. They are capable of accommodating a large group, but reservations are required. The will serve tea (of coarse), scones, and finger sandwiches. The food is delicious. The cost is a little more expensive, but the locations and taste make it worth it.
Having tea at the Brown Palace is a unique experience and a fun outing for the girls.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank jcrumley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
143 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Highly Recommed High Tea”
Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

We took our 8 year old daughter to her first "tea party" at the hotel. It was reminiscent of tea in London. It is expensive but well worth it. She enjoyed the cucumber sandwiches. She loved the atmosphere. The service was impeccable. It really was a very special fun time.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hobbesey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Afternoon Tea at The Brown Palace Hotel also viewed

 

Been to Afternoon Tea at The Brown Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing