We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hot plate burner is not a kitchen” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Melbourne International Hotel & Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Denver
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Melbourne International Hotel & Hostel
Ranked #9 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Denver
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A hot plate burner is not a kitchen”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

I have often stayed at this place when doing an overnight in Denver. The place is old and it has a long term guest policy. The long term guests are mixed bag. You can meet some cool travelers from other parts of the country, or transient, state welfare people who are on some half-way house transition. The hostel is right near downtown and some cool bars, which is a good thing. There is an eclectic Mercury Cafe nearby that serves decent food and coffee. Some of the workers there are a little rude because it is one of the main hipster places in the city. The bald guy manager with glasses is not friendly and somewhat rude.

The problem with the place is the kitchen. The management are too cheap to get a stove or an oven. There is only a microwave and a hot plate. The hot plate doesn't even work that well. A hostel can do better than that.

The private rooms are decent and they have room, but there are no private bathrooms. They have sinks, a thin bar of soap and a towel. You will have to share the bathrooms with all of the other guests, so bring flip flops for the showers.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Salina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    6
    7
    3
    15
See reviews for
1
2
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

Spent about a week there when I showed up in Denver looking for a job. I was just a kid. No shortage of street kids in Denver, but I had enough for a private room. The place downstairs back then was a laundromat. The guy who owned it was a former astronaut, great guy who heard I was lookin for work. He clipped out classified ads for me and gave them to me every morning. Don't know if the fellow is still with us, but he was a good guy. Back then, every private room had a metal cage door inside the regular door. So at night it was a little like being in jail. But on the other hand it was safe enough to leave your stuff in the room.

At the time this fit in with the whole Neal Cassidy death wish vibe, I guess that's what I was looking for. Anyway it was cheap and the laundry was discounted if you stayed there because I think the astronaut's wife owned the laundromat downstairs.

Hostelling in the US isn't like hostelling in Europe. At the time I'd consider this an average or even above-average hostel - not hotel, or even motel. It's close enough to walk to downtown and lodo. But times may have changed. And looking back at it, it was pretty much a great place if you were a bum. Last 10 years I visited Denver I stayed at the Red Lion where there's a nice bar on the top and no cage on the door. But I still get a little nostalgic for this place, in a weird kind of way.

Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank joshstrike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Terrible, terrible, terrible. The worst part of this crapnest is the crabby, dishonest bald guy at the front desk. He was completely worthless and not a pleasure to deal with. I'm guessing he is a non-Colorado native. The lodging is disgusting, old, and stinks. There are live-in, nontraveler tenants that steal whenever possible. If something gets stolen, baldilocks at the front desk will refuse to do anything. Maybe he's the thief???

Try another hostel where the cockroach population is significantly less and where residential roaches are confined to crawling only on four legs.

Room Tip: Choose a park bench over any bed in this sewer hole.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

Dirty, bad staff, bad area, horrible bathroom and unwelcoming vibe. Stay away everyone.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqueline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for one night as I was passing through Denver. The location was pretty good considering the price. I think it was a 6 block walk to the heart of downtown and shopping. That was handy, also in the other direction I was able to find a Safeway about 6 blocks away.

The room was average, bed was okay. There was a sink in the room which was handy. The washroom was a bit strange and it was split into different room. The shower stall was in a totally separate room. The toilet in another room and the sink in the bedroom. Never seen that before in all my travels, but it worked okay.

Hotel seemed very old and totally outdated, like a flashback from the 60's or 70's. It was definitely NOT high end. But it felt secure and fine. The internet worked good in the room. No real complaints. I'm sure you could spend a LOT more to stay at a fancy hotel but if you don't want to spend the extra money, this works just fine.

Room Tip: I had a private room and I think they were all about the same?
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ashtangaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2010

I stayed in a single room two nights at the hostel, the owners where kind and helpful. They held my bags during the day even after my room was vacant. Friendly staff, clean rooms, bathrooms could be better.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bkjags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2010

Booked a private room and double-checked booking by email several days before I arrived. When I arrived, they claimed to have no record of my booking (after making me wait for 30 minutes to deal with their cafe customers) and offered me a space in the dorm. The dorm looked average for a hostel, but was horribly overcrowded and full of sketchy long-term residents. I didn't bother staying. The location looked pretty marginal, maybe not dangerous, but I didn't feel very comfortable lugging my bags around there by myself at night.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sleepy0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Denver hotels
Downtown
The Crawford Hotel
The Crawford Hotel
#2 of 154 in Denver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
Downtown
The Ritz-Carlton, Denver
The Oxford Hotel
#4 of 154 in Denver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Capitol Hill
11th Avenue Hotel & Hostel
Downtown
The Westin Denver Downtown
Downtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton Denver Downtown-Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melbourne International Hotel & Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne International Hotel & Hostel

Property: Melbourne International Hotel & Hostel
Address: 607 22nd St., Denver, CO 80205
Location: United States > Colorado > Denver > Five Points
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Melbourne International Hotel Denver
Melbourne International Hotel And Hostel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing