We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I Love This Museum”

Denver Museum of Nature & Science
Book In Advance
More Info
$29.99*
and up
Mile High Culture Pass
More Info
$91.97*
and up
Denver Guided Sightseeing Tour on Motor Scooters
Ranked #4 of 255 things to do in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Denver Museum of Nature & Science is the Rocky Mountain region’s leading resource for informal science education. A variety of exhibitions, programs, and activities help Museum visitors experience the natural wonders of Colorado, Earth, and the universe.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“I Love This Museum”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

I think the Denver Museum of Nature and Science is one of the best of its type I've seen in the nation. It's beautifully situated in City Park. The museum is huge, with spectacular dioramas of wildlife scenes. I enjoyed the planetarium show as well.The attached cafeteria had a decent salad bar. This was a wonderful place to spend a snowy Denver day.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Eric R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,166
    773
    182
    29
    13
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great experience ”
Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I haven't been to very many museums so we don't have much to compare to, but we were really impressed. We had a great day, we got the museum, IMAX and planetarium packet. The IMAX was amazing, we got popcorn and a drink for a very reasonable price. The facts that you learn from these movies are so interesting. The planetarium was a bit of a let down though, maybe it's because we are adults but it seemed very basic, and the presentation seemed a little rushed and short. It was still pretty cool to sit back and have an almost 360 view. The museum is wow, huge. You definitely need a whole day to explore it all. There are so many interesting exhibitions, like the dinosaurs, the Egyptians mummies, the wild life, gems, etc. some of them are a little bit confusing, and you have to go around weird circles to get to see all of it. There is a high space exhibition in which kids can play and do hands on experiments and such. If I was a kid this would be such a ppl place to go! Oh there is also a health fair type thing, in which you get to go from station to station to get your heart rate measure, your heigh, walking speed, your old age face and much more.. All of that with information about the human body.

Like I said, it is a great place, mainly for kids but also so much fun and interesting for adults!

Helpful?
Thank rnana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“It's a nature museum”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

What's not to like? History, science and potential all in one place. Plus it has an IMAX cinema, where I saw my very first IMAX movie, actually, way back in 1996.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank jillpatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
127 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“So much to see”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

There was a vide variety of things to see such as dinosaurs, gems and natural history exhibits. Our 22 month old loved the Discovery Zone and all of its hands on activities. We're members of our local scinence museum in Oklahoma, which has reciprocity with the Denver Museum of Nature and Science so our visit was free.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Graciedottie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deale, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Space- a fun place to visit”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We spent a lot of time at the space exhibit. They have a projection planetary ball that is fabulous. They are able to put up a variety of views from Mars to Venus to Earth projections of the future. It was fantastic. Just come armed with ideas of what you'd like to see. We also viewed the gems and minerals exhibit and couldn't help shouting "Rock Show" as we entered. A worthwhile museum.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank cattinaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Denver Museum of Nature & Science also viewed

 

Been to Denver Museum of Nature & Science? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing