We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Denver Art Museum

Denver Art Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$29.99*
and up
Mile High Culture Pass
Ranked #5 of 251 things to do in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Known for its wide range of Native American art, this museum also contains the only major Asian art collection in the Rocky Mountains.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Interesting building with some great pieces of art! There was a textile exhibition on while we were there and instead of it all being in one room, parts of it were spread throughout the standing exhibitions - very well presented and very well thought through!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alan_Verhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,446 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,652
    614
    138
    22
    20
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sherwood, AR
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“World class museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

I lived under a mile from this museum and went every time they had a free day. Some of the exhibits stay in place, but alot of it changes. It's definitely a must see - and I'm not a huge museum person.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sharla101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Outstanding Art Museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

The Denver Art Museum (known as the DAM to Denverites) is one of the city's jewels. It has excellent collections of Western and Native American art, and an ambitious schedule of traveling exhibits. Anyone who enjoys art can spend a most enjoyable afternoon at the DAM, especially if it includes a meal at Palettes.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank DebrainDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Spun exhibit not to be missed...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Yes, the Nick Cave portion is amazing, but the Spun exhibit is integrated in to all sections of the museum in clever ways--plus the curators have come up with the best interactive exhibits I have ever seen. They really leverage their collection in interesting ways...

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Annex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Denver Art Museum is Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

I don't understand the comment "boring and not where I would take my kids". This is one of the most "kid friendly" art museums I've seen an where in the world. There are backpacks of things for kids to do, places for kids to play dress up, draw, and make things.

There is a regular turnover of exhibits and a wide variety of choices, from French Impressionists to Van Gogh to many modern and contemporary artists. The DAM has one of the best Native Arts collections, period. For parking there is a structure very nearby that one enters from 12th Street..

For lots to do in the Denver area the app, "Colorado and Denver Day Trips" is really helpful.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Coloradonative8585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Denver Art Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing