We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great history of transportation” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Forney Museum of Transportation

Forney Museum of Transportation
Ranked #19 of 247 things to do in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
North Platte, Nebraska, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great history of transportation”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

There are lots of static displays of cars, bikes, motorcycles, wagons and some trains. It would be nice to have more interactive displays or guides to answer questions about it. I would still recommend it especially if you like autos and motorcycles.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank micsm_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    90
    23
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A pleasant diversion, with a little history too”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

A museum for many ages, this one concentrates on automobiles and railroads, although other transportation (motorcycles, planes, tractors, others) are represented too. One of eight surviving instances of the world's largest steam locomotive is nicely displayed, along with passenger cars of the golden era of railroading. I'm pretty sure that the large number of "woody" station wagons was a special exhibit, but there were literally dozens of other autos from the 30s, 40s, 50s and 60s. More sobering for a baby boomer, there are also cars from well into my adulthood! Less numerous but still plentiful were autos from the dawn of the automobile era, including Model Ts and Model As. Mrs. Forney (the wife of the founder) also collected vintage clothing, and the models (mannequins) amongst the exhibits are dressed in clothes of the era, a very nice touch. I found the outfits almost as interesting as the "large metal hulky things" as my wife describes my museum tastes.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank blw_at_longwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver. CO
Level Contributor
102 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Terrific for all ages!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

This ever-evolving museum just gets better and better! In addition to rotating special exhibits you will enjoy the world's largest steam locomotive, Amelia Earhart's gorgeous 1923 car, a cool bicycle collection showing one so old it doesn't even have pedals or brakes, a hot motorcycle collection, stage coaches, and of course lots and lots of beautiful collector cars. A favorite is the Hispano Suiza which has appeared in the movies. If you haven't been in the last 4 years you need to see again......it is brighter, better displayed, and features rotating exhibits and special shows. The current woody show is really special. I had no idea how enjoyable it would be!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank jWorld Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont
Level Contributor
45 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“An unexpected delight!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

I took my son (who is obsessed with trains) and my daughter (4 and 2) here and they both had a blast! The trains were unbelievably huge and the collection of cars was beautiful and all of historic significance. I have been in the muscle car hobby for 20+ years and I loved every minute of this museum. Worth the drive and the cheap price to get in. Try it. You'll like it.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank danandchenae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
239 reviews
91 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“No fun allowed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

If you are over 50 this is your place. It is the home of grumpy old men. They have a nice collection of cars, some trains and lots of bikes. But there is litte to no signage to explain the exhibits. Thus it is really just a collection not a museum.

Very strict rules that you are told to repeat to your children. The staff is down right mean. No bags or purses allowed in, guess they had a problem with folks stealling cars in there purses or camera bags...

It could be a nice fun place but nice is not tolerated here....

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank oldensign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Forney Museum of Transportation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing