We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tres Bien”
Review of Bon Ami

Bon Ami
Reserve a Table
2
Tue, 5/21
8:00 PM
Ranked #561 of 3,553 Restaurants in Denver
Restaurant details
Reviewed February 11, 2019 via mobile

Bon Amie is our once a week must have. It’s the best addition to Wash Park in ages. Great quality and really good value. Love the staff. A must try. Colin and Marian

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank colin1289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (20)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 20 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2019

Been here a few times. Service is nominally friendly but essentially indifferent. We get the impression that the servers don't really want to be there (and they certainly don't care if you're there). Food is OK, but nothing to write home about. Greeter is cold and business-like. Probably won't be back any time soon.

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank denver46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2019 via mobile

As a francophile, I LOVE French cuisine! Bon Ami is a wonderful new country-style French restaurant at north end of Wash Park (Alameda and Pennsylvania). They have only been open for about six months.

Especially since Le Central closed a few years ago, Denver should warmly embrace this great new affordable French bistro!

Happy hour is amazing! (M-F 4PM-6PM) We set a reservation for 6 p.m., but got there about 20 minutes early. Discounts include half-off bottles of wine, and $10 shareable appetizers! (Get the mussels!)

Wine: they have a great selection of French wines at an affordable price point, especially when they're half off! We tried a full-bodied Cab-Sav from the Bordeaux region. It was excellent!

The wait staff was very attentive and helped make some great recommendations. We settled on sharing the moules at frites prepared in a garlic cream sauce. The mussels tasted very fresh, and the sauce hit the spot! They also offer a tomato sauce version. The fries were thin and crisp served with a mayonnaise sauce, Belgian-style. The mussels are one of the things I miss the most about Le Central, but Bon Ami does an excellent job. Bob ordered a cup of French onion soup. He really liked the flavor! You can tell they spend a lot of tender loving care in that complex recipe!

Aside from the major French staples including Boef Bourginion, Bon Ami offers a very healthy selection of crepes that can be eaten as a full sized entree. Bob ordered the Cordon Bleu crepe served in a mornay sauce, while Travis ordered the La Merise crepe which was filled with beef tenderloin covered in a gruyere cheese sauce. We all agreed that Travis' selection was the best crepe of the two.
I ordered the beef tips entree. I asked for the beef to be cooked rare, and the chef did a great job! It was served like a stew in a red wine, mushroom and cream sauce, pairing nicely with extra creamy and fluffy mashed potatoes along sauteed vegetables.

We skipped dessert completely, but I am excited to see what they offer the next time I visit.

Bon Appetit! They also serve brunch...which sounds so tempting!!!

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank adamsK6587TG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2018

The decor is charming, clean and modern with a hint of humor. The menu, lots of filled crepes and great eggy brunch dishes with filling dinner selections as well, is enticing. Everyone at our table tried something different and each was delighted with her selection. We had a table for 9, and the server handled us with grace. My tablemates praised the patio. This restaurant is larger than it looks, so chances are there is room for you. Parking? Well, that's the only problem, but drive around a little. There is a place for you.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Marty D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2018

One of those cafes that you hear about from friends that when patronizing, the place, it absolutely makes your day (or in our case, it made our evening).
Bon Ami is a real treat. A charming interior and attentive staff. Excellent French menu including an extensive, attractive offering of crepe varieties which we are eager to try on our next visit. We ordered the evening special sole meuniere (excellent - perfectly prepared) preceded by their beet salad. (also, very good). With two glasses of delightful French wine (previously not known to us), they served a small selection of sliced baguette (would have better served warm). The serving staff were attentive and friendly (would, perhaps, like to have had them check on us a bit more often but not off puttingly so).
Highly recommended.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Garykll111105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bon Ami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing