We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, clean rooms for a good price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
11th Avenue Hotel & Hostel
Ranked #104 of 159 Hotels in Denver
Reviewed April 22, 2013

I was staying just for one night on a transit to Chicago, and chose 11th Avenue Hotel and Hostel for my night's rest.

It wasn't much to expect for a hostel, a nice clean room, fresh linen, free wifi, a pantry/lounge for travellers to use, and proximity isn't that bad from a few of the attractions. I was there in winter, so it wasn't much to expect for tourism, none of the agencies have trips to the rockies (which I really hope to do), and those that do aren't really reliable (see my review for Colorado Sightseer).

I was at the hostel way too early before check-in time, and the front-desk staff was helpful enough to take care of my backpack, and showed me to the lounge to rest and relax, and told me of places I can visit while waiting for my check-in. I'm really thankful for that since I've been told to "come back later" for a lot of hostels I've been to, and it isn't really helpful and easy-to-travel with a backpack. Kudos to the staff!

I wouldn't mind staying at this hostel, peaceful and quiet, clean shared spaces with smiles from the staff.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kangsheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy I, Owner at 11th Avenue Hotel & Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Thank you for choosing us for your stay through Denver. I am glad that your experience was good. That lets us know that we are doing our job. We will continue to strive to be better, and different that the status quo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

105 - 111 of 163 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2013

It was the best choice for two immigrants who looked for a housing for rent, there was a computer, some facilities and good location, not far from the city center. We just wanted to stay two-three nights, we used it for sleep, computer and shower and lived in a twin room.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anastasia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy I, Owner at 11th Avenue Hotel & Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Thank you for leaving a comment, and thank you for choosing us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

This hostel is just at the average. Plus: it has a refrigator, TV and a microwave in the rooms, clean rooms and bathroom shared for six people, the internet runs quite quickly, you get a discount if you are a student, walking distance to downtwon. Minus: althought it was snowing outside, the heating was not running before 8pm and there were no blankets left at the reception, the building is very old and there is a club and a busy street nearby, so noise is to be expected, no free parking available. Good for one or three nights.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blodenwedd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy I, Owner at 11th Avenue Hotel & Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Thank you for choosing us and saying the nice things about your stay. Yes we were built in 1903 and lack some things like parking. Please remember that when we were built people walked, and used horses, not cars. But like you said, we are walking distance to most of what people like to do. Denver also has a great transit system that saves on auto pollution, and the Denver B-cycle has a kiosk across the street. Also we are Downtown where it is busy, and a lot of people are outside, but then again we are Downtown where that is common. Sorry that it was cold when you were here, we now place extra blankets at the front desk because of your suggestion. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

I was having trouble choosing a hostel in Denver, having read several reviews. I chose this hostel in the end and wasn't disappointed. The staff are super friendly and helpful. I didn't really get to meet anyone else in my room as I was usually gone all day and using the hostel just to sleep. I found it strange that they assigned me a top bunk when there were bottom bunks available. The bedroom ad kind of a separate lounge which was great (TV, fridge, sofa!)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aoife_ob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EleventhAvenue, Owner at 11th Avenue Hotel & Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Thank you for that review. I am glad that you had a good time while here. If the top bunk was not satisfactory, next time ask for a bottom. If some one is not scheduled for the bed, we will be glad to put in it. Thank you again. Jim Ilg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

This seemed to be the predominant attitude during my stay at the 11th avenue hotel. No frills but you are in out of the cold. At 8:00 AM they bang on your door to see if you are staying over for another day even though check-out time isn't until 10:00 AM. I also encountered a someone I thought might well be homeless while using the microwave oven. She told me to "stop whistling" and then called me a "BI@CH" when I refused along with some other choice words. Theres also a night supervisor named Frank that is Barney Fiffe incarnate with the personality of an ashtray. Anyway, for the money you can do much better unless of course you don't mind paying both a key and towell deposit and interacting with recent parolees that get a voucher to stay there. Finally, whatever you do, make sure you have shoes or flip-flops on when you go into the lobby; they come unglued about that too. Even if you get locked out of your room and left the key inside. OMG.... If I could get into my room for shoes, I wouldn't be at the front desk. Also, the TV picture quality sucks! My TV was circa 1974.

Room Tip: If you stay in a room facing Broadway, it can get loud because of several late-night clubs nearby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 990,115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EleventhAvenue, Owner at 11th Avenue Hotel & Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write, even the negative response. I would have liked to speak with you, and your situation while you were here. We don't always have the answers, but we do try. Thank you again. Jim Ilg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

The staff are not very friendly apart from one of the ladies who work on the desk, the owner was extremely rude and obnoxious. The building is old and not well kept, everything creeks and makes annoying sounds which leads to terrible sleep on old mattresses. Very few amenities, ok location, but won't be back there.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brucemarais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EleventhAvenue, Owner at 11th Avenue Hotel & Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, even though it is not a real swell one. I apologize that your stay was less than what you expected. Yes we are an older building, we have wood floors that creak, and a whole host of other older items that I feel adds to the charm of an older Hotel. In all the chain hotels that I have stayed in, they are all the same. Bland, and no character. We are trying to be different. I hope that we can learn and grow from this. Jim Ilg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Me and my friends stayed here over new years. It was a dirty establishment that didnt provide any necessities such as hand soap. Had to put a deposit down for towels and keys. The room was dirty and loud from noises coming from inside and outside the hotel. No one got a good rest during our stay. The front desk attendants were incompetent to handle any situation. I would not recommend this place even to the economy traveler.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank caitlin726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EleventhAvenue, Owner at 11th Avenue Hotel & Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a response, even a negative one. I am truly sorry for your experience at the 11th Avenue Hotel and Hostel. As a budget Hotel/Hostel we do not provide some things that you may be accustomed to in other places, that in downtown Denver are 200-1000 times more expensive than us. We are a budget Hotel and Hostel in the middle of Downtown and can be noisy since it is Downtown. I like the hustle and bustle of downtown, that may not be some peoples cup of tea. If you could e-mail me the incident that you experienced with the front desk so that we could continue to improve, that would be appreciated. It can be found at 11thavenuehotelandhostel.com. Thank you again for taking the time to write. Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Denver hotels
0.9 mi away
Ramada Denver Downtown
Ramada Denver Downtown
#107 of 159 in Denver
1,457 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Timbers Hotel
The Timbers Hotel
#109 of 159 in Denver
338 reviews
0.5 mi away
TownePlace Suites Denver Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#79 of 159 in Denver
207 reviews
5.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Denver Stapleton
8.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Denver East
Comfort Inn Denver East
#81 of 159 in Denver
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 11th Avenue Hotel & Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 11th Avenue Hotel & Hostel

Address: 1112 Broadway, Denver, CO 80203-2107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Denver > Capitol Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 159 Hotels in Denver
Price Range: $34 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — 11th Avenue Hotel & Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 11th Avenue Hotel and Hostel caters to travelers from every corner of the world. We strive to provide a clean, safe and economical place to to stay while visiting Denver. We offer room types for every traveler. From dormitories to private rooms with shared bathrooms and En Suite rooms for a more traditional hotel experience, we can accommodate you. Traveling with friends? Please ask about our group options. Being within walking distance of everything has it's perks. Let our experienced, knowledgeable staff help you experience all Denver has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your 11th Avenue Hotel & Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
11th Avenue Hotel Denver
11th Avenue Hotel And Hostel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing