We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect downtown location, excellent staff, large dog friendly!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver
Ranked #16 of 157 Hotels in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Galveston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Perfect downtown location, excellent staff, large dog friendly!!”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

I apologize to the entire Monaco Denver staff for my review being so late as my stay here was in August over three months ago but here goes:

My entire stay was completely flawless. Excellent location if you want to be downtown and be able to walk to many shops, bars, restaurants, etc. I traveled with two large boxers and this was the most pet friendly hotel I've ever experienced. Most hotels, if they take dogs at all, usually have weight/size restrictions basically only allowing small toy breeds.

Food/water bowls and dog beds provided upon request!! Now what other hotel in Denver does that? Even though you are downtown, there is even a nice grassy area up the street to walk your dogs complete with a bag dispenser to clean up after them. They even write your pet's names on a dog shaped chalkboard at the front entrance.

Logan checked me in and I was upgraded to a Mediterranean suite and it was honestly WAY more of a room than what I needed. He was excellent during my entire stay always asking if we needed anything.

I can't say enough about the staff and how great everyone was to us. The valet and front door staff always greeted us and were very attentive.

The standard Kimpton wine hour was particularly pleasant because they also offered snacks and the large lobby area made for a less crowded wine hour than what I had previously experienced at another Kimpton hotel. The staff also seemed to mingle more with the guests during wine hour than my previous Kimpton experience.

Panzano is the hotel restaurant but I'll review it separately.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Services_Mngr, Director of Guest Services at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

We appreciate you taking the time to write such a great review of us! Its fantastic to hear that you had a wonderful time during your stay with us!

We absolutely love having pets come and stay with us, so make sure to bring your boxers each time you visit.

From all of us at Hotel Monaco Denver, thanks so much for staying with us, and we look forward to seeing you, and your four-legged travel companions, again soon!

Best Regards,

Parker Sams
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    845
    350
    110
    40
    30
See reviews for
217
489
100
373
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Plainfield, Illinois, USA
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

I LOVE the Kimpton Chain. Each Hotel is "Their own", with their own feel. Even though there are other Monaco's in other Cities, Each one is special, and a unique experience. This Monaco is truly great. Staff was great, Room was great! I upgraded my room to the two person tub.... Fantastic. Whenever i travel for fun to cities, and I am not looking to be cheap, The Kimptons are the first I research. Excellent Place Monaco Denver! Highly recommend, and would stay here in downtown Denver in a heartbeat.... FYI: Digging the crazy leather stirrup chairs in the lobby....Please note, did not have time to try out any other Amenities the hotel has to offer.....Missed the free wine hour due to dinner.

Room Tip: IF you can, keep an eye on the the Kimpton's Facebook site, etc. Often there are little perks wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Services_Mngr, Director of Guest Services at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice review! We love hearing about your wonderful experience.

We hope next time you'll be able to take advantage of our complimentary wine hour from 5 PM - 6 PM, but if you are unable to, just swing by the front desk and we would be happy to get you a glass of wine on us!

We're looking forward to seeing you again soon!

Best Regards,

Parker Sams
DIrector of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

On a fluke we decided to spend the weekend in downtown Denver at the Hotel Monaco. We were greeted like old friends with a very warm welcome. My husband answered a trivia question that got us an upgrade on our room. We got a lovely spacious suite. At 5 PM they had wine, chair massage and ordourves in the lobby. I'd be happy to stay there again. It was the friendliness of a B&B with the privacy of a nice hotel. Loved it.

Room Tip: Ask for a trivia question to answer
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJpratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Services_Mngr, Director of Guest Services at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the great review! It's so nice to hear you had a wonderful time during your stay with us.

Congrats on answering that trivia questions correctly as well! We're happy that you enjoyed that nice upgrade!

We hope you'll think of us anytime you are in the Denver area, and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Best Regards,

Parker Sams
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

First, allow me to say that I am a real fan of the Kimpton hotel chain... I most cases I have been fully satisfied with every Kimpton I have stayed in (Some exceptions, look at my review history).

But, without a doubt, Denver's Hotel Monaco is a 5 STAR winner!!!

Tip: Always call and ask for a coffee maker at check-in. Sure there is free coffee in the lobby, but I like a fresh cup in my room.

BEST PERK: Free city bicycles for the day! These are nice bikes with helmets and lock... And, Denver is a great city for bikes! WONDERFUL...

The rooms are clean, the place is hip, and the staff is kind...

Why stay at a big chain hotel when you can have the boutique feel with the Kimpton rewards plan too?

Room Tip: Tip: Always call and ask for a coffee maker at check-in. Sure there is free coffee in the lobby, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TradeshowMagician
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Services_Mngr, Director of Guest Services at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for such an amazing review! We're so happy that we were able to make such a wonderful impression on you.

We're really glad you were able to take advantage of our "Ride Like a Local" bike program. Be sure to borrow those bikes anytime you stay with us!

We hope you'll keep us in mind the next time your travels bring you to Denver, and we are looking forward to seeing you again soon!

Best Regards,

Parker Sams
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

I enjoy kimpton hotels, this one is no different.

We arrived here after 4 days of snowboarding in Vail. Yes, we were exhausted. and this staff is so damn friendly!

Check-in was super easy, and our room faced the street, which i love! We only had a few minutes to relax, when we realized that it was time for their wine hour!
Lemme tell ya, their wine hour is outstanding. red and white wine flowed freely, and there was also some bites from the restaurant. delicious.

And hello, also a massage therapist, performing chair massages? bonus!

we hightailed it outta there to go to dinner. and hit some bars.

i think it was past 2am when we stumbled back to the hotel (or did we take a cab?) the night auditor greeted us warmly, as if it were perfectly normal for us to come stumbling back home past 2am, heavily intoxicated.

decor is kimpton kool. strange artwork, hip-(ish) design, slightly quirky.

we left the next morning for a flight at the asscrack of dawn. the girls at checkout were oh-so friendly, and noticed that i was flying back to SF, and started chatting with me about San Francisco. Wow, not only do they do their jobs, they actually pay attention too! impressive.

thanks, mo-NOCK-o. I'll prob'ly be back next winter during snowboard season.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oscarjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Services_Mngr, Director of Guest Services at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks so much for the great review! It is fantastic to hear such great things from your stay with us.

The next time you are in for some snowboarding, we hope you'll stay with us! And don't forget the wine hour, as we have that each and every evening for you from 5-6 PM.

We are looking forward to the snow, and seeing you again soon!

Best Regards,

Parker Sams
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

I always like Kimpton hotels. There free happy hour is always nice. The location of this hotel is great. Rooms were clean and they allowed a late check out at 1pm. My only complaint is the beds were too hard and we had loud neighbors.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xrayeyes7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Services_Mngr, Director of Guest Services at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. I do apologize for the loud neighbors. Please let us know anytime you experience a problem with us, so we may take care of it.

We're really glad you enjoyed our complimentary wine hour. Be sure to swing by that each time you are with us. We host it every night from 5-6 PM.

We hope you'll think of us the next time your travels bring you to the Mile High City!

Best Regards,

Parker Sams
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

I stayed at Hotel Monaco from October 5 to 8. The property is in walking distance to a number of bars, restaurants and retail stores. The rooms are clean and fairly spacious and the lobby is gorgeous. The Veda Spa is connected to the hotel and is reasonably priced (for a downtown hotel spa). The attached restaurant has a very good happy hour. I love the vibe of the hotel and the employees were friendly and helpful. The hotel is also pet friendly for anyone traveling with a dog. My only "nit" is that the shower/toilet could use some serious updating in order to match the effort put into the rest of the room/hotel. I enjoyed this hotel and would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sptaylor73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Services_Mngr, Director of Guest Services at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the very nice review! We enjoy hearing feedback such as yours, as it helps us fine-tune our operations.

We're glad you enjoyed the award-winning happy hour at our restaurant, Panzano as well! Anytime you are in the area, swing by from 2:30 PM - 6 PM for that happy hour.

We hope to see you the next time your travels bring you to Denver!

Best Regards,

Parker Sams
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Denver hotels
Downtown
The Crawford Hotel
The Crawford Hotel
#1 of 157 in Denver
820 reviews
Downtown
Renaissance Denver Downtown City Center Hotel
The Oxford Hotel
#4 of 157 in Denver
1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Four Seasons Hotel Denver
Hotel Teatro
#20 of 157 in Denver
1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver

Property: Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver
Address: 1717 Champa St, Denver, CO 80202-2704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Denver > Central Business District , Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Denver
#6 Spa Hotel in Denver
#8 Romantic Hotel in Denver
#11 Luxury Hotel in Denver
#13 Business Hotel in Denver
#15 Family Hotel in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Hotel Monaco in downtown Denver provides an eclectic luxury hotel experience inviting guests to experience an "Urban Adventure.” It captures the city’s history and adventure with the restoration of two Colorado landmark buildings. This boutique hotel, with adjacent award winning Northern Italian Panzano Restaurant and refreshing Veda Spa and Salon, is within easy walking distance of shopping, nightlife, 16th Street Mall, LoDo, Larimer Square, multiple sporting venues and the Colorado Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Denver Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing