We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful regular exhibits and fantastic visiting shows”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Denver Art Museum

Denver Art Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$29.99*
and up
Mile High Culture Pass
Ranked #5 of 251 things to do in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Known for its wide range of Native American art, this museum also contains the only major Asian art collection in the Rocky Mountains.
Boulder, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
133 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Wonderful regular exhibits and fantastic visiting shows”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

I'm a member, and regardless of whether I go for a quick visit or for a traveling exhibit, there's also something lovely and/or thought-provoking to enjoy. The building's architecture is fascinating and the gift shop is nice as well. A masterpiece!

I really enjoyed the Becoming Van Gogh exhibit, which was a project created by the Denver Art Museum. Kudos!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Laurel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,446 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,652
    614
    138
    22
    20
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Discovering Van Gough exhibit was excellent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

The permanent collection is heavy on western and native American art; not of great interest to me, but the special exhibit - Discovering Van Gough - was superb!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank CCofMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarsdale, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Try to see “Becoming Van Gogh””
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

Was visting family and saw there was a “Becoming Van Gogh” exhibit. I live in NY and get to museums several times a year. IN NY for any special exhibits visitors are 3 and 4 deep. It was wonderful to walk through this exhibit at a leisurely place with no lines. It was also a unique collection of Van Gogh because they wanted to show his development, not his major pieces. They were successful at doing this. Many pieces were from private collections and from periods of his work I never knew, just as Japanese influence.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lissa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Motion Sickness”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

I used to work for the art museum. The old musuem was cool...the chiming entryway, the openness. The new museum floors are the same shape as the outside of the building. It's weird. I got dizzy walking around the higher exhibit floors - too many angles and too little floor space. The GIANT sculpture of a broom and dustpan outside the main entrance to the museum is tacky! Just because a designer is famous does not mean he's a great designer. The structure is ugly but the exhibits are still good!

Helpful?
Thank PJB333312741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearmont, Missouri
Level Contributor
112 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“So, so much to enjoy.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

The building housing these collection is intriguing. The content matches the uniqueness of the design. One could spend many, many days and still not begin to scratch the surface.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank SeeCMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Denver Art Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing