We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Crowne in an old building”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Denver
Ranked #55 of 160 Hotels in Denver
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Not a bad place, but nothing special, typical Crowne Plaza. Building looks to be pretty old. Bathrooms appear to be recently renovated, but the AC units in the room are pretty noisy, bring ear plugs if you are a light sleeper who likes to crank up the AC to sleep. Breakfast buffet was good. $22 for overnight parking, no idea if that is the norm or not. Most of my co workers stay at the Sheraton, a few blocks away. Unless you get a good price or are a slave to Holiday inn points, that is probably a better place.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SydH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Denver, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2012

Dear SydH,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on your stay. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the air conditioning issue you experienced. I understand the discomfort this caused you. This issue will be addressed immediately. Again, I do apologize and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,604)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,336 - 1,342 of 1,605 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2012

For my son's 11th birthday we bought him tickets to a concert at the nearby Pepsi Center. We booked the room a week in advance on the website for Crowne Plaza. When next we saw our online checking account we could see the room was already paid for, not pending at all. We were surprised and called to ask why we were paying now and not after check-out we were told it should have been visible in the fine print. That maybe isn't a big deal but the person on the phone then insulted my wife by telling her it was only one night and shouldn't be a big deal anyway. $165 does matter to us alot and we didn't appreciate the rudeness at all or the advanced non-refundible purchase. That fine print should be elegantly placed up the Crowne Plaza's nose! When my wife and son arrived on the day of the concert there was no valet, no concierge, and no driver available that could drive them over to the Pepsi Center. They had to park the car themselves and haul their own luggage. They were required to park before checking in so couldn't unload. Then they had to use cabs to the venue. It is easy to switch over to the Hyatt a block away. The prices are similar but the purchase comes with respect.

Room Tip: Go to Hyatt.com and they will take good care of you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JudsonG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Denver, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2012

Dear JudsonG,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry you received service from our staff which was unacceptable. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We stayed here for two nights while going to a couple Rockies games at Coors Field. The hotel is in a good spot just a block off the 16th street mall. Plenty of restaurants, bars, etc in easy walking distance. Free trolley takes you up to Blake Street, and it's a few blocks from there to Coors Field. The hotel itself was fine. A room was available when we arrived just after noon. It was clean and big enough for a couple people. Staff were very helpful. Outdoor roof pool looked fairly nice, though we did not go in. There were two computers and a printer available for guest use, as well as a dedicated kiosk for checking in for your flight and printing boarding passes - very easy and convenient. The garage is a little dingy, but seemed secure and it was very easy to get in/out using your room key. We got a very good rate through Hotwire that made the parking fee palatable (you will have to pay to park at any downtown hotel, btw). Overall, if you get a decent rate it's a very good option for visiting Coors and seeing some of the Denver sights.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPDenver12, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Denver, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2012

Dear nifty16,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Crowne Plaza Denver. It is wonderful to hear that you were able to take advantage of our central location to enjoy your trip to Denver. Our rooftop pool is one of our favorite amenities here at the Crowne Plaza so we certainly hope that next time you return to Denver, you are able to enjoy this unique feature of our hotel.

Sincerely,
Crowne Plaza Guest Service Specialist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012 via mobile

The room was fine. Hotel was ok. I had a free rewards night and we are not that picky so we figuredit would be fine. Boy was I wrong. We returned at 11 pm and there was a Hooker in the lobby. I guess she was waiting for a guest to let her up because you need a key card to use the elevator. She wasn't bothering anyone so I can deal with that.

We went to our room and the man next door was carrying on a conversation with someone in a tone of voice that was YELLING!!!! I was so tired from traveling I just fell asleep because I was too tired to do anything about it. The next morning at SIX AM this guy is YELLING again!!! It was so ridiculous! I called the front desk and told them. Then I heard management knock on the door and tell him to be quiet. Then he was quiet. Thought maybe he was on drugs.

And we parked our car overnight at a meter based on other peoples posts and we read the signs carefully. Went outside and found a parking ticket!!!

Thank goodness the room was free!!

The hotel is by the 16th street mall but there are all chains and no nice stores or restaurants there. Better to go up to larimer street.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tripgal926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPDenver12, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Denver, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2012

Dear tripgal926,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Crowne Plaza Denver, and please accept our apologies for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay. It is our first priority to ensure that each guest has a safe and enjoyable stay with us. Your feedback is very important to us and will be used in ongoing team training. Should you have any questions, or would like to speak with our Management staff regarding your stay, please contact us at wecare@denverhotel.net.

Sincerely,
Crowne Plaza Guest Services Specialist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

The room was clean but the rest of the features in the hotel were not up to par. I stayed at the hotel for a convention and the first day we went to eat at the restuarant in the morning and were never even served so we left after 20 minutes and went somewhere else. Another colleague waited 50 minutes for an his breakfast. The second day another colleague waited 40 minutes and the waiter completely forgot his order. One nite I went to the bar for a drink and although I was sitting dead center at the bar the bartender walked around me and talked to other patrons and never even acknowledged my presence to the point where she turned her back and started talking with another customer in the corner after 10 minutes of this I left without a drink. As a former employee/manager in the food and beverage industry I would say that this hotel has no clue about customer service!!!!! Stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on one of the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mtsurb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Denver, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2012

Dear mtsurb,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am pleased you found the room to be clean. We want every guest to receive comfortable and friendly accommodations. I am sorry you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel as well as the service you received from our staff. We strive to accommodate all of our guests and their needs and I’m disappointed that we did not meet your expectations. Please know that we are not taking your dissatisfaction lightly and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

We 'chose" the Crown Plaza for a last minute overnight in the city. We made the reservation through Hotwire, which was much cheaper than regular price. I still don't think it was really worth what we paid. Our room didn't look that bad. The interior seemed to have been recently remodeled, though someone had etched some words into the window tint. The rooms are basic and efficient. We didn't go to the attached bar or restaurant, but the bar was busy when we came back for the night.

Now for the bad...$22/night for parking. I know that it's in the city, but this seems excessive.
Most hotels of this class offer a continental breakfast, but with the attached restaurant, don't expect any freebies. There's just nothing here to make you feel like the money you spent was worth it or stretched with those extra little touches that other hotels offer. Lastly, the walls are paper thin. You will hear people in the hallway and adjacent rooms. Our room had the extra door attaching it to the next room. Every time they closed or opened their door, those interior doors would rattle.

And the really bad...as we were packing up to leave, my husband went to the side of the bed to make a last minute check for our things. On the side of the fitted sheet he discovered half a dozen dry crusty boogers. Clearly the sheets had not been changed between guests. Gross! It was too late to do anything about it for us. If you decide to stay here, I recommend double checking the bed before you get comfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denglerfamilyfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 15, 2012

Dear Denglerfamilyfour,

We appreciate that you took the time to review our hotel. I'm delighted our newly refurbished rooms suited you well. Please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations and regret you were not fully satisfied with the room conditions. It is our goal to consistently ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to provide parking rates that are competitive in the area. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality and services we offer for to our guests.

Though I would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, I would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and I hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.


Regards,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

The Crowne Plaza is definitely at 5 out of 5 for the location. Conveniently located by 16th street mall, Denver Pavilion, and the interstate.

I give the hotel overall at best a 3.0 out of 5.0 or maybe even at 2.5. The accommodations itself, is nothing grand. We did get a great deal for it, way under the asking price by using a third party. However, that price wasn't so great, when you add in the overnight parking. Yes there are tons of public parking around the facility. However, since it was a big art event going on and the Memorial Holiday, we opted for the wait, and went with the $22.00 a night/day parking. Parking had only one entrance and exit, "renovations". Strangely, there was no tag placed on your vehicle or identification of any kind, that "you were allowed to park there"...made us think - did we pay for nothing?

The renovations are definitely needed, not really sure of what they were renovating, as there were plenty of signs to tell us to "excuse their renovations". The rooms are very outdated, it was a plus to have a fridge and a clean bathroom. The linens on the bed could be updated and not so scruffy, and the air conditioning in the room sounded like a rocket was going to take off each time it ran. So if you are a light sleeper, highly suggest earplugs for the A/C.

So if you get this place for under 80 bucks, then great location and its a perk...anything more than that, I would suggest shopping around. It wasn't anything special, actually, it was dreary walking through the halls, and very time consuming, waiting for the elevators.

Most likely, will not stay at this hotel again. Will try another hotel in the area, as there are plenty around. Even though the staff was friendly, it was not enough to sway for another stay in the future. Remodel the rooms, the hallways, and upgrade the speed on the elevators!

Room Tip: Our corner room was quite small, should of opted for two queen beds versus the one bed, it would of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank souriez438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPDenver12, Manager at Crowne Plaza Denver, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2012

Dear Valued Guest:

It's disappointing to hear that we were not able to meet your expectations during your stay. Many people who do not travel to downtown hotels are surprised to learn about the expense of parking. Unfortunately, it is part of being at a downtown location. We do our very best to offer our guests the best possible rate for downtown parking. Our current parking rate is the lowest of all of the surrounding hotels that have parking available. We apologize that your visit was during the short window of time during our exterior front entrance beautification. This project is scheduled to be completed within the next 10 days and we will be back to normal with a designated entrance and exit to the parking garage accessed by a guest room key. We are very excited about our new look and hope you will return to see the finished project on your next visit to Denver. We were disappointed that you did not like the new bedding. A month ago our guestrooms were improved with our new bedding which you will find happening this year in all Crowne Plaza's globably. We always want to ensure our guests have a comfortable stay and we would invite you to contact us at wecare@hoteldenver.net to provide us with more information about your room so that we may investigate and correct the issues you experienced. Thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback.

Warmest Regards,

The Crowne Plaza Denver Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Denver hotels
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Denver Downtown
Downtown
Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Denver At Colorado Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stapleton
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Denver
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Denver Downtown-Convention Center
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel Denver
Magnolia Hotel Denver
#44 of 160 in Denver
2,793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Denver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Denver

Address: 1450 Glenarm Pl, Denver, CO 80202-5030
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Denver > Central Business District , Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Green Hotel in Denver
#26 Business Hotel in Denver
#35 Romantic Hotel in Denver
Price Range: $91 - $330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Denver 3.5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Denver hotel is within walking distance of Denver's downtown attractions Located in the heart of downtown Denver, the Crowne Plaza Denver is the ideal place to base your trip to Colorado's capital. Our Denver hotel was recently renovated to provide you with the most comfortable and convenient stay in the downtown area. Downtown Denver offers many attractions close at hand during your stay. The 16th Street Mall and LoDo, Denver's hip, historic, downtown district, are both just one block from our hotel. Our Denver accommodations are also close to the Denver Museum of Art. Invesco Field at Mile High, the home of the Denver Broncos, is just a few blocks away. Business travelers can enjoy our upscale Denver accommodations and close proximity to several major businesses. The Colorado State Capital, Halliburton and Qwest are all within walking distance of our hotel. The Colorado Convention Center is also only 2 blocks away. Additionally, our Denver hotel offers three floors designed with the business traveler in mind that feature quiet hours and upgraded amenities. Plan a meeting with us at our downtown Denver hotel and take advantage of over 7,000 square feet of meeting space. Our hotel sales team is committed to helping you plan the best possible meeting during your stay. Stay with us in the Mile High City! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Denver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Denver Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing