We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place to spend an afternoon” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Denver Botanic Gardens

Denver Botanic Gardens
Book In Advance
More Info
$24.99*
and up
Mile High Culture Pass
Ranked #1 of 249 things to do in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Spanning more than 24 acres, Denver Botanic Gardens at York Street presents a wide range of gardens and collections that illustrate an ever-widening diversity of plants from all corners of the world. Distinctive gardens define and celebrate our Western identity and a unique high altitude climate and geography.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access
San José, San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice place to spend an afternoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

they have some nice set of gardens from all over the world and the green house with the tropical plants is amazing

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rodney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,752 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,830
    739
    136
    35
    12
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Zurich, Illinois
Level Contributor
97 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Beauty even in the changing seasons”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

Showed up at Botanic Gardens on a day that it was a free day! Who knew? It would've been worth it anyway. I also had a Groupon for the Botanic Gardens (that I haven't used yet) so the bonus is I get to go back again!!!

Many of the flowers are withered. There is still beauty in the landscape. There's different vignettes and areas that are just gorgeous in the fall colors.

They were setting up some of the Christmas lights in the areas. But with Thanksgiving only three weeks away I can understand that.

It was a nice way to spend some time wandering around in the garden.

Helpful?
Thank travelBelle55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
86 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A Must See”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Always a fun place to relax. They have summer concerts, and the very popular plant sale in the Spring.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank 128Countries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fabulous Garden”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

We have been members for ages. The gardens are gorgeous in the summer and always changing. The sculptures each year are great and tie in with the gardens

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank shirley223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
64 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Denver Botanic Gardens - Chatfield”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had hoped to visit the Halloween Corn Maze, but we were too late. However there was a fun mini maze and the grounds were delightful. This working farm covers a lot of ground and has many nature trails. We walked about a mile. Each season offers great bird watching, and next time I'm going to bring binoculars. As a former teacher, I was especially interested in the 1874 Deer Creek one-room schoolhouse. There are also a cute play area for kids, seasonal wildflower gardens and the Trail of Lights, which we saw but were too early to enjoy fully. At only $5 per carload (honor system), the Chatfield Gardens provide a peaceful afternoon out. Note: Some parts are wheelchair accessible and some aren't.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Francha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Denver Botanic Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Denver Botanic Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing