We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver
Ranked #19 of 157 Hotels in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Amazing customer service”
Reviewed January 9, 2008

We had a great time here. Since we were flying back home from Denver, we added one night hotel stay after our Thanksgiving visit to friends and family. The staff were wonderful. We have two small boys and they were treated nicely too. It was lovely having a goldfish guest in our room.
The concierge and the luggage gentlemen were helpful in recommending restaurants for kids. We ended up going to the Spaghetti Factory, which was really perfect for the kids. (Not that the kids were perfectly behaved. At least we felt comfortable to deal with a tantrum there, what a big relief.)
There were plenty of couples at the hotel too, so I would recommend Hotel Monaco it for anyone. We loved the funky rooms, fun and stylish! Oh and the beds were very cozy.

  • Liked — the service
  • Disliked — the breakfast room service high prices
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yellowdahliasf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    857
    355
    111
    43
    30
See reviews for
220
495
100
379
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2008

Another exceptional property with Kimpton Hotels. The hotel staff is courteous, professional, have a great sense of humor and overall make you feel genuinely cared for. From the doorman to room service, this is a top notch property. The hotel staff directed us to some great local spots to check out before attending the Police concert. We came in from the concert rather late, and like many concert goers were ordering a late night snack. The kitchen was sold out of most items, yet, the gentleman whom I spoke with was more than creative in providing a cheese, cracker and grape plate which was just what we needed to top off a perfect night.

Major Kudos to this hotel and staff :)

  • Liked — Everything was great
  • Disliked — Nothing comes to mind
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Duke_Ironstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2007

I had a great experience at the Monaco Hotel. Our office is right round the corner so it was a perfect location plus you are close to 16th Street mall.
The front desk staff were friendly and efficient.
The room was a good size for a business trip and it had great furnishings.
We ate at the hotel restaurant and had a good meal with great service.
I would recommend this hotel if you are staying in Denver and wish to be centrally located.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank MSydney07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland Park, CO
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2007

This was our first time staying at The Hotel Monaco, and it is fair to say we were very satisfied. The Valet and front desk were extremley accomodating and friendly-- I actually felt like they were happy to see us! Fresh Chocolate Chip Cookies were offered as we checked in. The room and property-in-general were in excellent repair. The various ammenities offered in-room and on the premises were generous and/or reasonable. We have stayed at the Mariott, Hyatt, Red Lion and Westin in Denver-- and we definitley preferred this hotel. Very comfy beds too!

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank coloradodude2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 20, 2007

I stayed at Hotel Monaco from October 13 - October 17 in a king deluxe room (smoke free, pet free and very clean), the room was a decent size. Staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel is in a great, central location, just off the 16th Street Mall and within walking distance of the Convention centre, the State Capitol building etc.

I was lucky enough to find a great deal on the room at $139 per night
vs the $224 as posted on other sites. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

My only problem was that there was a large space at the bottom of the door leading to the hallway which allowed a lot of light into the room. I had to put a towel under the door so that the light wouldn't bother me while I was trying to get to sleep.

  • Liked — Comfortable rooms, great location
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CanadianaVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austin
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2007

The Hotel Monaco is ideally located next to the 16th Street Mall, which goes on for blocks and blocks and has a great collection of restaurants and shops. Our room had high ceilings (wow! you never see that in nice hotels these days!) and tastefully done eclectic decoration. They were out of goldfish, so we didn't have a little friend to stay with us for our two days, but the room was cozy and comfortable enough anyway. The bathroom was quite spacious and lavish. Hot water instantaneously at the touch of a button! Bed was comfy ... desk was nicely arranged ... wireless internet was free and easily connected to ... It would be nice if they had a parking garage, but the valet service, although pricey at $25/night, was impeccable. We'll definitely stay there again in the future!

  • Liked — eclectic design
  • Disliked — check-in staff was disinterested and unfriendly
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank bonterra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2007

The decor has stripes on its stripes, but somehow it's whimsical and a teeny bit Alice, not over-bearing. The whole experience (5 nights) was truly pleasant. Yes, they allow pets. And they have a dog-director of pet relations. If you don't enjoy dogs, you can borrow a goldfish. Really. But everything is very clean and in good condition. (BTW, if the presence of pets concerns you, the Four Seasons allows them too)

Evenings they host a comp. happy hour for guests with wine and light snacks. The restaurant is fantastic and rated highly. Breakfast is not included, but it is also at Panzano and includes classics and innovative options. WiFi is included when you are in your room.

We had a junior suite because I was travelling with my mother. It was very spacious and in good condition. The location is fantastic. You can walk to a dozen high-end restaurants and shopping. The valet parking is pricey, but they are fast, courteous, and always offer to give you directions.

Overall, we've stayed in several Denver hotels, and this one had the best combo of personality, intimacy, location, staff, food, and guests. Yes, the guests were nice too - nothing sours a stay in a good hotel faster than when the guests cannot bring themselves to be civil to the staff and other patrons!

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank thrall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Denver hotels
Downtown
The Crawford Hotel
The Crawford Hotel
#2 of 157 in Denver
838 reviews
Downtown
Renaissance Denver Downtown City Center Hotel
The Oxford Hotel
#4 of 157 in Denver
1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Four Seasons Hotel Denver
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Denver At Colorado Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver

Property: Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver
Address: 1717 Champa St, Denver, CO 80202-2704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Denver > Central Business District , Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Denver
#6 Green Hotel in Denver
#8 Romantic Hotel in Denver
#12 Luxury Hotel in Denver
#13 Business Hotel in Denver
#15 Family Hotel in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Hotel Monaco in downtown Denver provides an eclectic luxury hotel experience inviting guests to experience an "Urban Adventure.” It captures the city’s history and adventure with the restoration of two Colorado landmark buildings. This boutique hotel, with adjacent award winning Northern Italian Panzano Restaurant and refreshing Veda Spa and Salon, is within easy walking distance of shopping, nightlife, 16th Street Mall, LoDo, Larimer Square, multiple sporting venues and the Colorado Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Denver Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing