We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Museum”
Review of Denver Art Museum

Denver Art Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$29.99*
and up
Mile High Culture Pass
Ranked #5 of 252 things to do in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Known for its wide range of Native American art, this museum also contains the only major Asian art collection in the Rocky Mountains.
West Orange, NJ
Level Contributor
131 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Awesome Museum”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Wow, what great exhibits. The layout of the museum is cleverly designed for good flow through exhibits. Can't wait to go back.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sondra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,517 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,699
    631
    145
    22
    20
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
FORT COLLINS
Level Contributor
345 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Van Gogh's career progression”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Van Gogh exhibit is a must see! reserve online. very popular and sells out. took 7 years to orchestrate the show--very worthwhile. don't miss!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank HARLAND R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very nice Museum”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We went during the Van Gogh exhibit time but had not purchased tickets in advance. They were sold out of tickets and we felt disappointed that we would miss the exhibit. They didn't volunteer the info, but I looked on line while we were in the museum and noticed that they still had tickets available for members at the time we were there. So, we waited in line again and found out that if I purchased a membership that they would sell us exhibit tickets. It was well worth it to see a one time collection of Van Gogh work from all over the world.
We were running short of time so we only got to see about half of the museum, but it would be worth the visit even without a special exhibit. The architecture of the museum itself is amazing.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank dcharlesb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
104 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“"Becoming van Gogh" is worth seeing”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

We made a special trip to Denver to see the "Becoming van Gogh" exhibit. This is an informative exhibit tracing the development of his technique from his early work (which was much like many painters of his time) to his later, unique style.
We did have some time to spend in other parts of the museum. One really needs more than one day there, but we needed to return to Albuquerque. The expanded art museum presents the works in well-lighted, pleasant surroundings. It is definitely a "must see" museum if you are in the Denver area.
We have visited the van Gogh museum in Amsterdam, still we found this exhibit interesting and informative.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank AbqWizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Colorado
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Van Gosh Exhibit”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Oh my, the special Van Gosh exhibit is totally worth taking the time to see. Marvelous display of his work. You must get tickets in advance. If I was to go again I'd reserve a docent. There was so much to see and learn.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank CJpratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Denver Art Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing