We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic Property Next To Performing Arts Center”
Review of Hotel Teatro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Teatro
Ranked #33 of 158 Hotels in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We had a wonderful three-night stay at this historic boutique hotel. The location is fantastic. We walked everywhere: to the Pepsi Center to see the Cirque du Soleil show, The State Capitol, the Denver Art Museum, and the 16th Street Mall. The hotel is surrounded by restaurants. We dined at Rioja and Tamayo and both were excellent!

Our room felt more like a studio apartment (minus the kitchen) than a hotel room and was superbly comfortable and looked freshly remodeled. A tiled entry foyer contained two closets and counter space, and led to the large bathroom (soaking tub, separate shower and single sink with a very long counter), while down two stairs was the sleeping area (bed, built-in desk, loveseat, tables). Not especially large but the high ceilings made it feel more spacious. Lots of windows for natural light with excellent room darkening curtains. Definitely not your typical hotel room.

Because of the size of the hotel, the fitness center was quite small and contained two or three cardio machines, some free weights and a bench. With three guests already in the gym it was at maximum capacity so we inquired at the front desk about other options. We were directed to an outstanding, brand new full-service facility just a couple of blocks away and although there was a charge of $15 per day, it was worth every penny of it. Better than any hotel gym and we had two great workouts there. Tons of cardio and strength training equipment, as well as yoga/spinning/aerobic classes and a pool.

Next time we visit Denver, we'll definitely seek out Hotel Teatro again. We enjoyed the quiet intimacy of it and loved all the beautiful architecture. A gem!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaxandmci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,230)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Teatro
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

704 - 710 of 1,230 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2013

Had two rooms for a family of four for a night. Very nice place and it seems like a great location with many great restaurants within walking distance. Nice bar on the first floor and our rooms were of sufficient size. Easy walk to Larimer square. Well kept up place. Would definitely consider again when back in Denver.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank MJN63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Staff is outgoing, friendly and helpful. The room was very good with the balcony, but you just see other buildings in downtown Denver and the balcony is very narrow. Location to Larimer square is a definate plus. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: Use the valet parking...Parking in down town Denver is pricey and hard to come by.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skiNebraska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

. This was probably the worst hotel stay of my life. It "looks" pretty but that's where it ends. There are zero amenities here. The gym looks as if they had forgotten about it until after the place was built, would have felt very claustrophobic had I actually used it. The room was very small-smaller than rooms I have just recently stayed in, in Paris & London. That wasn't too much of a problem as I don't usually do flip flops in the room. But I do however need & want a good nights sleep. This was the worst bed & pillow I've ever experienced! The pillow even when stacked on top of each other just went flat. I literally rolled into a crease in the bed & could not get comfortable . Theres zero light in the bathroom, had to do my makeup & hair by the window in the room. The price of the room-not even worth a quarter spent. I will compliment the valet guys, were very fast at fetching our car & friendly as well.

Room Tip: Keep looking.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Yolanda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeatroRoomsDirector, Manager at Hotel Teatro, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Dear Yolanda K,
Thank you for your feedback! We do appreciate both positive and negative feedback, as we continually strive to better serve our guests. However, I was quite surprised by your comments about our beds and pillows. In my many years as a manager at Hotel Teatro, I can’t recall ever hearing such a negative review of our bedding. In fact, our mattresses and pillows are one of the most commonly raved about aspects of our hotel, second only to the friendly and attentive service provided by our staff! I actually receive multiple calls and emails each month by recent guests who are interested in buying the exact mattress and / or pillows that they slept on during their stay with us. I do recognize that preferences vary in this area, and I am disappointed to hear that you did not sleep soundly during your stay.
Again, we do sincerely appreciate the feedback, and I will be sure to pass along your kinds words about our valet team!
Sincerely, Jordan Murphy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

My boyfriend treated me to this special little hotel for my birthday as part of a weekend "staycation" and it is absolutely charming. Given it's age and location, don't expect grandiose views of the Rocky Mountains -- you might be looking at roof vents and/or an alley. However, that's part of the charm of any old hotel. It has been beautifully renovated, both restaurants were outstanding and the staff is genuinely friendly. The hotel does offer a free shuttle service to downtown areas and we took advantage of that at very opportunity. In addition, downtown Denver is so walkable and easily accessible that unless you plan on visiting an area outside of downtown, there is no need for your car at all. The rooms are charming and very, very comfortable. Definitely take advantage of their "bubble bath" service in the evening -- it's definitely something you won't find many places. Adorable! I'll find any excuse to come back.

Room Tip: Just know that you are staying in an older building, so rooms are going to be smaller than the large...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MemphisLocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

This is our favorite spot for a weekend getaway. We live in Colorado and love to get up to Denver now and then. Teatro is such a great hotel. The service is top notch and the food is great! They are across from the Four Seasons and they are every bit as attentive as what you will find at FS. The rooms are exceptionally clean with great detail and comfort.

Room Tip: Book one the terrace rooms! Nice balcony in the top floor.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

The hotel is very convenient to access theatres and restaurants. The bed was very comfortable. The room was very "petit" and situated behind the elevators and so beware "ping, ping ping....".
The view was of the ajoining rooftops and roof vents.
When attempting to print out boarding passes in the 24 hour business centre, the General Manager, Mark P., when passing by, was quick to jump in to help offering his printer as the business office printer failed. Mark deserves recognition for his awareness and genuine concern to make hotel guests visit a positive experience.

Room Tip: Beware of "petit" rooms.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Exgardenersinthehood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Denver hotels
Downtown
The Crawford Hotel
The Crawford Hotel
#2 of 158 in Denver
869 reviews
The Oxford Hotel
#5 of 158 in Denver
1,095 reviews
Central Business District
Four Seasons Hotel Denver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
the ART, a hotel
the ART, a hotel
#1 of 158 in Denver
621 reviews
Central Business District
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Teatro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Teatro

Address: 1100 14th St, Denver, CO 80202-2201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Denver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Denver
#17 Romantic Hotel in Denver
#17 Luxury Hotel in Denver
#21 Family Hotel in Denver
Price Range: $211 - $591 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Teatro 4.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upscale, highly regarded business and leisure hotel in downtown Denver, centrally located within two blocks of the Colorado Convention Center, financial district, Denver Center for the Performing Arts, Larimer Square shopping and dining district, as well as the LoDo entertainment district. We pride ourselves on offering the personalized service that keeps our guests coming back. Ideal for business travel, a weekend downtown, romantic getaway, or celebrating any special event, Hotel Teatro is happy to be your "home away from home!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Teatro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Teatro Hotel Denver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing