We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Creative and Visually Splendid Exhibits”
Review of Denver Art Museum

Denver Art Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$29.99*
and up
Mile High Culture Pass
Ranked #5 of 251 things to do in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Known for its wide range of Native American art, this museum also contains the only major Asian art collection in the Rocky Mountains.
Centennial, Colorado
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Creative and Visually Splendid Exhibits”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

This past year has been a triumph for the DAM. There were the Yves St. Laurent, the Fentress Airport, and the Van Gogh exhibits just to name a few. Outstanding. A don't miss place to visit.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank AnitaJ8737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,479 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,674
    621
    142
    22
    20
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“My Birthday”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

This is a huge museum and I can only take in a few exhibits at each visit. The recent Van Gogh tour was not to be missed. The DAM has a floor dedicated to the Eastern Arts that is quite magnificent. The kid interactive projects are fun and well thought out.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anne33388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kihei
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Off season was the best”
Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

Totally missed the crowds. I had half the place to myself. Interesting exhibit. Definitely check out Native American material. Very much kid friendly.

Helpful?
Thank kiheimaui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mpls, MN
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Western Art Anywhere”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

The American Western art collection is outstanding. The Remington sculptures are not to be missed. Beautiful Rocky Mountain massive paintings gives you a great sense of place.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank outandaboutMpls_MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
312 reviews
230 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Just an average or OK Art Museum”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

I have been to many art museums in US and Europe, so I would rate this as average or just ok. With that said, the museum does have some nice paintings with focus on the American West. I had must missed the Van Gogh exhibit and museum only has a small allotment of impressionist paintings. I did not like the layout of the museum and it seemed a little confusing with the different buildings and levels. If you have time to kill in Denver and weather not great, I would recommend the museum.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank CodyDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Denver Art Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing