We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Elway's Downtown

Elway's Downtown
Reserve with OpenTable
Elway's Downtown is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #38 of 2,986 Restaurants in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: 18th & Curtis St
Transit: ELWAY'S Downtown is located within walking distance to multiple bus and light rail stops. We are happy to assist in offering directions.
Description: Upscale steakhouse located in the lobby of the hotel
Springboro, Ohio
Level Contributor
258 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

I expected an astronomical price given the location in the Ritz Carlton and as the premier steak place in Denver. Ambiance was fantastic, service impeccable, and the food extremely good. Very reasonably priced. I could have easily spent more, but I had a great steak dinner including dessert for less than $50.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank TheOpsDoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    282
    116
    52
    25
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
140 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“FUMBLE...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

I was in Denver at a meeting at the Ritz and was looking forward to dinner at Elway's. I was brought a Buffalo ribeye instead of a ribeye, which I really did not like. It was over cooked and just was not my thing. I was with clients, so it was totally uncomfortable for me to make a fuss or send my meal back.

I don't think it is asking too much to get the right meal. In fairness, I did not have time to change my meal or give the folks a cnace to recover.

OVERALL AVERAGE

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
65 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great steakhouse”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

Ate here last year while in Denver on business. Started our meal with an order of the lamb chops, which were to die for. Cooked perfectly and spiced nicely, I could easily have made a meal of them. Also ate a rib eye steak which was also quite good. It was tender, nicely marbled steak with a tasty spice rub. Service was very professional and properly attentive.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horse Patch, Wyoming
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Expensive Upscale in Lo Do”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

Hang onto your wallet; this place is very very expensive but the food is top-notch. I had a 10 oz steak it was wonderful. But I was glad my company was paying for it. All I had was the steak (it does not come with anything else, no salad, no potato, no veggies, you pay extra for that but the sides feed more than one). My steak was $28 without tax or gratuity. But I guess when you have a gourmet meal that's the price!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank MeridethInWyoming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Colorado
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Reliably Delicious, Nice Ambience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

This is a place we always go to during Denver Restaurant Week to get an incredible deal on dependably delicious steaks and sides. We've also gone there for special occasions. I haven't been to the bar that adjoins the restaurant, but it seems to be busy all of the time with a slightly older crowd (i.e. not the 20-something club-going set).

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank DenverH33514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Elway's Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing