We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not good barbecue!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Famous Dave's

Famous Dave's
Ranked #299 of 2,977 Restaurants in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Stapleton
kansas city
Level Contributor
111 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Not good barbecue!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

We ate here on July 4th. The four of us sat at the bar. Bartender was very friendly. The ribs were tough and hard to eat. The pulled pork sandwich was fatty and some of the pieces were as tough as jerky. It is pretty pricey so it was not a good value for us. We are from Kansas City so we know what good barbecue should taste like. This was not it on this night.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kansaskristy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    53
    23
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Level Contributor
165 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Finger lickin good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

Always good food. A busy place but the service is good. We really like the sampler platter, served on a trash can lid, or the riblet basket.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zurich
Level Contributor
104 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Chain bbq, average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

This place is as much about the marketing as the food - the type of place where they are assaulting you to try their signature appetizer the minute you sit down.

What i liked - variety and a classic bbq menu, nice atmosphere, quantities are large.

What i didnt like - food average, very much a chain. Dishes have wax paper lining, which is ok (bbq shouldnt be fussy) but the food was a bit soggy and once the paper got wet you shouldnt cut the food without getting bits of paper on your fork. Also, i ordered soup, and two minutes after it was delivered my entree came. The meat quality was ok but the flavor wasnt overly impressive.

I ate there at 5:00 on a Saturday, by 5:30 there was a large crowd waiting for tables. Its alright for a chain, but its certainly not authentic bbq.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank photoguyZurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Twice in a week”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Went to Famous Dave's twice in as many days, since the people I was with really liked it. I'd never been before.

Thought bringing bbq chips out with bbq sauce was a little weird. The pulled bbq chicken sandwich was good, though I would have cut back on the cheese and sauce. It dripped out the back of the sandwich each time.

Staff friendly and helpful.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank ann d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle, Colorado
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

I've never eaten at a Famous Dave's until now and I was pleasantly surprised. We ordered the cheese curds as an app and they were perfectly fried. The best I've ever had. I had a brisket burger & fries, my husband had ribs and our daughter had chili and a Caesar salad. The chili was great and the burger was delicious. I didn't get a chance to try the ribs but heard they were good too. We ordered banana pudding and bread pudding for dessert and they were very good too. Try it!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank lizard22222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Famous Dave's also viewed

 

Been to Famous Dave's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing