We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interaction”

Denver Museum of Nature & Science
Book In Advance
More Info
$29.99*
and up
Mile High Culture Pass
Ranked #4 of 251 things to do in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Denver Museum of Nature & Science is the Rocky Mountain region’s leading resource for informal science education. A variety of exhibitions, programs, and activities help Museum visitors experience the natural wonders of Colorado, Earth, and the universe.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Clovis, New Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Interaction”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

Good place to visit with many exhibits, but not as interactive as other like museums I have visited across the country. My kids loved the expedition health and space exhibit due to the hands on stuff. The rest of the exhibits were good, but for a one day trip it is a lot of reading for younger kids so they lost interest after awhile. It would be a better experience if you lived in Denver and had a annual pass and could spread out the exhibits.

Helpful?
Thank Zannard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,925 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,012
    709
    165
    27
    12
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Zoo!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

The layout of the zoo was exceptional and the habitat for each section seemed so open. Truly a positive environment to see the lions in what would be considered a very open space. Family friendly!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MzGlobetrotting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suz82398
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“DMNS Excellent way to enjoy a tax write off!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

We were going to be making a field trip to the DMNS with my daughter's 5th grade class of over 100 kiddos - so we renewed our membership. The entire annual membership fee is a tax write off, and I don't think I have ever had so much fun with a write off!! The museum was very organized from the minute we arrived. They had employees politely / professionally greet us as we arrived, they had little "carts" for the kids to put their coats / lunches into- that were labeled with the school's information and they would be kept under "watch" so that everything was secure.

The kids were moved from exhibit to exhibit smoothly. They were told exactly what was important to note - and the extra little tidbits that some of us "older folk" like to know. We were there for only a few hours - and we were able to complete a lung dissection, see / complete the health exhibit, and a few other smaller exhibits - and of course lunch. For over 100 kids to be able to ALL experience ALL of those exhibits, be treated with the utmost professionalism and courtesy - in such a short time - I was VERY impressed.

The kids themselves were extremely impressed - and were all asking to have additional trips as soon as possible.

Our membership was about $100 +/- a bit. That covers a party of 7 anytime we would like to visit the museum. We receive steep discounts on any additional special events and exhibits that we would like to see. We receive a % off at both the cafe and the gift shop, as well as some additional tickets to share with friends. I believe there are also additional museums across the US that we can get free admittance to due to this membership as well - but I would need to glance back through the welcome packet to be sure.

Normally I think getting lunch at museums is pretty pricey - but our group of 5 (1 small child) each ate a pretty large lunch, drink, and a couple of desserts for under $35!
The gift shop is a bit pricey - but honestly not that bad at all - we have definitely seen much higher prices at other locations.

I would definitely suggest that if you are a resident - or just visiting the Denver area - it is worth your time. If you are a member you can take your time and spend a long time at just a few of their attractions because you could go back ANYTIME. If you don't have a membership - plan on several hours of entertainment - the exhibits, the hands on activities, the IMAX - it's just too much to try and take in with only an hour or two.

Don't forget to save your receipts - the membership and several other of your purchases are considered a tax write off for your taxes!!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank suz82398
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lots to see!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

Great for kids! Informative and interactive with an assortment of exhibits! Also enjoy the exhibits that are always changing!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank renae0228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great for kids!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

wonderful hands on experiences and fun exhibits around every corner.... we had a group of children from age 3-11 and all of them were involved with the exhibits!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank mandtmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Denver Museum of Nature & Science also viewed

 

Been to Denver Museum of Nature & Science? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing