We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Pleasant, relaxing stay in Denver”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver
Ranked #14 of 157 Hotels in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
The Villages, Florida
2 reviews
“A Pleasant, relaxing stay in Denver”
Reviewed May 27, 2011

We stayed at The Hotel Monaco in Denver, CO for 3 nights. From the valet, front desk, management, bell hops, maids,and all employees that we met at the hotel were very helpful, friendly and courteous.
We felt very comfortable and at home.
The wine hour in the evening was particularly relaxing and enjoyable.
Our bed was cozy and comfortable. We did enjoy a suite which was roomy and nicely furnished. A very relaxing decor.

Room Tip: Ask to be a way from the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth1939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Services_Mngr, Front Office Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver, responded to this review, May 29, 2011
Hello!

Thank you so much for your great review on our property! We appreciate the feedback and are pleased to see you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We really focus on providing exemplary service to all of our guests!

We look forward to accomodating you soon!

Warm Regards,

Parker Sams
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    817
    345
    103
    37
    28
See reviews for
208
466
99
366
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2011

There's always a lower-priced option than a Kimpton property, but sometimes you want to live a little, right? Monaco's another great Kimpton hotel right in downtown Denver.

Hotel Monaco manages to pull off being elegant, but casually chic and welcoming. As I expected, my room was bold but relaxing and the linens left me thinking I need to upgrade my bedding at home.

The bathroom brought a smile to my face, with a separate stall shower, fluffy towels and Aveda products.

Staff was warm and efficient, without the attitude that sometimes accompanies boutique hotels and trendy restaurants.

Joining the loyalty program will get you free wifi, but there's no escaping the parking fees: $29 daily for valet parking, exclusive of tips.

One of these days I'm going to take them up on the in-room goldfish.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bukwaas, MA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2011

Price - $119 on Hotwire.

Internet – Make sure you register for the Kimpton InTouch loyalty program ahead ot time, to get a free WiFi login email provided upon checkin for use throughout the hotel. Download speeds were acceptable enough to comfortably use VoIP.

Location – Less than 5 minute walk to the free shuttle, shopping & restaurants on 16th St. Great location for this hip and happening recently renovated boutique hotel, less than 10 minutes from the convention centre.

Transportation – I elected for the hourly $11 RTD Skyride, which picked me up 5 minutes away on departure. The 45 minute coach ride was roomy, and luggage was stored under the bus by the driver, with a receipt provided if needed. I heard that the SuperShuttle was jam packed and took 90 minutes with all the waiting and stop offs to get one to their downtown location.

Room – A front desk member personally came upstairs to upgrade me from a double queen room next to the elevator to a massive higher level one bedroom king suite. Super high ceilings and décor made me feel like I was in an Austin Powers movie, although I thoroughly enjoyed the funky designs (including that in the uber cool main lobby). The jet tub is huge, although the backsplash is a bit simple. The Aveda products provided are a nice touch. Oh, and you’ll love the free goldfish bowl that they personally bring to your room.

Management – The intern at the front desk was the perkiest and friendliest checkin person I’ve met in years. She was well supported by another staff member.

Fitness – Free but congested gym on the 2nd floor with a couple of treadmills, exercise machines, free weights and no cable/weight. Grab a free apple and fill up your water bottle from complimentary water cooler while you’re there!

Food – Free wine, hors d’oeuvres and 5 minute neck & shoulder massages in the lobby everyday between 5 pm to 6 pm! I used the free beverage coupon provided in the room towards my $6 cereal & toast breakfast at the hotel restaurant. Service was a bit awkward as I was placed at the bar (no napkin or utensils provided, etc.) due to a ‘5-10 minute wait’, even though people right after me were seated within 1-2 minutes. No free coffee in the room, surprisingly.

Room Tip: Ask for a free upgrade to the king 1 bedroom suits
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bukwaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Services_Mngr, Front Office Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver, responded to this review, May 18, 2011
Thank you so much for your feedback and review. We appreciate you taking the time to to share with other travelers the hightlights of your recent stay with us.

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Hotel Monaco Denver we would like to thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!


Parker Sams
Guest Services Manager
Hotel Monaco Denver
1717 Champa Street
Denver CO 80202
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2011

We stayed three nights at the Hotel Monaco for business. From check-in to check-out, the staff was tremendous. Such attentive and personal service. We were blown away. Our room was lovely--quiet, spacious, beautifully decorated. The hotel is just a block of the 16th St. mall and it's free tram. Getting around was a snap.
Their restaurant, Panzano, was also outstanding. The menu was great, the food was terrific and well presented. The open kitchen was a treat.
We'll go back to Denver just to stay at the hotel and eat at the restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wootie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2011

Very comfortable, really spacious room. But the best of all was the service, very friendly staff. In the evenings they offer wine and canapes at the lobby so you can enjoy and meet other guests.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YasminaOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2011

Great location, just a block from the famous 16th Street Mall, and close to basically everything. Only 4 blocks from the Denver Center for the Performing Arts. Very nicely decorated. However, our room had no dresser (only 3 small drawers next to the microfridge) and no clock. I would honestly say that there are many more top rated hotels within just a few blocks probably with better amenities.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glaekentx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
179 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2011

nothing but great things to say !! great customer service, great location, clean rooms -- keep up the great work !!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AtravelJunkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Denver hotels
Downtown
The Crawford Hotel
The Crawford Hotel
#2 of 157 in Denver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
Downtown
Renaissance Denver Downtown City Center Hotel
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel Denver
Magnolia Hotel Denver
#35 of 157 in Denver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
the ART, a hotel
the ART, a hotel
#1 of 157 in Denver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
The Oxford Hotel
#4 of 157 in Denver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,060 reviews
Hotel Teatro
#21 of 157 in Denver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver

Property: Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver
Address: 1717 Champa St, Denver, CO 80202-2704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Denver > Central Business District , Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Denver
#6 Green Hotel in Denver
#8 Romantic Hotel in Denver
#9 Luxury Hotel in Denver
#13 Business Hotel in Denver
#15 Family Hotel in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Hotel Monaco in downtown Denver provides an eclectic luxury hotel experience inviting guests to experience an "Urban Adventure.” It captures the city’s history and adventure with the restoration of two Colorado landmark buildings. This boutique hotel, with adjacent award winning Northern Italian Panzano Restaurant and refreshing Veda Spa and Salon, is within easy walking distance of shopping, nightlife, 16th Street Mall, LoDo, Larimer Square, multiple sporting venues and the Colorado Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Denver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Denver Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing