We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small museum; OK for an 1 hr” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Denver Firefighters Museum

Denver Firefighters Museum
Ranked #56 of 247 things to do in Denver
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: History of firefighting from the early 20th century to present day told through a collection of firefighting equipment, uniforms and other memorabilia.
West Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Small museum; OK for an 1 hr”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Does a nice job of succinctly portraying Denver's firefighting history, but is mostly geared toward young (< 6 years ago) kids, especially the components that are interactive. Interpretive signs are extremely wordy and difficult to get through. Nice staff. A kids' birthday party was happening during our visit and the small children could be heard throughout the building.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ex626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    46
    9
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
139 reviews
105 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
“Better than some other reviews indicate”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

I thought this was a very good small museum. I'm not sure what others were expecting from an old firehouse. The personnel were very friendly, and when I was there, there were kids galore...and having a ball. There a variety of fire fighting equipment from seemingly ancient to a great mid-1900s fire truck. There's also quite a bit of fire fighting communication equipment, which was pretty interesting. Perhaps more could be done with the second floor, though. The museum is within walking distance from the 16th Street Pedestrian Mall and just a block away from the Denver Mint, so it's a convenient location. I'm sure it's not for everyone, but I enjoyed it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank vinlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ushuaia, Argentina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a great find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

This is a great place, especially for children. The entrance fees were very affordable and the exhibits were quite interesting. You can complete a visit in 1-2 hours at most and there are great hands-on activities for kids. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We went on a Saturday at about 11 AM and almost had the place to ourselves.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Lunas, New Mexico
Level Contributor
81 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Aweshum!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

a great look at the evolution of firefighting history and equipment. I and my family had a great time.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank jcfjeemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect for kids!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

This museum is a blue star museum - free for
Military families Memorial - Labor Day. We were planning to go anyway, but free makes it even better! Perfect for little kids, I have a 1 and 4 year old and we were there an hour. Everyone was happy and liked dressing up and playing on the fire truck.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Milspouse2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Denver Firefighters Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing