We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a steakhouse guy, but really liked it!”

5280 Prime Steakhouse
Reserve with OpenTable
5280 Prime Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #777 of 3,041 Restaurants in Denver
Price range: $6 - $16
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: 15th St.
Louisville, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
336 reviews
246 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Not a steakhouse guy, but really liked it!”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

As the title states, I'm not a steakhouse guy. A big steak tastes great, but it doesn't get me excited. So, I decided to go with the elk. I've never had it before and the subtle warnings of "gamey" didn't scare me. I have to say that it tasted great and it was very lean and a reasonable size, which appealed to my philosophy of eating healthy (well, as healthy as I could at this place!). And the side of grilled asparagus was very nice. And given that I felt so good that I ordered the flourless chocolate cake, which had a great mixture of flavors and textures, I thought everything worked out really well.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Russell M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    23
    7
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
West Hollywood, California
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great happy hour”
Reviewed October 15, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I stayed a block away and saw this place online. It looked like it had a great happy hour menu. So I had prime rib, a wedge salad and 2 martinis and the total was only like 30 bucks! Now that's a happy hour!!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Very high class, top notch steak house”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

I was in Denver for business and this restaurant was very highly recommended. It was a walk from my hotel (further than my concierge alluded to), but the food and service were spectacular. All of the food items that people had, including the side orders, were perfectly made. The server was very nice to us out of towners, and made us feel very welcome. The prices are not low, so be prepared to spend about $55-60 per person (without any drinks), but it is great for a special occasion.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Steakhouse Downtown”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Had occasion to dine here twice on recent trip to Denver. Second visit was even better than the first. All the dishes were well prepared, Buffalo tenderloin was outstanding. Service very accommodating.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Unpretentious steakhouse”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We enjoyed a pleasant introduction to Prime Steakhouse during Denver Restaurant Week. Admittedly, it was not our first-choice steakhouse reservation, but the service and dining experience were very good. Tony was an attentive and helpful server. The surf and turf prix fixe meal was an especially good value at $26.40, with the steak cooked as ordered. Traditional atmosphere and a good location for theater goers and conventioneers.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bridget R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to 5280 Prime Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing