We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A MUST-SEE IN DENVER”

Denver Museum of Nature & Science
Book In Advance
More Info
$29.99*
and up
Mile High Culture Pass
More Info
$91.97*
and up
Denver Guided Sightseeing Tour on Motor Scooters
Ranked #4 of 255 things to do in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Denver Museum of Nature & Science is the Rocky Mountain region’s leading resource for informal science education. A variety of exhibitions, programs, and activities help Museum visitors experience the natural wonders of Colorado, Earth, and the universe.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Orange Park, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A MUST-SEE IN DENVER”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Spacious environment. Something for the entire family. Plenty of seating available and easily accessible. Interactive for all ages. Well worth the modest entrance fee. Haven't been there yet? Why wait? Go before the Mayan exhibit leaves. Thank you Denver for providing such an intellectual and visually stimulating experience!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank OPDramaQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,099 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,121
    757
    179
    30
    12
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, CO
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wonderful Museum!”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

This is one of my favorite museums in Denver. It is a fantastic museum for anyone living in Denver or just passing through. The museum houses a variety of exhibitions, programs, and activities educating visitors about the natural history of Colorado, Earth, and the universe. The exhibitions that pass through every year are fascinating. I took my parents to see the Mayan exhibit over the weekend. Despite the crowds at the ticket office, the museum has timed entries to the exhibits to avoid overcrowding and allowing for a pleasant experience. The museum has an IMAX theater as well as a Planetarium. I have viewed shows in both theaters and enjoyed them all. Visitors can treat themselves to a souvenir at the museum shop and stop for a bite to eat in the T-Rex cafe. The museum is open 7 days a week year-round, with the exception of Christmas. Museum hours are 9 am - 5 pm. Ticket prices for an adult visitor are $13 with additional fees for traveling exhibits, IMAX shows, and the planetarium.

The only drawback to this museum is the fact that some of the permanent exhibits appear a little outdated.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank summerchill13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good overall visit”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

I grew up going to this museum, and I still love visiting. I brought my husband, who grew up out of state, and he enjoyed the visit. However, when I took him to the hall of life exhibit, it was disappointing to see that about half the stations were out of order. All the other exhibits were fine, but since that one is more interactive, I was sad that we couldn't do much in it. I hope they get it back in working order (if they haven't already!) Hopefully next time we go, it won't be a on a crowded free day, and we can also afford to go to the planetarium or IMAX (or both!), since they are both well worth visiting.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank jelancaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Mayan Exhibit”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

An excellent exhibit, very interesting and informative. Great for ages from elementary school and up. Beyond this exhibit, the museum has many fine areas that make it a worthwhile day visit.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank BobL2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Well Worth a Visit”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

The Denver Museum of Nature and Science is one of the City's treasures. There are a number of permanent exhibits such as Egyptian Mummies, Expedition Health, Gems and Minerals, and several others. In addition they have traveling exhibitions, such as the present (winter-spring 2014) Maya Exhibition, Ramses exhibition and others in the past. Most of the exhibits are interactive and of interest and fun for school age children. In addition there is an IMAX theater and Planetarium in the building.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank cubanal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Denver Museum of Nature & Science also viewed

 

Been to Denver Museum of Nature & Science? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing