We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver
Ranked #21 of 160 Hotels in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The Hotel Monaco is very convenient to downtown Denver. You can easily catch the free 16th Street Mall Shuttle and go anywhere. We were able to take the RTD SkyRide from DIA for $11/pp/each way to Market Street Station, which is only a few blocks from the hotel. Saved us quite a bit on rental car expenses and parking (since the Monaco charges $32/day). I really enjoyed the complimentary wine and appetizers each evening from 5-6 pm. Our room was exceptional - huge king size bed and nice view of the city. The staff was amazing! They were super friendly, calling us by name each time we came through the door, and even went out of their way to help us when we had a problem connecting to the internet (for which they gave us a bottle of wine). I would definitely stay there again if I were visiting Denver.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melody0115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Services_Mngr, Assistant Guest Services Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. We truly appreciate hearing feedback from our guests.

We are so happy to hear that you were able to take advantage of some of the transportation options in the city!

We hope you'll think of us the next time your travels bring you to Denver.

Best Regards,

Lauren Cox
Assistant Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,486)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

878 - 884 of 1,486 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2013

Denver is no exception for the fun, elegant, witty, accommodating Kimpton Hotels. Always in a perfect location...walk to so much...warm and welcoming ...smaller with a great restaurant....front desk and concierge were helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 12Honey12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Services_Mngr, Assistant Guest Services Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your time with us!

It sounds like you had a really great time with us, so we hope you'll be coming back soon.

Best Regards,

Lauren Cox
Assistant Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

downtown denver ...

smaller, comfortable beds, friendly,helpful, relaxing and more ... in a rush i forgot important and valuable item in my room ... they found and kept all for me in their hotel safe ...
we loved it and will visit again and again ...

the only surprise was 32.00 a day for hotel parking ... yikes !!!

Room Tip: ask for an upgrade if they are not sold out for the night ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cosmiced
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Services_Mngr, Assistant Guest Services Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. We really loved reading it.

We are so happy to hear we were able to quickly contact you about your personal belongings that were left behind. We know how important it is to catch that!

We hope you'll be visiting again soon.

Best Regards,

Lauren Cox
Assistant Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Spent five nights at The Hotel Monaco. Great location and very comfortable room. Had trouble with AC but problem was immediately addressed. Loved the availability of bikes every day and the wine and appetizers every day from 5:00 to 6:00 was very nice. Staff could not have been nicer!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KathyPortsmouth_RI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Services_Mngr, Assistant Guest Services Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your time with us. We really appreciate that!

We are so glad you were able to enjoy our complimentary bike program while you were with us to explore the Denver area. We hope you'll be thinking of us the next time you are in town.

Best Regards,

Lauren Cox
Assistant Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We wanted to stay at an upscale hotel at the end of our two-week road trip dominated by motels. We ended up on the top floor, the 7th floor, with a large room, large windows, fussy drapes, and a view of the wall next door. There are tall buildings all around, so view rooms might not exist. We heard the occupants next door. There were two queen beds but only one chair. Housekeeping brought us a second chair when requested.

There was no grab bar in the tub/shower and the tub surface was so slippery it was a little frightening. We asked Housekeeping for a rubber mat but they "no longer carried them". When we checked out we told the Reception staff about what we saw as a problem with the tub and they were very apologetic and comped our valet parking fees for our two nights.

The room had nice finishes, 4 outlets on the desk and lamp for electronics. Ice was on the odd floors. The Business Center is free for boarding passes, otherwise $5.95 for 15 minutes.
There was wine and cheese 5-6pm in the Lobby. We did enjoy room service one night, had the appetizer plate, but stayed away from the mini frig with an airline sized bottle of Grey Goose for $9.72!

The Reception Desk staff and Valet staff were wonderfully courteous and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CreeksideGrassValley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Services_Mngr, Assistant Guest Services Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We truly appreciate hearing both the good and bad from our guests.

We are happy to hear that the majority of your stay was a pleasant one, and we do apologize for the issues you had with the bathroom. We take this feedback very seriously and will use it to better future stays for you and other guests.

We hope you'll think of us the next time you are in the Denver area.

Best Regards,

Lauren Cox
Assistant Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

This seems to deliver first class facilities and service at a very reasonable price. The restaurant downstairs is quite good as well. The lobby has interesting and cheerful painting on the ceiling, and the individual rooms are decorated with a strong attitude in the western vein - things like comforters striped like animal hides on the foot of the bed. The staff are some of the most helpful and friendly we have found anywhere. The location is also ideal, a short walk from all the stuff in the middle of town, including the free downtown shuttle that can take you, for example, to the art museum. They even have free bicycles available - a nice touch. The one criticism we have is that the beds are triple sheeted -- which I know a lot of people prefer -- but made up in such a way that when you pull out the top bundle to get into bed it also pulls out the bottom sheet, so the sheets get loose and rumpled immediately, instead of staying tight on the bottom. Also, perhaps an oversight, the bottom sheet on our bed was too short and left about six inches of mattress cover exposed at the foot, which was less than pleasant. Everything else was truly first class, and perhaps our bedding was an anomaly, or else management will not the problem and correct it - as they seem to have covered everything else.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GilBagnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Services_Mngr, Assistant Guest Services Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience regarding your stay at Hotel Monaco Denver. We really appreciate it!

It sounds like you were able to enjoy many of the fun sights in Denver. We're so glad you were able to take advantage of our complimentary bicycle program to do so!

We hope you'll be staying with us again soon.

Best Regards,

Lauren Cox
Assistant Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I go to Denver often for both business and leisure and I probably do 40-50 hotel nights a year across the country. The Monaco is my favorite hotel in Denver and one best hotels in the Kimpton brand. I used to stay in Kimptons all of the time as I frequent the Bay Area but the brand has started slipping some in my opinion with some of their new acquisitions and management contracts in the Bay Area. You need to be selective about Kimpton's as there is a lot of variation in quality between hotels - the Monaco Denver is consistently excellent - however.

Pros:
1) Well appointed rooms and common areas. Suites are beautiful
2) Excellent service and concierge.
3) Special perks if you are In-touch member such as free bike rentals, mini-bar voucher, and welcome gift (which is usually a bottle of wine or selection of local, craft beers.

Con:
There aren't any really. The only knock is that the location is probably 2-3 blocks off of an "ideal" location closer but it is well worth the extra walk and not a "bad" location by any means.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonnyWat02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Services_Mngr, Assistant Guest Services Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. We really love hearing your feedback.

It sounds like you were able to enjoy many of the fun activities Denver, and Hotel Monaco have to offfer. We hope you'll keep us in mind each time your travels bring you to the Mile High City!

Best Regards,

Lauren Cox
Assistant Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Denver hotels
The Oxford Hotel
#5 of 160 in Denver
1,135 reviews
Downtown
The Crawford Hotel
The Crawford Hotel
#2 of 160 in Denver
949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Renaissance Denver Downtown City Center Hotel
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel Denver
Magnolia Hotel Denver
#46 of 160 in Denver
2,798 reviews
Downtown
the ART, a hotel
the ART, a hotel
#1 of 160 in Denver
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver

Address: 1717 Champa St, Denver, CO 80202-2704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Denver > Central Business District , Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Denver
#8 Green Hotel in Denver
#8 Romantic Hotel in Denver
#12 Luxury Hotel in Denver
#13 Business Hotel in Denver
Price Range: $160 - $373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Hotel Monaco in downtown Denver provides an eclectic luxury hotel experience inviting guests to experience an "Urban Adventure.” It captures the city’s history and adventure with the restoration of two Colorado landmark buildings. This boutique hotel, with adjacent award winning Northern Italian Panzano Restaurant and refreshing Veda Spa and Salon, is within easy walking distance of shopping, nightlife, 16th Street Mall, LoDo, Larimer Square, multiple sporting venues and the Colorado Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelPower, Priceline, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Denver Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing