We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“love to eat here”

Kevin Taylor's At The Opera House
Reserve with OpenTable
Kevin Taylor's At The Opera House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,781 of 3,019 Restaurants in Denver
Price range: $40 - $50
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: 14th & Curtis, inside DPAC
Description: Kevin Taylor's at the Opera House will provide the high caliber dining experience that Taylor patrons have come to expect, with menus designed for the pre-theatre diner, highlighting contemporary American cuisine. The restaurant operates throughout the Denver Performing Arts Complex season, including performance seasons for Colorado Ballet and Denver Center Attractions.
Highlands Ranch, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“love to eat here”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

What a special place to eat and enjoy. Food always special, great for before the theater or just a special treat

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sue O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    6
    2
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best bet for a pre-theater dinner or special occasion.”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

A wonderful restaurant for a meal before events at the Denver Center for the Performing Arts, or a special occasion dinner. The venue is impressive and lovely. Our calamari started was unique - perfectly cooked "rings" and a cold "tentacle" salad - and delicious. Both our entrees - pan seared barramundi with pesto mash, and duck breast and confit leg with risotto - were perfectly done. Attentive service got us to our performance in plenty of time without at all feeling rushed. The covered entrance in the galleria doesn't make the restaurant overly obvious, but it is definitely worth discovering. We'll be back!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PapaGIle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
58 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Extremely poor service ruined good food”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Caveat: we dined there during restaurant week, so only ordered off of the prix fixe menu...

My 2 stars are based on the service and response we got to our concerns, not the food. Food only would have been a 4 star review.

My family was attending a 6:30pm performance of the ballet, and picked Kevin Taylor's at the Opera House for a pre-theater restaurant week treat. Our reservation was for 5:15pm, but we were seated when we arrived a bit early at 5. At that point, we were one of a very few parties seated. Other folks continued to arrive after us. I point this out because it will become relevant.

We ordered quickly, all 3 courses at once. I think we ordered by 5:15 pm. Our appetizers came, we enjoyed them, and then nothing. Our request for more bread had to be repeated, and we had to remind the waitress that the folks at the table who were not having alcohol would also like to order beverages.

Finally, at 5:50pm, we grabbed a waitress (not ours) to find out when we could expect our entrees to arrive. the response was, "Oh, are you going to a show?" (I had written this info down when I made the http://opentable.com reservation, and reiterated it when the restaurant called to confirm our reservation the day before.)

Our food was then rushed to our table, where we gulped it down. As it was a prix fixe menu and we would be paying for dessert regardless, we had them rush that out so we could gulp it down as well. The bill, requested while we were gulping the food down, arrived and was incorrect- with at $40 overcharge! It was quickly taken care of, but on top of everything else, quite annoying.

A ?manager? came over to ask how our meal had been. I commented that it would have been much more pleasant had we not had to rush. And his response was what cemented my negative opinion. "Well, you know, everyone comes in at once and it's hard." Um, excuse me, but doesn't an establishment in the basement of the opera house kind of specialize in well-timed pre-theater meals??? Especially when 90% of the folks in the place are ordering off of the prix fixe menu, with only 4 entree options?? Not to mention the fact that we arrived at 5, and ordered well before most of the other diners had even arrived or been seated?? A simple apology (that did not contain lame excuses) for our less than stellar experience would have gone miles to changing my opinion. Even at the extreme cost savings of restaurant week, I feel like we quite overpayed for our experience.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Samantha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carthage, Missouri
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Disappointing.”
Reviewed June 3, 2012

We celebrated a wedding anniversary with family at Restaurant Kevin Taylor in the Teatro Hotel about 2 years before. Had a wonderful dining experience. We decided to book at KT at the Opera after we had seen Les Miserables. When I booked this through Open Table, we received a phone call prior to the time confirming our reservation. We actually saw a matinee performance so had booked after the show. There were a few other people having a pre show dinner. Service was not that attentive. We had to ask a couple of times for bread. They just seemed like they really could not be bothered to be honest. The food was okay, nothing to shout home about considering the price of the meal which was well over $200 for 3 people. When we left the maitre d made a comment about the restaurant being a "pre-dinner" place, which made us feel uncomfortable at best. It was almost like we were considered weird for making a post matinee dinner reservation. I have to agree with another reviewer on here who stated the restaurant has no atmosphere or ambience whatsoever. Very disappointing and will not frequent this restaurant again.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lizzy515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
146 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Adequate option at the DCPA”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Location is great for any events at the Arts Center. The meal we had may not be the most reliable indicator because it was at a quiet time. The food was nicely prepared and presented; the wine list acceptable. But the setting is totally lacking in atmosphere if it is not busy. The subterranean location needs the buzz of lots of people. Not sure what the service would be like if they are slammed for a pre-opera dinner rush.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank GRW720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kevin Taylor's At The Opera House also viewed

 

Been to Kevin Taylor's At The Opera House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing