We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great service.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver
Ranked #16 of 158 Hotels in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 4, 2010

Checked in about noon and were upgraded to a king room. Gorgeous room decor, good size, bed sooo comfortable. Located 2 blocks from the main street (16 st mall). Valet parking $28 overnight.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChicagoCatwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,420)
There are newer reviews for Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,195 - 1,201 of 1,420 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2010

Booked a good rate online, relative to other downtown options. Stayed for one night with wife and 2 teenagers and everyone loved it. Our room was clean, quiet and we really enjoyed the modern/trendy decor. Animal theme was fun too. The 5pm happy hour (wine and lemonade) was enjoyable.
As for parking, we used the street meters in front of hotel ($1/hour) and a garage down the street for overnight ($7), it wasn't a problem. Saved a few bucks over hotel rate.
Wife and kids' have pet allergies and we were wondering about a "pet friendly" label, but all was spotless(My spouse is very picky about this, it passed her test !). Staff was very helpful. Enjoyed the workout gym on 2nd floor, overlooked the street corner. I would stay here again, it was great.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank desertriver99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2010

Got tickets to a play in Denver, and got a great hotel deal on Expedia. The hotel advertises "pet friendly" and sure enough, if you've let them know ahead of time, a blackboard is at the entrance welcoming your pet by name! Dogs, etc were on floors 2-3 (I think). Since we arrived petless, they lent us a goldfish so we would have one in our fifth floor room. The maid fed it. We were happy.

The graphic designs used throughout the hotel were very pleasing. The building is old, but the total remodel was well done, except the floors under the carpets were uneven. We didn't mind.

We loved the appetizers served in the late afternoon - free - with free wine as well. And they weren't junk food but classy canapes. Very very nice.

The Italian restaurant in the hotel (breakfast there too) was terrific. Best coffee in town.

We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChloeHobbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2010

I used to live in Denver and went back for vacation. Because of this I know the area and great places to stay. I choose the Monaco - stayed for three nights and loved it! The staff was wonderful - very helpful, attentive, very knowledgeable and always greeted me by name. The room was super clean, one of the cleanest hotel rooms I have seen.

Free internet - just join their Kimpton in-touch program, which took me 5 minutes and was free. Booked a massage at the Aveda Spa and was equally happy - very nice, clean and amazingly relaxing. I will be staying again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennyaz79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2010

We had to travel to Denver for a dear friend's Memorial. After my daughter and her friends stayed at Eventi in NYC, we thought we'd try another Kimpton Hotel. The Hotel Monaco did not disappoint. From the moment we arrived, the service was outstanding (thanks Logan!). Our room was spacious and so comfortable. I love the bed linens and the bed! The location could not be beat. We walked everywhere, even to Coors Field for a Red Sox vs. Rockies game. We enjoyed room service from the delicious restaurant in the hotel. Everything about the stay was perfect. We were in Denver for a sad event but staying at the Hotel Monaco certainly made our trip comfortable. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1KirstenV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2010

Friendly. Comfortable. Quiet. Classy. Are there enough positive adjectives available to give the Hotel Monaco its due?

Located just off the middle of the 16th Street Mall, this hotel proved to be central to everything. The selection of shops, restaurants, and entertainment -- all within easy walking distance -- was incredible. Long-time Colorado residents, my wife and I were nevertheless amazed by our downtown Denver weekend experience.

Even setting aside its terrific location, the Hotel Monaco was still the best hotel experience we've had in years. The staff was friendly, courteous, and always in good humor. We took full advantage of the complimentary wine and hors d'oeuvres offered in the hotel lobby each evening, and the dining at Panzano was delicious. The room was small, but comfortable and quiet. The rooms with queen beds may be only 300 s.f., but if this is too small for your party, a minor price upgrade to a king bed grants an additional 75 s.f. and ample room room for two. The room was attractively furnished and the bed was comfortable. Noise from the busy street below was almost nonexistent from our 5th floor room.

We couldn't have asked for a better hotel to stay in, and will be actively seeking out Kimpton hotels when making our future travel plans!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FunJunkies95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2010

Don't be put off by the Tripadvisor avg.price/night* displayed - various travel websites offered substantial discounts. We enjoyed 2 nights here at the end of May and were very pleased with the location, so convenient for sightseeing, eating out etc. Our room at the back of the hotel was exceptionally quiet, though we felt that those in rooms close to the 2 elevators or ice machines might tell a very different story.
Parking in the handy lot nearby came to $17 for 24 hours and was an easy 2 minute walk from the hotel entrance.
The 16th Street Mall was better than some posts had suggested, being greatly enlivened by the quirky addition of several pianos, positioned at intervals for anyone wanting to entertain the passing crowds.
A tour of the State Capitol Dome is a great way to orientate, but must usually be reserved in advance.
A $4 trip on the Platte Valley Trolley rewards you with a nice view of Denver's skyline across the river and is a small price to pay to help preserve a piece of history, run by enthusiastic volunteers. What's more, it's right next to the flagship REI store in a beautiful old building, just crammed with interesting stuff.
Would be happy to stay at the Hotel Monaco again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WanderersHappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Denver hotels
Downtown
The Crawford Hotel
The Crawford Hotel
#2 of 158 in Denver
868 reviews
Downtown
Renaissance Denver Downtown City Center Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Oxford Hotel
#4 of 158 in Denver
1,095 reviews
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Denver At Colorado Convention Center
Central Business District
Four Seasons Hotel Denver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver

Address: 1717 Champa St, Denver, CO 80202-2704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Denver > Central Business District , Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Denver
#6 Green Hotel in Denver
#8 Romantic Hotel in Denver
#11 Luxury Hotel in Denver
#13 Business Hotel in Denver
#15 Family Hotel in Denver
Price Range: $183 - $481 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Hotel Monaco in downtown Denver provides an eclectic luxury hotel experience inviting guests to experience an "Urban Adventure.” It captures the city’s history and adventure with the restoration of two Colorado landmark buildings. This boutique hotel, with adjacent award winning Northern Italian Panzano Restaurant and refreshing Veda Spa and Salon, is within easy walking distance of shopping, nightlife, 16th Street Mall, LoDo, Larimer Square, multiple sporting venues and the Colorado Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Denver Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing