We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great afternoon visit!”

Wings Over the Rockies Air & Space Museum
Ranked #17 of 252 things to do in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Wings Over the Rockies Air & Space Museum is Colorado's Official Air & Space Museum. Founded in 1994 and housed at the former Lowry Air Force Base in Denver, Wings is dedicated to inspiring, educating and entertaining the public about aviation and space endeavors of the past, present and future. Visitors will find over 50 aircraft on display, thrilling flight simulator experiences and a learning center dedicated to the expansion of aerospace education in Colorado. The Museum was also named 2016's best event venue in the Denver Metro by Colorado Meetings + Events Magazine.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Stairs / elevator, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
Level Contributor
424 reviews
107 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
“Great afternoon visit!”
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

A very neat place with a good variety of aircraft.
Certainly not the largest aviation museum, but not bad at all! A lot of variety, a lot of military jets, and a lot of cool hands-on displays.
Easily a great value, admission price is very modest.
A great family afternoon outing...and don't miss it if you're an aviation buff as I am.
One of the best features of this place is how close you can get to the aircraft....you can literally walk right up to them, very few barriers inside. Most aircraft museums won't let you within 20 feet of the planes....not the case here!
Clean and well maintained setting, they are friendly here and are obviously happy doing what they are doing!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Mjldly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    206
    58
    9
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome day out with the Family”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

The museum was fantastic!!!! It is definitely one of Denver's hidden gems. Even before you walk inside you are greeted by a full scale B-52 outside and overhead. I have three kids and they vary with age, but there was something to do for all ages. When we walked my kids went nuts when they saw the XWing!! Yes there is an XWing from Star Wars! No Star Wars fan should go without seeing it. The amount of aircraft they house was immense, but we could go right up to them and even sometimes walk underneath them too. They house the Colorado Aviation Hall of Fame, which was my dad's favorite section, as well as the different rooms that were filled with aviation history. There were soo many planes!! There was a child's birthday party going on while we were there, and now my oldest child wants hers there too. Thanks to all of the volunteers that work there, they were so nice and knowledgable, and thanks to the museum staff, my family had a wonderful time, we had so much fun we bought a membership. The price for the membership was more reasonable than other museums and now my family and I can come in all the time, and now were looking forward to May 4th when they celebrate Star Wars the WHOLE day. Dont take my word for it, go check it out, you will not be dissapointed.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank J0hnS45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannibal, Missouri
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A good air museum.”
Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

This is a good place for anyone who likes history/war/planes. There are many airplanes along the side of the giant hanger and there is also a few interactive things, like walking in a space ship and sitting in a cockpit of a plane and a flight game where you fly a virtual plane. I would recommend this museum.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank bigdog054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Grange Park, IL
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Worth the visit!”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

My wife and I visited the museum for the first time after reading reviews about it here and on Yelp. As a B-52 bomber fan, I knew this place was for me after looking at Google Maps satellite views of the place and seeing a B-52 parked right out front. Driving up to the museum, we come upon the hulking mass that is a B-52 posed right in front of the museum. The museum is located inside an airplane hangar from when the area was Lowry Field. After paying the $11 each admission, we proceeded to the museum. The nice volunteer ladies informed us about the many exhibits and displays we would see on our visit. We were then given a map and started our self guided tour. The many military and commercial planes were displayed around the perimeter of the hangar. Signs in front of the planes, bombs and military equipment explained what each was and when it was used. You can't help but smile when you put your hands on a 10 megaton thermonuclear bomb...sorry peaceniks! We watched the Harrison Ford aviation video showing some of the beauty that is Colorado. We spent a total of 2 hours at the museum and enjoyed it. It is not the Smithsonian Air and Space Museum or the Air Force Museum in Dayton, Ohio but airplane fans and/or history buffs will enjoy this museum.

Ken Koren
La Grange Park, IL

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank KPKOREN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
240 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great place to bring the grandkids”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We have visited here several times. The grandkids love it. Sometimes there are hands-on science exhibits for the kids (and you) to try and the volunteers are great at explaining things.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank FrankColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wings Over the Rockies Air & Space Museum also viewed

 

Been to Wings Over the Rockies Air & Space Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing