We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver
Ranked #16 of 150 Hotels in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

A really lovely place to stay! Loved my goldfish and the cool bed. The restaurant is super as well....The staff are committed to there work and are very friendly...........In the lobby you will find coffe, the and hot chocolate that you can enjoy in the morning hours with a newspaper next to the cosy fireplace....great!

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank SidseRolskov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Services_Mngr, Director of Guest Services at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks so much for the nice review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Hotel Monaco Denver.

We're also happy that you were able to take advantage of our morning coffee, tea, and hot chocolate service! We have that out each morning for our guests.

Please keep us in mind anytime you find yourself in Denver!

Best Regards,

Parker Sams
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    719
    301
    90
    32
    23
See reviews for
174
412
89
320
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

This is one of my favorite hotels in Denver. I have stayed here a few times and each time I leave I always wonder why I would even think about staying any other place when I'm in Denver.
The staff is amazing, the pet policy encourages a fun atmosphere. I don't always bring my pet, but I still enjoy the Monaco. When I bring my dog it's even more fun. They have a welcoming policy for pets, which removes the stigma I sometimes feel when traveling with our Yorkiepoo.
If you haven't stayed here you should. If you like animals and a friendly place with outstanding service, this is the place to stay in Denver. It's downtown, within walking distance to restaurants, shopping and lots of fun things to do.
On one visit I had a business meeting and the Monaco staff found us a great dogsitter who came to the hotel. My meeting went late and the sitter had to leave, when we returned my dog was at the front desk having a great time waiting for our return.
The rooms are beautiful and comfortable with amazing beds and linens. I can't say enough good things about this hotel. The workout facility is great and open at all hours and has great equipment. I worked out late and there was plenty of cold bottled water, towels, earphones, apples and of course it was very clean as this whole property always is.
This last stay I asked about an upgrade when we checked in and was upgraded to a very comfortable suite. It was the last day of a two week driving vacation and we were beat. The staff seems to always pick up on the mood of the guests. We went to our room and very shortly a bottle of wine was delivered to our room compliments of our bellman.
After having a few nights of mediocre hotels, this was the perfect place for the last night of our vacation. Our dog loves the Monaco as much as we do!

Room Tip: If you need anything ask, the staff is always very helpful. I love having a goldfish in my room. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jkleadville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Services_Mngr, Director of Guest Services at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a lovely review. We are so happy to hear you had a great stay at the end of your vacation!

Your yorkiepoo is as welcome here as you are, and we're glad your dog enjoyed the stay as well!

We hope you'll keep us in mind anytime your travels bring you to the Mile HIgh City, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Regards,

Parker Sams
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I stayed at the Denver Monaco this past week and I gotta say it.. it was my favorite hotel I've ever stayed in. The decor is awesome. The restaurant, Panzano, is insanely delicious- the service was phenomenal and we were treated like royalty. The hotel staff were great. Friendly and helpful and always smiling. Great recommendations from Parker, Dane, and both Laurens! Thank you all! I already miss having my morning coffee by the fireplace in the lobby. What a beautiful trip. I can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Services_Mngr, Director of Guest Services at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Wow! Thank you so much for the fantastic review! It's great to hear such wonderful feedback from our guests.

We're glad you were able to take advantage of our morning coffee and tea service, while enjoying that great fireplace!

Keep us in mind the next time you are in the Denver area! We are certainly looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Regards,

Parker Sams
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Maria, Ca
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

The pets are welcome policy makes a friendly clientele. The staff is kind, helpful, and gracious. We arrived without a pet, and were offered a goldfish to cheer the room. Love it! The decor was unusual and pleasing, a place with a difference (besides the dogs!) Happy Hour was attended by canine and human guests, and again, the dogs made conversation with strangers easy. Breakfast the next morning was delicious with good service. Comfortable bed, nice linens, dog dishes and pad on floor...all made for a relaxing and good stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caro W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Services_Mngr, Director of Guest Services at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

We are so happy that you had a great stay with us. We love hearing great feedback such as yours!

Our wine hour is every evening from 5 PM - 6 PM, so make sure to swing by for that each time you stay with us, and keep an eye out for some furry friends! We love pets, and every time you stay, our "Guppy Love" program is available to you so that you may have a pet goldfish for your stay!

Once again, thank you for staying with us, and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future!

Best Regards,

Parker Sams
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston, Texas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I apologize to the entire Monaco Denver staff for my review being so late as my stay here was in August over three months ago but here goes:

My entire stay was completely flawless. Excellent location if you want to be downtown and be able to walk to many shops, bars, restaurants, etc. I traveled with two large boxers and this was the most pet friendly hotel I've ever experienced. Most hotels, if they take dogs at all, usually have weight/size restrictions basically only allowing small toy breeds.

Food/water bowls and dog beds provided upon request!! Now what other hotel in Denver does that? Even though you are downtown, there is even a nice grassy area up the street to walk your dogs complete with a bag dispenser to clean up after them. They even write your pet's names on a dog shaped chalkboard at the front entrance.

Logan checked me in and I was upgraded to a Mediterranean suite and it was honestly WAY more of a room than what I needed. He was excellent during my entire stay always asking if we needed anything.

I can't say enough about the staff and how great everyone was to us. The valet and front door staff always greeted us and were very attentive.

The standard Kimpton wine hour was particularly pleasant because they also offered snacks and the large lobby area made for a less crowded wine hour than what I had previously experienced at another Kimpton hotel. The staff also seemed to mingle more with the guests during wine hour than my previous Kimpton experience.

Panzano is the hotel restaurant but I'll review it separately.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Services_Mngr, Director of Guest Services at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

We appreciate you taking the time to write such a great review of us! Its fantastic to hear that you had a wonderful time during your stay with us!

We absolutely love having pets come and stay with us, so make sure to bring your boxers each time you visit.

From all of us at Hotel Monaco Denver, thanks so much for staying with us, and we look forward to seeing you, and your four-legged travel companions, again soon!

Best Regards,

Parker Sams
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield, Illinois, USA
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I LOVE the Kimpton Chain. Each Hotel is "Their own", with their own feel. Even though there are other Monaco's in other Cities, Each one is special, and a unique experience. This Monaco is truly great. Staff was great, Room was great! I upgraded my room to the two person tub.... Fantastic. Whenever i travel for fun to cities, and I am not looking to be cheap, The Kimptons are the first I research. Excellent Place Monaco Denver! Highly recommend, and would stay here in downtown Denver in a heartbeat.... FYI: Digging the crazy leather stirrup chairs in the lobby....Please note, did not have time to try out any other Amenities the hotel has to offer.....Missed the free wine hour due to dinner.

Room Tip: IF you can, keep an eye on the the Kimpton's Facebook site, etc. Often there are little perks wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Services_Mngr, Director of Guest Services at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice review! We love hearing about your wonderful experience.

We hope next time you'll be able to take advantage of our complimentary wine hour from 5 PM - 6 PM, but if you are unable to, just swing by the front desk and we would be happy to get you a glass of wine on us!

We're looking forward to seeing you again soon!

Best Regards,

Parker Sams
DIrector of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Colorado
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

On a fluke we decided to spend the weekend in downtown Denver at the Hotel Monaco. We were greeted like old friends with a very warm welcome. My husband answered a trivia question that got us an upgrade on our room. We got a lovely spacious suite. At 5 PM they had wine, chair massage and ordourves in the lobby. I'd be happy to stay there again. It was the friendliness of a B&B with the privacy of a nice hotel. Loved it.

Room Tip: Ask for a trivia question to answer
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CJpratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Services_Mngr, Director of Guest Services at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the great review! It's so nice to hear you had a wonderful time during your stay with us.

Congrats on answering that trivia questions correctly as well! We're happy that you enjoyed that nice upgrade!

We hope you'll think of us anytime you are in the Denver area, and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Best Regards,

Parker Sams
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Denver hotels
Downtown
The Crawford Hotel
The Crawford Hotel
#3 of 150 in Denver
4.5 of 5 stars 529 reviews
The Oxford Hotel
#4 of 150 in Denver
4.5 of 5 stars 908 reviews
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel Denver
Magnolia Hotel Denver
#34 of 150 in Denver
4.5 of 5 stars 2,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Four Seasons Hotel Denver
Downtown
the ART, a hotel
the ART, a hotel
#2 of 150 in Denver
4.5 of 5 stars 292 reviews
Downtown
Renaissance Denver Downtown City Center Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver

Property: Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver
Address: 1717 Champa St. at 17th, Denver, CO 80202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Denver > Central Business District , Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Denver
#6 Spa Hotel in Denver
#8 Romantic Hotel in Denver
#10 Luxury Hotel in Denver
#13 Business Hotel in Denver
#15 Family Hotel in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Hotel Monaco in downtown Denver provides an eclectic luxury hotel experience inviting guests to experience an "Urban Adventure.” It captures the city’s history and adventure with the restoration of two Colorado landmark buildings. This boutique hotel, with adjacent award winning Northern Italian Panzano Restaurant and refreshing Veda Spa and Salon, is within easy walking distance of shopping, nightlife, 16th Street Mall, LoDo, Larimer Square, multiple sporting venues and the Colorado Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Denver Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing