We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Looked, smelled and tasted good.”

Jim 'N Nick's Bar-B-Q
Ranked #157 of 3,002 Restaurants in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American, Bar, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Stapleton
Description: Southern Bar-B-Q in Denver, Colorado. Meats are slow-smoked for 24 hours around the clock. All trimmings are made fresh from scratch daily (not one freezer in the whole building). Dine In, To Go, Drive Thru, Private Dining, or Catering available.
Springdale, Arkansas
Level Contributor
78 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Looked, smelled and tasted good.”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Out with friends while in Denver and decided to try Jim 'N Nicks. Cold beer on tap with a half slab of babyback ribs, beans and fries will usually make me happy. I was pleasantly surprised at the amount of meat on the ribs. With tip I spent $30 for my meal and I felt I got my $s worth. The waitstaff was excellent and the food came out quickly.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    67
    27
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cody, Wyoming
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Glad to Have Discovered This”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stumbled upon this while looking for a place to have dinner, and wound up going back the next day also. It was very crowded, which shows how popular it is. The wait staff was uniformly friendly and very willing to offer recommendations from the menu. I strongly recommend trying the Deviled Eggs appetizer, the Fried Green Tomatoes, and the BBQ Chicken with its unusual, authentic Southern-style white sauce--all were excellent, especially the chicken, which was done to perfection! I also had the Fried Catfish, which had been highly recommended, but which was just OK, as were the Cole Slaw and Baked Beans. Just about anyone should find something to like here.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WyoFanCody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erlangen, Germany
Level Contributor
130 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Everything was perfect”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

A restraurant always full of peaple but very friendly staff and after a short time you will get a table. Delicious food, great atmosphere we loved this place

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JAGOLF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle WA
Level Contributor
596 reviews
399 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Good BBQ, Deviled Eggs and Macaroni! Servers are fun too!”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

I took a few business clients here for lunch. The BBQ was very good and cooked just perfectly. The lunch entrees are very inexpensive and you get huge portions. The staff was friendly, fun and made our experience very food. Try the Deviled egg appetizer! I enjoyed the macaroni and cheese. Also the bbq sauces are really good. Don't miss out on trying the sweet rolls they serve. I would definitely stop here again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TikiTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
70 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Food is ok, good service”
Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

If you're hungry this BBQ joint will hit the spot, but only just. Food is ok. It's not bad, but it's not mouthwatering excellent either. Atmosphere is nice and the service was good as well. We're staying in Denver for several days, but we aren't that impressed that we will return here for dinner or lunch.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sugarsweet_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Jim 'N Nick's Bar-B-Q? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing