We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a staff that cares ...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver
Ranked #17 of 157 Hotels in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“a staff that cares ...”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

downtown denver ...

smaller, comfortable beds, friendly,helpful, relaxing and more ... in a rush i forgot important and valuable item in my room ... they found and kept all for me in their hotel safe ...
we loved it and will visit again and again ...

the only surprise was 32.00 a day for hotel parking ... yikes !!!

Room Tip: ask for an upgrade if they are not sold out for the night ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cosmiced
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Services_Mngr, Assistant Guest Services Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. We really loved reading it.

We are so happy to hear we were able to quickly contact you about your personal belongings that were left behind. We know how important it is to catch that!

We hope you'll be visiting again soon.

Best Regards,

Lauren Cox
Assistant Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    842
    350
    110
    38
    30
See reviews for
214
488
100
372
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth,RI
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Spent five nights at The Hotel Monaco. Great location and very comfortable room. Had trouble with AC but problem was immediately addressed. Loved the availability of bikes every day and the wine and appetizers every day from 5:00 to 6:00 was very nice. Staff could not have been nicer!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KathyPortsmouth_RI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Services_Mngr, Assistant Guest Services Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your time with us. We really appreciate that!

We are so glad you were able to enjoy our complimentary bike program while you were with us to explore the Denver area. We hope you'll be thinking of us the next time you are in town.

Best Regards,

Lauren Cox
Assistant Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Valley
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We wanted to stay at an upscale hotel at the end of our two-week road trip dominated by motels. We ended up on the top floor, the 7th floor, with a large room, large windows, fussy drapes, and a view of the wall next door. There are tall buildings all around, so view rooms might not exist. We heard the occupants next door. There were two queen beds but only one chair. Housekeeping brought us a second chair when requested.

There was no grab bar in the tub/shower and the tub surface was so slippery it was a little frightening. We asked Housekeeping for a rubber mat but they "no longer carried them". When we checked out we told the Reception staff about what we saw as a problem with the tub and they were very apologetic and comped our valet parking fees for our two nights.

The room had nice finishes, 4 outlets on the desk and lamp for electronics. Ice was on the odd floors. The Business Center is free for boarding passes, otherwise $5.95 for 15 minutes.
There was wine and cheese 5-6pm in the Lobby. We did enjoy room service one night, had the appetizer plate, but stayed away from the mini frig with an airline sized bottle of Grey Goose for $9.72!

The Reception Desk staff and Valet staff were wonderfully courteous and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CreeksideGrassValley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Services_Mngr, Assistant Guest Services Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We truly appreciate hearing both the good and bad from our guests.

We are happy to hear that the majority of your stay was a pleasant one, and we do apologize for the issues you had with the bathroom. We take this feedback very seriously and will use it to better future stays for you and other guests.

We hope you'll think of us the next time you are in the Denver area.

Best Regards,

Lauren Cox
Assistant Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

This seems to deliver first class facilities and service at a very reasonable price. The restaurant downstairs is quite good as well. The lobby has interesting and cheerful painting on the ceiling, and the individual rooms are decorated with a strong attitude in the western vein - things like comforters striped like animal hides on the foot of the bed. The staff are some of the most helpful and friendly we have found anywhere. The location is also ideal, a short walk from all the stuff in the middle of town, including the free downtown shuttle that can take you, for example, to the art museum. They even have free bicycles available - a nice touch. The one criticism we have is that the beds are triple sheeted -- which I know a lot of people prefer -- but made up in such a way that when you pull out the top bundle to get into bed it also pulls out the bottom sheet, so the sheets get loose and rumpled immediately, instead of staying tight on the bottom. Also, perhaps an oversight, the bottom sheet on our bed was too short and left about six inches of mattress cover exposed at the foot, which was less than pleasant. Everything else was truly first class, and perhaps our bedding was an anomaly, or else management will not the problem and correct it - as they seem to have covered everything else.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GilBagnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Services_Mngr, Assistant Guest Services Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience regarding your stay at Hotel Monaco Denver. We really appreciate it!

It sounds like you were able to enjoy many of the fun sights in Denver. We're so glad you were able to take advantage of our complimentary bicycle program to do so!

We hope you'll be staying with us again soon.

Best Regards,

Lauren Cox
Assistant Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I go to Denver often for both business and leisure and I probably do 40-50 hotel nights a year across the country. The Monaco is my favorite hotel in Denver and one best hotels in the Kimpton brand. I used to stay in Kimptons all of the time as I frequent the Bay Area but the brand has started slipping some in my opinion with some of their new acquisitions and management contracts in the Bay Area. You need to be selective about Kimpton's as there is a lot of variation in quality between hotels - the Monaco Denver is consistently excellent - however.

Pros:
1) Well appointed rooms and common areas. Suites are beautiful
2) Excellent service and concierge.
3) Special perks if you are In-touch member such as free bike rentals, mini-bar voucher, and welcome gift (which is usually a bottle of wine or selection of local, craft beers.

Con:
There aren't any really. The only knock is that the location is probably 2-3 blocks off of an "ideal" location closer but it is well worth the extra walk and not a "bad" location by any means.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonnyWat02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Services_Mngr, Assistant Guest Services Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. We really love hearing your feedback.

It sounds like you were able to enjoy many of the fun activities Denver, and Hotel Monaco have to offfer. We hope you'll keep us in mind each time your travels bring you to the Mile High City!

Best Regards,

Lauren Cox
Assistant Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley Heights, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Hotel Monaco seemed to be in just the right spot. It was not too close to the bustle of 16th Street, but close enough to walk there, along with proximity to walk over to the convention center as well. Most important, the staff was courteous and the bed/pillows were the most comfortable I have had the pleasure to sleep on in months. Thank you Hotel Monaco!

Room Tip: The hotel is generally quiet so no need to chose a room far from the elevator. I stayed quite far f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 101969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Services_Mngr, Assistant Guest Services Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. We really loved reading it.

We're so happy that you were able to enjoy our proximity to many of the great attractions here in the Mile High City. We really hope you'll be staying with us the next time your travels bring you downtown!

Best Regards,

Lauren Cox
Assistant Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

A couple friends and myself went to Denver for the weekend and found this hotel online. From the minute you pull into the hotel, the Valet staff was very courteous and helpful. The checkin process was very quick and the rest of the staff very helpful. I was blown away by the rooms. Very elegant and adequately appointed. This Hotel is right in the middle of everything and easy to go everywhere on foot. Down stairs is a restaurant I believe the name is Panzinis or something like that. They have great food and drinks. I highly recommend this hotel if your ever in Denver.

Room Tip: All rooms are actually very nice. Get the ones facing the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jsalgts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Services_Mngr, Assistant Guest Services Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your time with us. We truly love hearing feedback from our guests.

We're so happy you enjoyed our rooms! We think they are pretty great too.

We hope you'll be staying with us again soon!

Best Regards,

Lauren Cox
Assistant Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Denver hotels
Downtown
The Crawford Hotel
The Crawford Hotel
#1 of 157 in Denver
818 reviews
Downtown
Renaissance Denver Downtown City Center Hotel
The Oxford Hotel
#4 of 157 in Denver
1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Four Seasons Hotel Denver
Hotel Teatro
#21 of 157 in Denver
1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver

Property: Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver
Address: 1717 Champa St, Denver, CO 80202-2704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Denver > Central Business District , Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Denver
#7 Green Hotel in Denver
#8 Romantic Hotel in Denver
#11 Luxury Hotel in Denver
#13 Business Hotel in Denver
#15 Family Hotel in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Hotel Monaco in downtown Denver provides an eclectic luxury hotel experience inviting guests to experience an "Urban Adventure.” It captures the city’s history and adventure with the restoration of two Colorado landmark buildings. This boutique hotel, with adjacent award winning Northern Italian Panzano Restaurant and refreshing Veda Spa and Salon, is within easy walking distance of shopping, nightlife, 16th Street Mall, LoDo, Larimer Square, multiple sporting venues and the Colorado Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Denver Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing